We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tired property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location, tired property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have typically stayed at this location every year while visiting Lancaster.

The property is in the middle of the outlet action with restaurants close buy.

The room was well a room. Furniture and fixtures are becoming quite dated. Cleanliness was about what you would expect from the brand. The one major inconvenience with the room was the bathroom. The toilet needed several flushes just to get rid of waste. There is a fridge and microwave in the room however the fridge acted more of a freezer with no apparent way of controlling the temperature.

The kids enjoyed the pool but commented that more shade would be welcomed.

Breakfast on the first day, Saturday was a challenge. It was very busy and the attendant was having a challenge in keeping up. The pancake maker was out of order and appeared to have been that way for at least a week. The second day where the hotel was less busy was a little better, however supplies appeared to have been diminished.

The real disappointment this trip was the staff. My interaction with all of the staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping to the breakfast attendant were all less than great. All of the staff appeared to be unhappy with their roles. After 30 plus years in the service industry this responsibility must be that of management.

Will we stay here again? Probably.

Do I feel that you get value for what you pay? Not so much.

Special call out to James who was doing his best however you could tell he was overwhelmed.

Location 5/5
Value 3/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Comfort 4/5
Amenities 5/5
Wi-Fi 5/5

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Mark S.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your stay. Many of the concerns you had mentioned are being addressed with our upcoming renovation. We will be expanding our breakfast area to better accomodate our busy times and the pool area is going to get a face lift with better seating and recreational space. I do hope you'll be back to see the changes!

I will be sure to address the staff issues and apologize that we did not wow you during your stay.
I will also pass along your comments to James.


Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!


Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    79
    38
    32
    11
See reviews for
99
74
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Lancaster. The hotel was clean and room was a little bit bigger than average hotel room. Beds were a bit firm. Room was clean and decor was nice. Cable was more limited. Breakfast bar was great and had any options and large area to eat. There was nice outdoor pool. Water felt warm and there were hotel rooms going to the pool. Hotel is 2 floors high. This hotel is located adjacent to rockvale outlet mall featuring many stores. Also,many restaurants nearby and very close to sound and sight theater as well as other shopping areas, railroad,etc. Would stay again if in the area, Had good cookies in lobby in eve!

Room Tip: Bathroom is small but clean. There are rooms that face the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Tia B,

Thank you so much for your review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our cookies! Thank you for mentioning our poolside rooms. They are a great amenity to have direct access from your room to our pool area.

Hope to see you again soon!

Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express has been one of our "go to" places. This was not what we expected, we left a day early. It is older, so I will not get into decor, they were in the process of updating locks and a few other things while we were there. Which is a good thing, they need to do a great deal to get this place up to snuff. The room was reasonably clean but needed some updating. The room darkener was broken and had numerous small holes in it. The hairdryer didn't work. When we went to the vending machines to get water, we found that they had not been restocked in 2 days. We found out that there was water at the desk for $1. Breakfast is wonderful, lots of great offerings, but is so packed that a back room with folding tables is used for overflow. The one woman who was taking care of all this was a bit overwhelmed by the number of people showing up at one time. There was a great deal of people from bus trips at the hotel at this time. The staff at the front desk were pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Need to really upgrade this place so it meets the standards of this name.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padutchhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Galt49,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. Based on your comments and those of other travelers we have taken all the comments and have been taking action on them. Our "Key Entry System" had to be our first on our list.

Over the next year you will see more improvements like enlarging the breakfast room, enhancing the business & fitness centers and the addition of a sundry store; just to name a few.

I would hope that you will give us a second chance to renew your experience with our hotel.

Sincerely,

John R. Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were in town to do some shopping at the outlets. This was the perfect place to stay. We could drop off packages and head back out to the outlets. Easy access to the main streets to go wherever you want. Room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The towels were the best I have used while staying at a hotel! Breakfast bar was terrific. Plenty of choices and good quality...remember that this will save you money when figuring out if the cost of the hotel is worth it.
We arrived earlier than expected but were pleasantly surprised that the room was already for us so we could check in!! Check out was quick and simple!! Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Sharcu7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you shop 'til you dropped. I'm glad to see we were able to accommodate your early check in. Though we don't guarantee our rooms available until 4pm, if we have them clean and available for you earlier than that, we'd be more than happy to get you in your room so you can start your shopping sooner!

Look forward to seeing you again!


Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Wilmington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We recently needed a place to spend the night on a trip east. We pulled into the Holiday Inn express around 11:30 pm. This was my first time at a HE. There was a woman from Nebraska at the desk trying to get rooms. They apparently had an issue at the hotel they were booked with. The Holiday Inn Express had one room left, this woman needed 3. The desk clerked excused herself from the woman to see how she could assist me. I told her we needed one room, she verified she did have only one, and kindly asked me to wait while she continued to take care of finding accommodations for the woman in front of me. I thought it was above and beyond her duty to call around for a place to stay until she found something for this family. I commend this young lady for her service. Customer service like this is hard to find.
Besides the service, the hotel was clean, beds comfortable and the location was in the heart of the outlets!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello kiawahvacationer,


Thank you so much for your kind words about our customer service. I'm proud to hear that even though we couldn't accommodate the guest that our service continued to try and help and appreciate your patience while waiting. Thank you!

Hope to see you again soon!


Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend after travelling from Woodstock, Ontario. For visiting Amish Country it was in a very commericalized area but that offered the convenience of the outlet mall and access to many American restaurant chains. Our king sized room was large enough however the room was constantly damp whether it was from the air conditioning or not we were not clear but it did not interrupt our stay. The hotel offers a decent hot/cold breakfast and awesome sugardoodle cookies at reception check-in. The pool is a nice touch for after a morning outing or to catch the sunset. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend to stay there if you are not expecting anything over the top.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNSSW_Admin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello hunkydoreyWoodstock,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and was able to relax by the pool.

Look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Right in the heart of the Rockvale outlets, this hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. They serve a lovely breakfast and they have free wifi ( my kids were thrilled with both). Nice pool in the courtyard although it was rainy so we didn't use it. You can walk to all the Rockvale stores from your room and it's only a mile and a half from the Tangers outlets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padutchhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mrsmusicmom,

Isn't it great being at a hotel located smack dab in the middle of all this great shopping. Our hotel has always been a shoppers paradise.. where you don't have to even start the car to shop over 90 outlet stores.

It is always a pleasure to hear from you our valued guest that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sincerely,

John R. Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Address: 24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closet Holiday Inn Express to the Greenfield Corp. CenterWe are the only hotel in the county where you can score amazing bargains and treat your taste buds without ever starting the car. The hotel is situated amidst one of the largest shopping outlets in the country. Take a walk, or ride the complimentary shuttle through Rockvale Outlets 100 factory direct stores and six restaurants. Tanger Outlets is just one mile away and Kitchen Kettle s country shops, quaint antique stores and numerous farmers markets are nearby. To get a real taste of Lancaster County, save room to sample the legendary PA Dutch cuisine. Whoopee pies, chicken pot pie, chow chow and shoofly pies are only the beginning. Holiday Inn Express Lancaster is surrounded by all of the best PA Dutch restaurants including Good N Plenty, Hershey Farm, Miller s Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Farms and Bird In Hand Restaurant. The hotel is just minutes away from a wide array of attractions including Sight & Sound Theatres, American Music Theatre featuring top named acts, Strasburg Railroad and Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park. Hershey Park and Chocolate World, Kreider s Farm and the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire weekends Aug. through Oct. are a 30 minute drive. We offer a convenient location, comfortable accommodations and just the right mix of services, all at very affordable rates. Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster s smartest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets Hotel Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.