We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant winter weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant winter weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After traveling through the snow, we were warmly greeted at the Courtyard by Marriott. To our pleasant surprise, we stayed in a newly renovated room. They are currently working on renovating two more floors of their hotel Our room was very comfortable and had a very efficient layout. The decor was modern and the room was clean and inviting. Our room faced the morning sunrise although we would have never known this by the window treatments that kept the room darkened. Although we did not dine at the bistro, it was nice to know that there was food on the premises if we cared not to venture out in the winter cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear kcompoundsouth,

We thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with the TripAdvisor community. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us! We are very proud of our new layouts and we are glad that you find them comfortable and inviting. We do hope the next time you stay with us, you will take advantage of our Dinner offerings in the Bistro and enjoy some of our delicious Starbucks coffee. Again, Thank you for your testimony and we do hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    106
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
130
66
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel was disappointing especially since we paid more for this hotel than others in the area, and expected more. Yes, the hotel seems to have been upgraded (the room was clean and upgraded) but it ends there. Breakfast was not included -- they charge $10.95 per person for a mediocre, at best, limited breakfast buffet (and some cooked items were truly gross). Otherwise, you can buy individual items at the Bistro. We tried to swim but the bottom of the pool was filthy. There is no excuse for that. Normally we take our own shampoo etc. with us when we travel but for the first time we decided to just go with the hotel's supply. That was a mistake. Yes, they have Paul Mitchell products but they give you 1 teeny tiny shampoo and conditioner (.7 oz) Really? One squeeze and you are done. There are no amenities for Gold members. There were absolutely no amentities justifying the higher cost for this hotel. We could have stayed at the Marriott/Fairfield Inn (which included breakfast) and/or had better value/amenity choices elsewhere in Lancaster for significantly less money. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear hipNJmom,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I would first off like to apologize that your stay was less than extraordinary. The Bistro is a new addition to the Courtyard brand that we received during our lobby renovation in April of 2012 which features Starbucks coffee. We were one of few Courtyards that were also able to keep our breakfast buffet which gives our guests the option of an all-u-can-eat breakfast, or a made to order platter or sandwich. A large bowl of oatmeal with craisins, walnuts, and brown sugar is less than $4.00 and tastes great. I am disappointed to hear that you purchased something from our hotel that you were not satisfied with. I am happy to say that as of Friday the 1st of February, our pool has been completely resurfaced and is looking as good as the day it was built. What was perceived as dirt on the bottom was actually the plaster deteriorating and some iron stains. Our maintenance staff tests the pool daily and we have a company come in and test the pool weekly and we haven’t yet failed one of those tests for water quality. I do agree that it appeared dirty and that is the reason we decided to resurface it. The number of shampoos, soaps, etc. in each room is dictated by Marriott. We realize that they are almost single use sizes which is why we keep a lot on hand to deliver to our guests if they need more than what is in the room. A quick call to the front desk would have as many as you need delivered right to your door. With all of that said, it is still clear that you were not satisfied with your stay which to us, is not acceptable. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your recent stay and figure out a way that we can make it up to you. The number that you can reach me at is (717) 393-3600; just ask for Jeremy Geib. Again thank you for sharing your experience and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ended up here based on a last minute Priceline bid. We liked the hotel. The only
real downside is that the location in sort of remote from the main Lancater attrations, and there
was no view from our room. Other than that the room was very clean comfortable and the
staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Location is a bit off the beating track, but its not that big of deal because it only about 10 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear antim007,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff’s customer service was exemplary. It is true that our location is a bit off the beaten track, but we are located in a business park that boasts a beautiful pond and park area that is just a short walk away. We hope that the next time that you stay with us you have time to enjoy it. Again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope that you decide to stay with again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I always write a pros/cons list when staying at places and there weren't too many cons here.
We stayed here for what I felt was a fair rate. The rooms have been renovated recently and are nice- they even offer recycling which I love when hotels offer.
There was a nice seat in the shower to relax in and the lighting in the room was great- I don't comment on lighting often, but Marriott's lately have seemed to updated their lighting in rooms and it is really nice.
A beautiful courtyard that was really well kept, as well as the hotel in general.
After seeing the high price of their breakfast I went right down the road to a place that has the greatest Sticky Buns I've ever had. It is a little rig set up by the Visitor's Center- can't remember the name now, but you can't miss it, nor should you- GREAT!
Will stay here again when in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Lovetotravel001_9,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our renovations are a success in your eyes. The sticky bun rig that you mentioned is called “Mr. Sticky” and they have the best sticky buns in Lancaster. While you did not have breakfast with us, its always great for our guests to enjoy one of our greatest local treats. Again thank you for sharing your great experience and we hope that you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is fine, clean, quiet with recently renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. But the king-size mattress felt old, and the heat was excessively noisy. The hide-a-bed mattress was in terrible condition. No free breakfast. In fact they ask $10.95 for an average breakfast buffet. On the flip-side, the coffee was great. I'd return but maybe better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BeMySamaritan,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad that you liked the renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. I apologize for the state of the bed and the sofa bed. I can tell you that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms which includes brand new sofa beds, so we would love for you to come back and tell us what you think. We strive to make every guests stay extraordinary, and any thing less is troubling. I would love to get a chance to speak with you about your stay. The number that you can reach me at is (717) 393-3600; just ask for Jeremy Geib. Again, Thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for an incredibly cheap AAA rate on a Friday night ($88). Easy to find, check-in was smooth and the property was very clean. Was offered points of amenity at check-in as platinum, as well as given a coupon for a complimentary drink from the bar (open until midnight.) Room was nice, had a mini-fridge and lodgenet (huge plus for me). Good offerings in the pantry. Only (minor) complaint is that there was no adjacent food offerings, fortunately I had a big lunch and the pantry offerings were above average.

Fifth floor is currently (as of 12/21/12) closed for renovations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Andrew C,
We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It’s always great to hear when a guest truly enjoys their stay with us! I see that you were not made aware of our Bistro Amenity. I apologize for this. For future reference we do have a Bistro in which guests can purchase specialty Soups, Salads, and Sandwiches. It’s open every day from 5 pm to 10 pm. When you come back to stay with us we do hope that you try it and tell us what you think! As always we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Have frequented the hotel on numerous occasions - silver Marriott rewarder. Usually quite pleased with facility and service. However, on our most recent business trip our buffet breakfast -scrambled eggs, etc. turned out to be ice cold. When I complained , I was told by the employee in charge that it was unfortunate, that she could have cooked us eggs by order. No offer to not charge or even reduce the charges were made. Several days later i receive a very lengthy Marriott survey to complete. I do so and therein outline the breakfast problem and never hear anything back from the Marriott management

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Greybees, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the members of TripAdvisor. It is disappointing to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during breakfast. While I am happy to hear that the Bistro attendant offered to remake your eggs, which would have corrected the problem, we should have followed that up with an offer to take care of the charge for breakfast. We try extremely hard to make sure all of our guests have a great experience while staying with us and it sounds like you have experienced that before. I would like the opportunity discuss this with you further to make up for your less than satisfactory stay with us. Please feel free to contact me at the Courtyard at your earliest convenience at 717-393-3600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Address: 1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard Lancaster, a Marriott hotel with great amenities and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Courtyard Lancaster
Lancaster Marriott
Lancaster Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.