We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You get what you pay for. And that’s meant extremely positively. Although pricier than many of the other chain and non-chain hotels in the area, the Marriott Courtyard was a step (or two or three) above. This is a Courtyard. And the first class amenities and standards that you expect form a Courtyard were here and were met.

We had two adjoining rooms on the fifth floor over labor day weekend. Our primary reason for visiting was Dutch Wonderland and to see Amish country. You will not be disappointed in choosing the Marriott Courtyard.

Very clean. Large, nicely appointed rooms. Excellent Air Conditioning. Great water pressure. Flat screen TV. Microwave and refrigerator – great for us traveling with small children who can be picky eaters. Restaurant open for all three meals with a nice selection. Inviting lobby, bar area, business area, plenty of places to sit. This is a true hotel.

Location – in its owned nicely landscaped area about a mile or so (one exit away) from the main strip of the outlets, fast-food chains, Dutch Wonderland, leading to a much more relaxed environment. Took us 7 minutes door to door.

Didn’t get to see or use the gym or the indoor pool, so can’t comment on those.

Staff extremely friendly on check in and check out.

Don’t have any complaints. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    103
    29
    2
    2
See reviews for
128
65
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Customer service was excellent, the rooms were clean; each room had a microwave and a mini refrigerator and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very personable and friendly. There were snacks and beverages to buy in the lobby. and if in the area will look into staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear JAllen457, Thank you for sharing your experience with the members of Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to stay with us again. We hope that on your next visit you try out our Bistro, which features Starbucks Coffee! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my three granddaughters (5, 9, and 10). When we walked in, one of the kids said in awe "this is the nicest and cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in." Well it may not have been the nicest one I have EVER stayed in, but it certainly was clean, fresh, well-decorated, and very comfortable. The common areas were very nice. They even had a computer area with multiple terminals and comfortable chairs. The pool was decent. They had a bar and included a free drink (the small things count). The rooms were spacious and even the sleeper sofa was decent. Everything was clean. I suspect that this hotel was recently refurbished and whoever did it, did a first rate job. The location is ideal for anyone visiting the Lancaster and Hershey areas. This is just enough off the beaten path to enable you to avoid some of the traffic. I would definitely recommend this to either the business travel or family.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are about the same. There is no view to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Paulette R, Thank you for sharing your experience with the members of Trip Advisor. It’s always great to get positive feedback from our guests but to win over our youngest guests is truly special, thank you for sharing that with us! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, hotel location, and amenities. You are correct, we did undergo a lobby renovation earlier this year and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. We will be undergoing a full room renovation in December so we hope that when you return, the design will delight you as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We came down for the "Day Out With Thomas" event Sept 21-23. The lobby was set up open style with the bar in the far corner. I wasn't sure I liked the idea of liquor being in the open but we never heard or saw anything that would make me think it was a poor design. The staff were very friendly and well presented. The room was clean and large and the furnishing was newer as well. It had a nice TV but I would have liked a data port in the alarm clock. The only reason I didn't give it all the stars was because of the bathroom. I LOVED the set up with the seat in the tub and the open floor plan of it. However I found a large amount of urine and public hair on the back and base of the toilet. I didn't even have to bend over to see it, it was visible upon entering the room. The pool was great and clean. They only have one elevator in the center of the hotel so unpack and bring luggage to check in as it is right around the bend from the front desk...loved that design aspect!

Room Tip: If traveling on the weekend have your destinations planned out, a lot in the area closes around 6 du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This has become our choice of Lancaster hotels. A newer property on the edge of an industrial park with easy access to main highway. The Courtyard has an attractive, modern lobby and the usual amenities for this class hotel. This trip we reserved a king suite. The room was very spacious, well appointed and reasonably quiet. Comfortable bedding. The auxiliary heater in the bathroom was a nice addition. We will reserve this type in room for future visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sivrup, Thank you for sharing your experience with the members of Trip Advisor. Its great to hear that you enjoyed the room that you were in, as well as the hotel’s location. We’re also pleased to hear that you look forward to staying with us again. On your next visit, we hope that you try out our bistro, which features Starbucks Coffee! Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here this past Friday night with my church group while going to Sigh and Sound and what a positive experience it was! First impressions of the lobby was wow and it set the tone for the rest of it. The room itself was immaculate and quite spacious. It was nice to see a separate seating area. The staff throughout was very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast buffet was nice too. The staff made sure that the buffet was kept well stocked for our large group and the tables were cleared right away after people were done eating. It was also nice to have a park right down the street to take a walk in. I cannot say enough about this hotel and would stay here again in a hearbeat. I can see why it has won so many awards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Pianomann, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the members of Trip Advisor! It always brings us pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied with the customer service and amenities that we provide. It is great to hear that we might have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the future as well. We are pleased that you as well as your fellow travelers were able to enjoy our parks, breakfast buffet, and our award winning customer service. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We brought two buses to Lancaster (105 people) and stayed at Courtyard by Marriott in Lancaster to go to Sight & Sound. The hotel was awesome - clean, quiet, comfortable beds and pillows - everything was great. The location is wonderful because it's just out of the real busy area so it's a lot more quiet and peaceful. We sat outside under their gazebo area enjoying the rocking chairs and beautiful fall day.

There is also a wonderful little park about a block from the hotel that has two ponds, little bridges, gazebo, outside sculptures and walking trails. A lot of our group enjoyed walking down there, including myself.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Melanie, the group sales coordinator was great to work with. Even with our last minute changes, she took of everything. Out of 105 people, we didn't hear one negative comment from any of them. All we heard was wonderful reviews. People also enjoyed their breakfast. Carissa, the manager on Saturday, even went out of her way to find crossword puzzles for one our ladies to do on the bus on the ride home. We could not have been treated any better.

Needless to say, when we come back next year everyone wants to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Marie C, I really appreciate you taking time to share your experience with the members of trip advisor. Its great to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay and was able to spend some time to enjoy our corporate park. We will be starting our complete room renovations in December, so hopefully the next time you visit; our new room designs will delight you as well. Thanks again for staying at our hotel and we definitely hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster

Address: 1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard Lancaster, a Marriott hotel with great amenities and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Courtyard Lancaster
Lancaster Marriott
Lancaster Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.