We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Wonderful Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   837 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Had a Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast on our wedding night in the Outback Cottage. We couldn't have been happier with the room. Lynne and Bob left the keys for us so we didn't have to worry about coming in late, and the room was A-mazing!! The hot tub was wonderful after such a long day- and it was so clean! The bed was comfortable and the sheets were soft, we loved the decor! At breakfast we were treated to a truly wonderful culinary delight! The other guests were very pleasant as well. After breakfast we had a couples massage- this was such a treat! The massage suite is warm and comfortable and just what we needed! Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the Outback Cottage if you want a little bit more privacy. It's not attached to the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
148
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before we visited Australian Walkabout Inn and now I am ruined!What a warm and friendly home.We were treated like family and we met folks that sure seemed like we had known before.Great stay,awesome food,hope to come back.Thank you Lynne and Bob!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Walkabout for a weekend getaway. Everything at the Inn was awesome!! Lynne and Bob were great hosts! I was impressed that they took time to actually sit down with their guests at breakfast and converse! Alot of places we stay we never see the owners -- not the case here!! They gave great recommendations on places to eat and things to see and do. My wife and I will certainly come back and will recommend the Walkabout to our friends and family!!

Room Tip: Love the Maclaren Vale -- it has a hot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two days on our honeymoon. We chose the suite with the jacuzzi--very well appointed, comfortable mattress, high thread count sheets, and met all of our needs. Breakfasts were a gourmand's delight. So pleased ....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Everything about the Australian Walkabout Inn is perfect. Managing to balance the cozy feel of an inn with the elegance of a 5 star hotel, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As a young 20 something couple, we were skeptical of inns, wary of returning to "grandmas's house" on vacation. However, the Australian Walkabout exceeded all of our expectations. Additionally, it is perfectly situated between Lancaster and Strasburg/BirdinHand/Intercourse, so you're right in the heart of the action.

Pros: delicious and big breakfasts, complimentary beer and wine, privacy yet with the feeling of absolute welcome
Cons: slow internet

Don't look any further! This is the Inn in Lancaster you want to stay at!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St cCatharines, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

First visit to the Lancaster area We stayed for 2 nights Sept 26- 28. Lynne provided great recommendations for touring the areas highlights and dinner recommendations. Enjoyable stay, delightful breakfasts, with great personal touches. Strongly recommended. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have visited Lancaster many times, always choosing B&B's as our "home away from home." This two- night "spur of the moment" trip to enjoy the fall leaves and the Sight & Sound production of Jonah was wonderful! Lynne and Bob were very gracious hosts. Lynne's breakfasts were delicious--she even let us try her homemade applebutter (a recent blue-ribbon winner!) Even though our weather was on the dreary side, the Barossa Suite was cozy and comfy with the reading room, jacuzzi, beverages, and homemade chocolate chip cookies. By the way, Lynne, I enjoyed the knit shop you found for me on your laptop and a great new project! Hope to see you again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 837 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in the heart of Amish Country. We offer 5 unique suites with private bathrooms. Hot, hearty breakfast included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.