We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed in food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horse Inn INC

Horse Inn INC
540 E Fulton St, Lancaster, PA 17602
+1 717-392-5528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 477 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Oldest continuously running restaurant in Lancaster City!!
Lancaster, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed in food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We wanted to celebrate a family event and decided to go Horse Inn. What a mistake.... I ordered filet au poivre with wife and received some type of veal?? I know what filet au poivre is, since I've eaten it before at Horse Inn...

Fast forward to wine. Wine was poured directly into TWO glasses. No opportunity to taste it, no questions about the wine tasting. Wine was OK, but waitress should know SOME etiquette manners? Afterall, Horse Inn IS supposed to be a restaurant serving $30 filet and wine?

Next table there was a discussion about famous house crab cakes...Supposively the original receipe, but waiter said, that he would not order them, they are just regular crab cakes, not that good. Salmon is better according to waiter or chicken. What a great way to advertise the restaurants menu.... "Not that Good".... Maybe he was right, who knows?

My dish was luke warm and the "sauteed mushrooms" side was a microvawe heated can of sliced mushrooms. Absolutely horrible, how can anyone call them selves a chef and serve tin can mushrooms?

After the meal we wanted to have a dessert and one of my guests asked what
"Coppa Mascapone" was? Waitress replied that she does not know. What a great answer. A moment later she explained (without consulting anyone in restaurant) that it is some sort of coffee dessert. Thats what the Coppa means, Coffee.... Great, its not coffee, its italian cream dessert with chocolate....

Needless to say, this was the last visit to Horse Inn. What a shame, since the place has caracter, but what good is a restaurant without good good and knowledgeable service?? The check was over 220 bucks, so I think I can demand a bit better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, PA
1 review
“Interesting surprise in Lancaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I let it up to my boyfriend to surprise me with dinner last night. He picked the Horse Inn in Lancaster. I was a little nervous walking down a dark alley & up a set up stairs but what a surprise! The atmosphere was nothing like you would expect to find in the city. It was like being transported back in time. It was refreshing to go to a restaurant and be able to hear each other talk without loud music, busy televisions blasting sports in every corner, crowds, and screaming children. I had the Crab Bisque and Sirloin Tips as recommended in the menu. Slightly expensive but for a speical ocassion like a romantic Valentines dinner well worth it! I highly recommend if you are looking for something completely different and off the beaten path!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful eloquent dinners in a historical Strasburg building. Took a coupon, but meal was still expensive for us. Enjoyed the experience for one time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, relaxing Saturday evening in early January.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived a few minutes late for our reservation, but were seated promptly. The server arrived within two minutes to take our drink order. We didn't experience poor service the entire evening as some have mentioned in prior reviews. The prime rib is a "huge" portion and was prepared exactly as requested. The tips are excellent as well. The gelato is good and there is definitely enough to share! This is a nice, place to come relax with family and friends. (The restaurant is on the second floor and can only be reached by using the stairs) Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was not our first trip and will not be our last. The Horse Inn always delivers an awesome meal with great ambience and impeccable service!! We took friends who had never been there and they felt the same way. My favorite is always the tips on toast and the crab soup. The filet chesapeake is always a hit but alittle pricey...but definitely worth the $$! Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Inn INC also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Horse Inn INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse Inn INC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.