We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must visit this outstanding B&B.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
2672-4 Lititz Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“You must visit this outstanding B&B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The owners were very personable and welcoming upon our arrival. Everything necessary for making us comfortable and at home was at our fingertips. The room was clean and cozy and the breakfast outstanding. I thought I was in a 5 star restaurant. I highly recommend the EJ Bowman House.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We strive to make our guests feel that our home is their home and provide them with the amenities that they would find there. We are so glad that you felt welcome, and we would love to have you revisit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
192
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I went to Lancaster for her Birthday. The room we had was very nice, clean, etc. The two highlights for me were the wonderful welcome we received and warmth we received from owners. In addition the breakfeast we had Sunday morning was gourmet - well presented, and delicious. We also meet several other very nice people.

The house is centrally located to many different places in area. We had a worderful time.

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise you can hear road on side facing main road - it di not bother me but some it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Harry, Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure in some small way to be a part of Susan's birthday celebration. You both were a welcome addition to our breakfast table, and your comments on the gardens were very much appreciated. You are always welcome in our home, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Beach, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

As mentioned continuously review after review, Diane and Scott go out of their way to make you feel right at home - take it from me, I've been in the hospitality industry my entire life. Central location so you can easily drive to all the Lancaster destinations/towns. The accommodations are extremely comfortable and beat out staying in a hotel on all levels, so unique! Heated bathroom tile floors are great and Diane has perfected her elegant Breakfast recipes and you'll barely need lunch after that. What a memorable trip, so glad we chose the EJ Bowman House!

Room Tip: Just call and ask! The owners are extremely helpful during the booking process.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Jonathon, what can we say to your most gracious review, but thank you very much! As we've said in the past to many guests, sitting down and conversing with them after breakfast is the best part of the day for us. We love learning a little bit about them, and sharing a little bit about ourselves to them. We look forward to seeing the both of you again someday, you're always welcome in our home! Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we recently stayed at the bowman house and were very pleased. The rooms were very nice and the house was beautiful.. Our hosts were very kind and made us feel right at home.. Breakfast was delicious.. thanks for a great time..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the review. Your husband, son, and yourself were a pleasure to talk to. We hope the rest of your travels went well, and maybe you'll get this way again sometime and be able to stay a little longer with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

So glad I found this B&B on the Lancaster, PA website! From the moment we checked in, Diane and Scott were so personable and friendly! We got the tour of the exquisite home and was taken to our room by Scott. This B&B has been restored to all of its glory of days gone by when Dr Bowman owned it.
Our room was very comfy and pleasant! The heated tile floor in the bathroom was great when showering or getting up in the early am. The different rooms were pretty neat and the Library is stocked full of movies/books/entertainment that could keep you busy for a couple days alone. We didn't have a lot of time to experience this room much though :(
Moving from the awesome home to the spectacular---BREAKFAST!!! Diane must have been a gourmet chef in another life--lol!! The food was absolutely scrumptious!
Thank you Diane and Scott for making our two night stay a great time in Lancaster County--one we hope to duplicate in the future! :o)

Room Tip: All the rooms in this B&B would be great to stay in; the suite upstairs would be the best! We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Susan, flattery will get you everywhere. Diane's never been compared to a gourmet chef before, but that is the ultimate compliment. We truly wanted to make a special breakfast for Greg and yourself since you missed the day before due to the balloon ride. You two were great to talk to, and look forward to having you back with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned home from the EJ Bowman house B&B! Diane and Scott have a beautiful B&B! My husband and I got the romance package and stayed in the Bowman Suite. The romance package was a great deal especially for a week day! Included in the package was chocolates and flowers in a vase for your room as well as a $50.00 gift certificate to one of 2 very nice restaurants in town. The decor was tasteful and stayed true to the style of the home- beautiful and very clean! :) The fire place in our room was a bonus and very pretty. The suite has a beautiful jacuzzi tub- didn't use it but wish we had! :) We did not have a chance to meet Scott but Diane was very kind and made us feel at home. Her breakfasts were fabulous! Homemade waffles, plum buckle, egg casserole, and creme brulee' oatmeal to name a few of the treats brought out over the 2 days we stayed here. She even puts out homemade goodies each night in the kitchen for anyone to enjoy- there's also water, sodas, popcorn in the kitchen. Nearby is a cute little town called Lititz! Very quaint and adorable! We ate lunch there at a place called Tomato Pie Cafe - highly recommend!!- there's also a very cool olive oil store in Lititz called Olio (recc by diane :)) - you can taste the EVOO in little plastic shot glasses- they have SOOOO many flavored EVOOS and balsamic vinegars to try- definitely a must if you enjoy cooking and or eating ;) We plan to come back to Lancaster sometime relatively soon! Definitely give this place a try- you won' t be disappointed!

Room Tip: We loved the suite! The road noise is a little noisy but if you aren't a light sleeper you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Melanie, Thanks so much for the excellent review. We are glad that we could help direct you to things that you liked, and that we met our part of being innkeepers by being hospitable, keeping a clean establishment, and by cooking breakfasts that were pleasing to the palate and filling. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The accommodations at the EJ Bowman house were lovely. The bed was comfortable, and the heated tile floor in the bathroom was a treat, especially since it had snowed all day. We also appreciated the TV with a DVD player and a huge selection of movies to choose from. Lastly, breakfast was a delicious 3-course meal that included a blueberry muffin, fruit with a chocolate balsamic vinaigrette (delicious!), and an apple stuffed French toast. I would highly recommend this B&B and return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so glad that you found our B & B to your liking, and that we provided a comfortable atmosphere along with a breakfast that would have you give us such a kind review. We would love to have you back, whether your daughter ends up going to F & M(University Package) or not. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2672-4 Lititz Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As your hosts, the O'Donnells welcome discerning travelers to where good tastes and elegance are at home for you in their circa 1860 Italianate home (big yellow house). 4 deluxe rooms and a suite (with whirlpool), modern conveniences, full homemade breakfasts and a lovely garden offer you the perfect Lancaster getaway with Hershey, Gettysburg and Philadelphia each a simple day trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.