We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babymoon & Anniversary Stay - Can't beat the Jan special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   837 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland Gardens, NY
1 review
“Babymoon & Anniversary Stay - Can't beat the Jan special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

From the start, Lynne was super helpful in answering my questions and helping me tailor a 3 day mini-vacation that worked for us. We booked the McLaren Vale suite which has a 2 person hot tub on a sun porch--the perfect place to relax at night and read in the morning. She took care to ask if I would be using the hot tub so she could lower the temp to something safe for pregnant women. I really appreciated her asking. Also booked a prenatal massage with Christine which was a wonderful way to start the trip. Breakfast both days were beautifully set and delicious. (It was also nice having hot (Keurig)/cold drinks available at all hours, as well as homemade cookies. It really felt like home!
The location seemed to be a central point to many of the places we visited (markets, restaurants, outlets, etc). Our 3 day, 2 night stay ended too soon but felt restful enough that when I got home I felt like I had been away for a week! I was glad I got a souvenir mug to remind me of our stay and a jar of Lynne's award-winning apple butter to take home with me.
Close enough from NYC (about 3 hours); we look forward to going again.
Thank you for helping us celebrate our 5th Anniversary and for helping us make some great memories before baby in March.

Room Tip: I chose the McLaren Vale suite for the sun porch and it was so nice to have that extra sun-lit space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneBJones, Owner at The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you, Ellen, for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really enjoy being able to provide a special place for couples to celebrate this special time in their lives. We hope you'll return when it's time for another getaway and all best wishes to you and your growing family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
148
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This b&b is so wonderful. Lynn is such a sweetheart her breakfast is amazing. The moment my husband and I walked in our jaws dropped its so beautiful and relaxing. We stayed two nights because you couldn't beat the pay full price for one night and get the 2nd night for 20.13. We were celebrating our two year wedding anniversary. The rooms were everything I hoped clean and comfortable and very relaxing. We don't live far from this b&b but still wanted to try and it was our first b&b we definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The location is great, the breakfast is delicious, and the inn is warm and cozy. I stayed in the Barossa Suite, which had all of the amenities you need to relax. If you are looking for total rest and relaxation, than this is the place for you!! Bob was an excellent host and he made us feel right at home. The inn is centrally located and we were able to get to all of the main attractions in 30 minutes or less.

Room Tip: Barossa Suite offers a fireplace and 2 person jacuzzi, as well as a shower. It's great for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneBJones, Owner at The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us. A lot of thought and effort goes into providing the best experience possible for our guests. We so appreciate when they give us feedback! We look forward to being able to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband took me to the Australian Walkabout Inn B&B for my birthday and it was a great time. Lynne was an excellent hostess and served wonderful breakfasts. She couldn't do enough when it came time to venture out on our own and the suggestions/directions were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneBJones, Owner at The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks, Phyllis for your kind words. Providing guests with suggestions, directions and tips to help them make the most of their stay with us is a lot of fun. There's so much to do and see here in Lancaster. Since you're so close, we hope you'll come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

we went here for our wedding night and stayed in the carriage house out back. the hot tub was a very welcome sight, the bed was comfortable with awesome bedding and lots of room for 2 restless sleepers, :) we got there later then originally planned but were still welcomed and breakfast the next morning was very delicious. all the extra's were definitely nicer then staying at a regular hotel, (k-cups, baked goods, movies, bath robes, our new tree ornament in remembrance and loads of tourist info), while it would have been nice to know ahead of time that there is an old fashioned fire department right up the street (so could have brought ear plugs) we were still very amazed with our visit. was pretty easy to find, located fairly close to outlets and several tourist spots.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent bed and breakfast! The room was perfect (Barossa) from the soft sheets to the 2 person jacuzzi tub, everything was comfortable and relaxing. The outlets were a quick 5-10 min drive away and we were able to do some shopping. For a romantic getaway, this is the place. I ordered chocolate covered strawberries and Lynne made sure they were in the room when we got back from shopping, she provided an ice bucket for our champagne and flutes. Breakfast was homemade the next morning and delicious. We will be back! Thanks for making our stay wonderful and having all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Barossa suite is in the front of the house, occasional cars driving by but that didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is our second time at the Walkabout Inn. Great location for sites and shopping, the end of the day was a warm room with very very soft sheets, hot tub, excellent shower pressure, all the pleasures of your own home. Then to awake to the aroma of an awesome breakfast made by Lynne. Friendly, clean, and perfect stay was most enjoyable. Please try the Walkabout Inn Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: View your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 837 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in the heart of Amish Country. We offer 5 unique suites with private bathrooms. Hot, hearty breakfast included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.