We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rehearsal Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibraltar

Gibraltar
931 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2652
+1 717-397-2790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gibraltar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 511 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $23 - $33
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Seafood, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Race Avenue
Description: New American, Mediterranean Influenced, Locally Inspired... Gibraltar delivers an extraordinary dining experience for every occasion or no occasion at all. Casual elegance in a relaxed manner reminiscent of a seaside Mediterranean resort, spacious, window-lined dining rooms and a beautiful garden patio provide a perfect setting. Boasting a superior ZAGAT food rating of (26/30 - '13 Philly Survey) the cuisine is as beautifully presented as it is delicious. Inspired by the seasons, utilizing the best ingredients, at the peak of freshness, from the fertile PA Dutch Country and around the globe, line-caught, wild fish and shellfish flown in daily, prime beef, local organic poultry, lamb and fresh local produce, Chef Vitale and his staff create delicious and inspired dishes. An award winning wine list offers nearly 250 selections to further enhance your experience.
Sewanee, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Gilbraltar with 16 of our friends and family to celebrate the rehearsal and wedding our son and future daughter in law. Chef Carl and I work together to create a select menus of shared appetizers, salad, entrees. The food and service exceeded our every expectation. The highlights of the appetizers were the mushroom bruschetta and goochi. The lamb, chicken and crab cakes were some of best we had ever had. The deserts were almost to much of a good thing. The wines Carl choose were a perfect compliment.

We could not have had more attentive servers.

Thanks to Carl and staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently had a late night dinner at this restaurant and we were very pleased. The server was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu items and specials. We had the blue crab appetizer, which was a little pricey, but it was very tasty and a Maryland blue crab. Our entrees were very good as well. Definitely a "special occasion" type of restaurant, but we were very pleased with our visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“We'd go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Experience was quite nice. Had a little trouble locating the place, it's tucked away pretty well.

Enjoyed a martini at the bar, friendly bartender, good drinks. Atmosphere nice. They held our table until we were ready. Were seated at not the best table for 2 in our view, but we moved to a nicer spot. Server was good, food was very good, and they surprised us at the end with a little Anniversary treat. Very nice touch. They earned our repeat business!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a European sea ads that was really good. Sabiche I order was nice but can feature out why coconut milk is needed in a sbiche. Bit to the point it's avhigh quality place for a travler with$$$

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go To Seafood Place in Lancaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great seafood place in Lancaster, PA. Excellent food and service. I particularly liked the Tapas selection. Only negative comment - the grilled octo would have been better had it been braised before being grilled - tasted great, but had that rubbery texture that braising eliminates. My branzino entree was excellent and my wife loved the halibut.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibraltar also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.