We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Show - Judy & Liza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hole in The Wall Puppet Theatre

Hole in The Wall Puppet Theatre
126 N. Water Street, Lancaster, PA
+1 717-394-8398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Lancaster
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hole in the Wall Puppet Theatre is one of the few marionette theatres in America, located in Historic Downtown Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Robert Brock, the founder and artistic director of Hole in the Wall Puppet Theatre, keeps this unique art form alive and well. He creates all the marionettes used in HIW productions, writes the scripts and music and performs  in his unique one-man style.   His humor appeals to children, as well as grown-ups. The John Durang Puppet Museum is open before performances. John Durang was the first puppeteer to be born in the USA. He was born in Lancaster in 1763. Backstage tours are given prior to every performance.The Hole in the Wall welcomes field trip groups. We hope to see you soon at one of our exciting shows. Thanks for visiting!
Morris Township, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Show - Judy & Liza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a fantastic show. Robert Brock's performance is a true tour de force. He has great skill and dexterity with his marionettes. He then transforms into Judy Garland and Liza Minnelli, and truly captures their essence. Mr. Brock sings about a dozen songs throughout the 50 minute show, along with interesting and amusing facts about the ladies, and personal anecdotes. Mr. Brock gives an informative backstage tour before the show, and afterwards, he invites the audience to have their picture taken with "Liza". A very fun and entertaining evening! We did not get to see the children's show, but would highly recommend it because Mr. Brock is a Wizard with puppets!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fun experience for the entire family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a gem...the show and the theater/museum! My grandkids (ages 4 thru 10) were enthralled... and their parents enjoyed the museum and backstage tour as well as the show. My history buff husband was surprised and impressed by museum exhibits and the venue itself. The director, Robert Brock, is amazing...hard to believe the level of creativity...he does it all. Wish we could have been able to schedule the other show (geared to adults) as well. Really enjoyed this very unique experience. Will return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with "Judy and Liza"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a fun evening watching the transformation of Robert Brock into Judy Garland and Liza Minnelli. This one person show brought Judy and Liza to life. Additionally we got a behind the scene tour of the puppet theatre and museum. There are shows for the "small kids" and the "big kids". We highly recommend both. The cost is very reasonable. Even if you don't get to see a show, a trip to the museum is worthwhile.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently took our three children to see The Wizard of Oz at the "Hole in the Wall" puppet theater. It was a great experience. All three (ages 2, 4, and 6) loved it. They are still talking about it a week later and one has now decided she wants to be a puppeteer when she grows up! We got a backstage tour before the show (included). Robert showed us how he creates all his own puppets to create this impressive one-man act. The theater is charming, the tour is only a few minutes, and the show is 35 min. To me it all seemed perfect for kids because they didn't get tired or bored. We never would have found this place if it weren't for Trip Advisor so I felt compelled to write a review; hopefully it will lead others to find the "Hole in the Wall."

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I posted this review before I knew how to get Tripadvisor to add an attraction to their list.

If you have kids who can sit still for about 35 minutes, I highly recommend Hole in The Wall Puppet Theatre at 126 N. Water Street in Lancaster. The theatre presents marionette shows of classic stories, at a reasonable price (currently $9). They do sell out from time to time, so you may wish to call to reserve seats.

We took two grandchildren to see "The Wizard of Oz" this past weekend, and even the two-year-old was enthralled. Robert Brock does it all (almost), writing, directing, performing and even building his own marionettes. Get there a few minutes early to take a backstage tour and to see the puppet museum (included).

They also present evening cabaret shows from time to time, which are more oriented to grown-ups. I've not attended any of these yet.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in The Wall Puppet Theatre also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Hole in The Wall Puppet Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hole in The Wall Puppet Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.