We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, helpful, and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Amityville, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing, helpful, and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel was beautiful and lived up to all Marriott standards. Everything was great such as food, room, service, staff..i fell in love with this place. The shuttle to sesame is excellent and the drives were very nice. I can go on about all the great things but Marriott just says it all! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    109
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
131
67
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Standard Couryard with the updated lobby that serves dinner/drinks. Rooms are clean and well appointed with mini fridges and microwaves. Staff was pleasant. Having stayed at other hotels in the area, this was one of the better experiences. The only downside is that the location is somewhat removed from downtown and other area attractions.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Great Location. Clean. Should update TV's to flatscreens in room. Hot Tub needs stronger jets and pool really is for kids only. So tired of Hotels that can check the box that they have a a pool - yet put one in that is the size of 4 bathtubs. Typical breakfast buffet that is now common for Courtyards. Buffet service promptly ends at 10am. Nice lobby and close to outlets and Lancaster destinations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We spent our last vacation night from a NYC trip here in Lancaster. My wife loves the Amish culture and we've seen them before in Ohio. The hotel was wonderful with the only gripe being the hot tub was a little less than bubbly. That was it. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The hotel rooms were clean. Staff was nice. However, DO NOT PARK in the hotel parking lot. They have constant break-in into the cars. During Easter 2010 weekend, TWO cars were broken into. One of them happened to be our minivan. The hotel management DID NOT even come out to help us. The hotel maintenance helped clean the broken glass from our minivan. Ipods, purses and cameras were stolen. Apparantely this happens ALL the time based on the East Lampeter police department. There are few if not NO warnings and NO cameras in the parking lot. If possible, DO NOT STAY at this location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris1931, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Located in a quiet, suburban setting, the safety and security of our guests at the Courtyard By Marriott is of the utmost importance. As such, our parking lot is well lit, and patrolled by hotel security.
In fact, this is the frist time and incident such as this has happened at our hotel.

As a Marriott Platinum Award winning hotel, for outstanding customer service, we pride ourselves on guest interaction and addressing their needs and concerns.
It is regreggable that this incident happened, however, as with most public parking lots, best practice dictates that no items, especially valuable items, be left visible in the vehicle.

We strive to ensure that both our hotel and parking areas are safe and secure. Any comments from police as to this happening "all the time" was no doubt referring to public parking in general, and not meant as a reference to this hotel.

Chris Schnee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Convenient location; well-maintained property; very friendly staff; generous amenities; very clean, eye-pleasing, accessible, well-organized.

Our stay was mostly pleasant, but there were some issues--three minor and one major:

(1) No CNN in Exercise Room.
This major news outlet was working perfectly in the hotel lobby, in my guest room, and on the Dish Network News Monitor. But I could not tune the CNN channel (202) on the TV set. It would go into search mode looking for the satellite connection but the broadcast would never come on. I reported this on Thursday, and every day thereafter, and when I departed on Sunday the problem was still not addressed.

(2) ROOM NOT CLEANED PROPERLY
On Sunday morning, I wanted to make myself some coffee in my room. The pot was clean, but the filter basket containing the used coffee filter from the day before was still in the filter container. Also the chambermaid left two packets of DECAF and no regular.

(3) HOT TUB (WHIRLPOOL) was pretty lame. It was clean, well maintained. The water temperature was correct, but the jet pumps were running more like a water fountain than spa jets. I mentioned this to management, and they said that was the only speed.

(4) BIZARRE NOISES IN ROOM.
These noises occurred all night long. They were not all that regular in timing but were persistent. These sounds ranged from a loud cracking sound (such as two wooden boards being slapped together; thuds as if something were falling on a floor; falling stones or concrete, as if something was being pulled out of a drywall.
We could not make any sense of this, as our room was #501, on the top floor next to the staircase. No one occupied the room next door until Saturday night, but they made no additional noise. At one point my traveling partner was wakened up at about 5AM and was afraid that the building was falling apart, or that someone was prowling on the roof of the building (no one was).
I didn't sleep well the first two nights and although this didn't bother my companion then, it bothered him on the third night, and he was restless all night long.

So although this trip to Amish Country was pleasant and enjoyable, our sleep was not, and we got back home exhausted from lack of proper sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

The Good - Super clean room. Comfortable bed. Excellent Breakfast Buffet. Super Friendly Cooks/ Wait Staff - the guy who made our omlets was so nice! Lovely off the highway location (Amish Farms right around the corner). Fantastic Value for the money.

The Not-So Good - Front Desk was hit or miss, I called the hotel 2x before going to check on things and the people who answered the phone sounded bored and unenthusiastic. The woman who checked us in did not smile at all. The other 2 times I contacted the front desk, they were friendly, and the woman who checked us out was very sweet.
There was an incident during our stay where very loud young kids were playing with a Superball outside of our room while their parents ate & drank in the lobby (and when I say play, I mean flinging it against the glass exit door, room doors, and walls and laughing hysterically - trust me, it sounded like things were crashing in the hall). I left my room and while I was in the lobby, I observed 2 members of hotel staff that walked down the hall and obviously noticed them and did not say one word to them. I had to call the front desk later (yes this went on for over an hour) to tell them to send someone down the hall to get them to stop.
And lastly, the doors are very loud when you open/close them. This may not seem like a big deal at 9am, but when it's 2am and you're trying to sleep and people next door keep going in and out of their room - it is.
Overall, I would recommend this place and just bring a white noise machine or small fan to try and drown out neighbor noise next time.

  • Liked — Wonderful clean comfortable room & Great food.
  • Disliked — Noise.
  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Address: 1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard Lancaster, a Marriott hotel with great amenities and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Courtyard Lancaster
Lancaster Marriott
Lancaster Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.