We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Pros...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mostly Pros...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I always write a pros/cons list when staying at places and there weren't too many cons here.
We stayed here for what I felt was a fair rate. The rooms have been renovated recently and are nice- they even offer recycling which I love when hotels offer.
There was a nice seat in the shower to relax in and the lighting in the room was great- I don't comment on lighting often, but Marriott's lately have seemed to updated their lighting in rooms and it is really nice.
A beautiful courtyard that was really well kept, as well as the hotel in general.
After seeing the high price of their breakfast I went right down the road to a place that has the greatest Sticky Buns I've ever had. It is a little rig set up by the Visitor's Center- can't remember the name now, but you can't miss it, nor should you- GREAT!
Will stay here again when in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Lovetotravel001_9,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our renovations are a success in your eyes. The sticky bun rig that you mentioned is called “Mr. Sticky” and they have the best sticky buns in Lancaster. While you did not have breakfast with us, its always great for our guests to enjoy one of our greatest local treats. Again thank you for sharing your great experience and we hope that you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    103
    29
    2
    2
See reviews for
128
65
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is fine, clean, quiet with recently renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. But the king-size mattress felt old, and the heat was excessively noisy. The hide-a-bed mattress was in terrible condition. No free breakfast. In fact they ask $10.95 for an average breakfast buffet. On the flip-side, the coffee was great. I'd return but maybe better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BeMySamaritan,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad that you liked the renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. I apologize for the state of the bed and the sofa bed. I can tell you that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms which includes brand new sofa beds, so we would love for you to come back and tell us what you think. We strive to make every guests stay extraordinary, and any thing less is troubling. I would love to get a chance to speak with you about your stay. The number that you can reach me at is (717) 393-3600; just ask for Jeremy Geib. Again, Thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for an incredibly cheap AAA rate on a Friday night ($88). Easy to find, check-in was smooth and the property was very clean. Was offered points of amenity at check-in as platinum, as well as given a coupon for a complimentary drink from the bar (open until midnight.) Room was nice, had a mini-fridge and lodgenet (huge plus for me). Good offerings in the pantry. Only (minor) complaint is that there was no adjacent food offerings, fortunately I had a big lunch and the pantry offerings were above average.

Fifth floor is currently (as of 12/21/12) closed for renovations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Andrew C,
We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It’s always great to hear when a guest truly enjoys their stay with us! I see that you were not made aware of our Bistro Amenity. I apologize for this. For future reference we do have a Bistro in which guests can purchase specialty Soups, Salads, and Sandwiches. It’s open every day from 5 pm to 10 pm. When you come back to stay with us we do hope that you try it and tell us what you think! As always we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Have frequented the hotel on numerous occasions - silver Marriott rewarder. Usually quite pleased with facility and service. However, on our most recent business trip our buffet breakfast -scrambled eggs, etc. turned out to be ice cold. When I complained , I was told by the employee in charge that it was unfortunate, that she could have cooked us eggs by order. No offer to not charge or even reduce the charges were made. Several days later i receive a very lengthy Marriott survey to complete. I do so and therein outline the breakfast problem and never hear anything back from the Marriott management

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Greybees, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the members of TripAdvisor. It is disappointing to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during breakfast. While I am happy to hear that the Bistro attendant offered to remake your eggs, which would have corrected the problem, we should have followed that up with an offer to take care of the charge for breakfast. We try extremely hard to make sure all of our guests have a great experience while staying with us and it sounds like you have experienced that before. I would like the opportunity discuss this with you further to make up for your less than satisfactory stay with us. Please feel free to contact me at the Courtyard at your earliest convenience at 717-393-3600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall, everything was fine. The rooms were roomy and clean. The Bistro was especially nice and the food was quite good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a bit far from town, but the direct route to downtown only took about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Paul S,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. While we are not located in Downtown Lancaster, we are glad that you found your way there with ease. We do hope that you were able to use are pre-printed direction cards to get to other areas that we are closer to our location. We appreciate you staying at our hotel and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Enjoy Lancaster in style.

The best part is the downstairs common area. The hotel offers sitting areas making it perfect groups. There are TVs incase famiy members can't agree and large tables for board games. There is on site bar and breakfast/Bistro.

There is a gas station with Subway, making it a great place. Try Mr. Sticky!

It meets all the Marriott standard, clean & comfortable beds/rooms, friendly services, well-kept pool and common areas.

Room Tip: Even when the hotel is full; don't worry, common area is large enough it still feel private. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear WGM12,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We are thrilled that we enjoyed our newly renovated Bistro/ Lounge Area. We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible as they are away from home and we are so pleased that we were to accomplish this during your stay. We do hope that the next time you are in Lancaster, you chose to stay at our property again. Again we thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
543 reviews 543 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is another nice Marriott property that is close to some shopping and only a few miles from downtown. I found the staff to be friendly and well trained.

I stayed in one of there one bedroom suites. It had a frig and microwave.

I will keep this on my list to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear gregbooras, I wanted to thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We agree that our location provides quick and easy access to all of the great things to do in Lancaster. As a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, you surely have had the opportunity to stay in many different Marriott properties and it is nice to hear that we met the expectations you have for the Marriott brand. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Address: 1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard Lancaster, a Marriott hotel with great amenities and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Courtyard Lancaster
Lancaster Marriott
Lancaster Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;