We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Greenfield Inn

Olde Greenfield Inn
595 Greenfield Rd, Lancaster, PA 17601-6756
717-393-0668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Olde Greenfield Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 510 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: William Penn Way
Transit: Public transit stops in front of the property
Ronks, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have visited this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed in the service or the food. The atmosphere is relaxing, the staff very helpful, and the food is delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I dined here in November 2012 and had a truly remarkable dinner.

We were staying at a nearby hotel and found this restaurant via their website.

When we came in the hostess was away seating other guests but a man nearby greeted us and advised us the hostess would return shortly.

The man turned out to be the owner.

I thanked him for greeting us and explained how many times I've visited other restaurants where the staff literally pretends customers aren't there and I've thanked them for their "service" by quickly finding another restaurant.

We ended up having a nice chat with the owner and the hostess later seated us.

Our server was professional, knowledgeable and interested in our experience. You won't see any of those attributes at the chain places.

The ambiance here is exceptional and the menu was more than adequate and fairly priced.

I don't mind paying a premium for quality meals, ambiance and service and this establishment is a real bargain in that department.

Here's something different: Maybe I don't get out much but this is the first restaurant I've seen whose wine list was brought to you on an iPad.

One could find more than they ever needed to know about the list in this way.

Our meals were cooked perfectly (including my steak,) the lump crab appetizer was exceptional and the fried ice cream dessert was well worth waiting for.

Could we have eaten more for less at the local buffet? Yes?

Would the poor quality of the food at that buffet, fighting overweight women who act like it's their last day on earth for that slice of cherry pie, and the rush of the buffet have been worth it? No.

The Greenfield Inn was a great dining experience and I wish I lived closer so I could visit more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
By the sea
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently made a trip to the Lancaster area. I have not been to Greenfield for many years (since we moved further away from the area), but we always enjoyed the restaurant, so we went back on this trip.

Drinks were reasonably priced, service was fast and pleasant. My filet was done perfectly and the salad was nice and fresh. We ate in the bar area on a Tuesday night. It was busy, but not a problem with seating or service. It is one of my favorite places in the area and next time we are in Lancaster, it will definitely be on the list of "go to" places. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but rushed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've dined at Olde Greenfield Inn previously. The food has always been good and the service has varied. Overall the staff has been very accommodating.
During this visit, the food was actually fabulous, I had perhaps some of the best crab cakes I've ever had.
The big "however" is that the entree came out at the point we were about half done with our salads. We asked our waitress to wait until we were done. She said our meals would get cold in the kitchen. When I pointed out they would get cold at our table as well, she said she'd bring domes to keep them warm. After returning to the kitchen, then serving a different table, then again returning to the kitchen, she finally brought the large, obvious plastic domes for our entrees. It was a tad embarrassing, and of course was too late completely prevent the cooling of our meals.
Nevertheless, the food was tasty and the hostess who had originally seated us was attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great 4th time Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It has been about 13 years since I have visited this restaurant. It has not changed still great food and pleasant service. Had a wonderful time 3 margaritas later and the food still really good went with my sister who is is a best friend and had a great time. Although I thought the scollops a bit salty but still a delight. The bar area was busy but did not have to wait for service. The drinks were excellent and would recommend to all travelers that enjoy great food and drinks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Greenfield Inn also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Olde Greenfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Greenfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.