We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can Do Better Somewhere Else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Economy Inn to your Saves list
Economy Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   2140 Lincoln Highway East (Route 30 East), Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“You Can Do Better Somewhere Else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Okay, I always take Trip Advisor reviews with a grain of salt. I figure someone from the competition writes some of the more scathing reviews, but previous reviewers are on target here.

We utiliized this motel because of its low price. We spent a week in Pennsylvania and stuck with Econo Lodges in Scranton, Lancaster, and Hanover (outside of Gettysburg) in order to use the Choice Rewards program to qualify for a $50 gas card.

Believe it or not this facility charges two dollars extra if you use a credit card. We have traveled exstensively throughout the United States and Europe and have never encountered this. I thought that the only people who would pay cash in this day and age at a motel or hotel are those who are only staying for an hour!

Our room was okay. It was a non-smoking room with two double beds as requested and it was clean. There was no odor in the room upon arrival, but we were surprised to find an ashtray in a designated non-smoking room.

Unfortunately the management has used no rhyme nor reason in the designation of non-smoking rooms. There are numerous non-smoking rooms posted right along side of the smoking rooms. When you turn on the bathroom light the overhead fan brings in the foul odor of smoke from other rooms.

Speaking of foul, the lobby, the stairway, and the corridors just plain stink!! The smell of body odor and stale cigarette smoke was overwhelming. Someone needs to air these areas out and/or clean the common area carpets! When we returned from dinner one night at about 8 p.m., the lobby carpet was covered with dirt and crumbs. The desk clerk who was applying her lipstick either did not care or did not have a key to the cleaning closet because at 9 a.m. the next morning, it was still filthy!

They did have some delicious bakery doughnuts along with toast, coffee, and juice. There was no pool, but they will give you access to a pool at Howard Johnsons, just two doors away.

We were in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country which is why we stayed here and enjoyed the many attractions, but there are many, many other motels in the area. I would recommend that you choose someplace else to stay!

  • Liked — Low price combined with Choice Hotels rewards program
  • Disliked — The smell!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    7
    19
See reviews for
8
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Stayed one night, found the room very dirty, stained carpet and in the bathroom mold, spider webs and wall paper soiled. The blanket under the comforted was something you'd give your dog to line his bed.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

stay here all the time great hotel nice and clean with a friendly staff. location excellent right on the main road. always stay here whenever in town

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
placerville, ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

We stayed at this hotel the during the 2nd week of October and it was not a pleasent experience. I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the smell of the premises. It reaked of smoke and worse and it permiated our non smoking room. Our room's plumbing worked OK but the room next door had "problems". The beds were the hardest I have attempted to sleep on. An army cot would have been more comfortable. We wound up rolling up the comforter and sleeping on it! I complained the next morning and the manager said the mattresses were brand new and she had received no complaints. Won't be staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

My recent stay at the Econolodge was terrible. I didn't expect very much from Econo Lodge, but the conditions were far worse than my low expectations. The drainage in the bathroom didn't work properly. There was specific and detailed instructions on the wall of the bathroom regarding how to deal with the toilet overflowing. The toilet had problems flushing and the water in the sink didn't drain for a long time. The bed was extremely hard and noisy. The pillows were lumpy. And the room smelled of smoke even though we had specifically requested a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Econo Lodge South the middle of November. I would recommend this motel for anyone who is satisfied with clean lodgings without any frills. The service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Address: 2140 Lincoln Highway East (Route 30 East), Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel. All rooms with new queen size beds with Non Smoking and Smoking rooms available. All Rooms with tub/shower combo. All rooms with satellite TV, mini Ref, telephones, free wifi, free wake-up service, free coffee in lobby, electronic keycard locks, interior corridor. Free parking onsite. Microwave available in lobby. Hotel located right in middle of Amish Country, Outlet Malls, Fine Restaurants. Easy access to major highways. Lancaster Convention Center 5 miles. Sight and Sound theater 3 miles, American Music Theater 2 miles. Outlet Malls 1 mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.