We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
2672-4 Lititz Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My partner and I were looking for a quick last minute get away and contacted Scott and Diane. Luckily, they had a room available. We've stayed at many B&B's over the years and this one is tops across the board. The house and gardens are beautiful. The food was delicious. We've never laughed so hard before at breakfast, nor stayed for 2 hours just sitting and talking with the owners and guest. Our room was clean and comfortable. Scott and Diane were so welcoming and we immediately felt "at home". In fact, we wished we could have stayed longer! We will definitely stay there the next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
With all the fine bed and breakfast all over the U.S., it is quite an honor to be thought of as "tops across the board" from one of our guests that has visited many. We certainly did enjoy our time with the both of you, some interesting conversation, and do look forward to your return. Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
184
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Bowman's house. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. We especially loved spending evening time in their lovely garden. Sc
ott and Diane are wonderful hosts. When in the Lancaster area, enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
It's easy to be hosts when you have great guests like we get. We were happy in some small way to make your trip to Lancaster an enjoyable one. We are also glad that you enjoyed the gardens, it makes it less like work when someone appreciates it. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wanda and I were very pleased. It was like we were with family. Scott and Diane made our stay amazing. Our room was perfect and the bed was so soft. Breakfast was a treat and always excellent. The pond and flowers were so pretty. Thanks for allowing us to share your home.

Room Tip: We had the Witmer room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the review. On the same hand we must review you and say we enjoyed all the laughter you brought to the house. You certainly were missed when you left, not just by us, but by the other guests as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My daughter and I were celebrating her birthday and needed a room with 2 beds. After a LONG search, we were directed to EJ Bowman House by another inn keeper. What a favor they did us. The house and yard are beautiful! Our room was a little small, but cozy and had the most comfortable beds ever!! It was spotlessly clean, and had all the comforts we could want. Before we went to our rooms we were invited by Scott to come sit in the living room and chat for at least an hour just as if we were special guests. Not long after we sat down, Diane joined us. They were both interested in getting to know us, and made us feel so at home. I've never had any inn keepers do that upon arrival. It was quite lovely. They were both full of information and suggestions for restaurants, which led us to one of the best meals I've ever had in my life at JJ Jeffries. I have Celiac's and this was the perfect place with organic food and almost all gluten-free. Diane was very accommodating when it came time for breakfast, making sure I didn't miss out on the good food she was serving by making my special French Toast with gluten-free bread. Everything was delicious!! Loved the Pavlova!! YUM!!! All-in-all, it was a wonderful experience and I have nothing negative to say at all. They are delightful people, relaxed and personable, and run a first-class inn!! Thank you Scott and Diane for a great visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Your review is quite kind, and for that we thank you! You both were very easy to talk with, so time does fly by as we check some guests in. Our only hope is that you can someday come back and spend more time with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one day and Scott and Diane were wonderful. They were lovely individuals and were so helpful with lunch/dinner dining suggestions and providing the covered bridges tour even before we arrived. I will definitely return as our stay was much too short.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the review. We also wish we could have gotten to know a little more about you, but we are glad that our help via email made your trip more enjoyable. Looking forward to that return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Scott & Diane were perfect hosts for my wife and me. Made us feel at home in the many public rooms of this beautifully restored 19th century home & garden. Breakfasts - hot foods plus sweets - were great (we gained weight). Snacks & drinks around the clock were more than we could keep up with. Hosts were always available, and helped us in planning our visit and dinners out. They've even developed their own detailed driving tour of covered bridges and Amish country - easy to follow. Home was immaculate - everything works. There's some street noise during rush hour, but it didn't affect our sleep, and we're used to total silence.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. We appreciate the fact that you mentioned us being along the street, and that even though you are used to quiet you slept well. It was a review that we feel well represents who we are and what the E J Bowman House is about, and we hope that it brings us many more guests. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband & I stayed in the lovely EJ Bowman house for 3 nites., Sunday thru Wednesday. We have been to many B&B's throughout New England & south & I must say, this was one of the nicest. Diane & Scott showed spectacular hospitality & warmth., I truly felt at home. Diane cooked up wonderful breakfast every morning at whatever time we pretty much requested. They were delicious & plentiful ......... The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable & the entire inn was tastefully decorated with extra special attention to details. It really is the little things that make the difference. Our room, The Witmer, was supplied with all the amenities from home, including the basics., an alarm clock, CD player, hair dryer, etc but in addition, everything from a freshly laundered robe to a sewing kit. It was just wonderful. The kitchen was stocked with goodies including chips, cookies, chocolates, a selection of sodas, tea & coffee around the clock. The garden was inviting, relaxing & peaceful. Spacious, well manicured & the Koys are well taken care of. I was proud to be a part of this experience. Diane & Scott were great hosts .......they were very knowledegable of the area & suggested activities as well as all the right places to eat. I cant wait to return in the fall. Thank you again for a much needed vacation & a break from reality. Toni Gallagher., Cornwall on Hudson, NY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we do look forward to your fall return. We are also grateful for ranking us up there as one of the best B & B's you have stayed in, not only makes us proud, but lets us know that we are doing things right for our guests. Until the fall......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2672-4 Lititz Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As your hosts, the O'Donnells welcome discerning travelers to where good tastes and elegance are at home for you in their circa 1860 Italianate home (big yellow house). 4 deluxe rooms and a suite (with whirlpool), modern conveniences, full homemade breakfasts and a lovely garden offer you the perfect Lancaster getaway with Hershey, Gettysburg and Philadelphia each a simple day trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.