We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very thin walls!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very thin walls!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend for three nights. While the breakfast was fantastic, the walls were so thin that I did not enjoy my stay. The doors slamming and the loud conversations made it impossible to sleep. I brought my white noise machine after reading some of the other reviews, but even that didn't help. I had the sound machine cranked all the way up and was still woken up constantly until 1am every night. Unfortunately, the free hot breakfast is not enough to make me stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
FourInMaryland:

I am very sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us this past weekend. We do our best to suggest that each guest stay quiet and considerate to the others in the hotel. This past weekend was a busy one in Lancaster due to a teenage volleyball tournament that takes place every year and our hotel was hosting 6 separate teams. Unfortunately we are unable to monitor each and every guest at all times. We will keep this in mind next year when the tournament is happening again. I am very sorry your sleep was interrupted each night. If there is anything more we could help you with, please feel free to contact the hotel directly at 717-293-9500.

Thank you,
Kiersten F.
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    76
    36
    29
    10
See reviews for
93
71
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My daughter, my granddaughter and I stayed at this Inn from January 18th to the 21st, 2013. The breakfasts were wonderful with numerous choices. Plus, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were available all the time. In the lobby there were drinks and cookies, also available all the time. The choices were lemonade and iced tea for drinks and sugar and chocolate chip cookies. The front desk personnel were always very accommodating and extremely helpful. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn as the best in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic compliments on our hotel! We look forward to the tournament every year and try to make each guest feel so welcome. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to all of the staff that worked so hard to make the weekend a success. We hope that if you are to visit Lancaster, Pennsylvania again, you will choose to stay with us!

Thank you again!
Kiersten F
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Walls are thin in this hotel. I could hear every word of conversations in the next room and the hall. Beds are comfortable and staff is professional. Breakfast is disappointing, even for a HIX buffet. Internet speed varies between 1 & 2 meg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Ryan C.-

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as we would like it to be. I will be directing your comments to our management to see if there is anything we might be able to do about the issues you have raised. We pride ourselves on making each guests stay enjoyable and try our best to make everyone happy. If you have any further concerns, please feel free to contact the hotel directly at (717)-293-9500. I hope you are able to visit with us again on your next trip to Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Thank you,
Kiersten F.
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location,value & overall stay this past week was awesome. The morning breakfast the put out every morning was better then I thought it would be (so many choices) & the Christmas Show @ The American Music Theater topped off the best week in recent memory

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at out establishment on your most recent visit to Lancaster, Pennsylvania! Our breakfast attendant prides herself on serving a delicious meal every morning, and I will pass your wonderful review on to her. We hope to see you again soon!

Kiersten F.
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Come here every year to shop the outlets but this was the first time at HIE. Kudos guys! From friendly staff (we love Gary @ the front desk!) to really good breakfast -- we were very pleased. Perfect location and soo convenient to everything. Only bad thing was the fan in the bathroom. When you put the light on, the fan also came on. VERY LOUD. Like a 747 landing in the room. Not good. But no matter...we will be back! Great time

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am so happy that you had a wonderful stay in the Holiday Inn Express! The shoppers some of Lancaster's biggest fans this time of year and we love having you!! Thank you for saying such wonderful things about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kiersten F.
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel ever. I have be there and it was very good hotel.i will recommend it to people like my friends and family. The breakfast was very good and breakfast area was very clean. They have a nice housekeeper. Housekeeper were very nice. Good team work!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am so glad you found our hotel to be so amazing! We love to hear such fantastic feedback from our guests. Our housekeepers work very hard at making you feel comfortable. We hope to see you, your friends, and your family in Lancaster, PA soon!

Kiersten F.
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed there during Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was was clean and pleasant but the staff were exceptionally accommodating during the storm. They pulled out board games, put out extra snacks, and even put out the makings of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for folks who couldn't get out in the extremely bad weather. They gave every guest scented candles and matches in case of a blackout from the storm. The manager went out of his way to be cheerful and pleasent to everyone who walked in the lobby from the bad weather. There was an overall sense of being taken care of --they definitely went above and beyond to keep folks safe, comfortable, and happy. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KierstenF, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am so glad you were able to find shelter from the storm in our hotel! We were very concerned for the Sandy victims and tried our best to boost spirits and make every guest feel welcome and safe. We are always happy to have guests in our hotel, even under such circumstances. We hope to see you again soon!

Kiersten F.
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Address: 24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closet Holiday Inn Express to the Greenfield Corp. CenterWe are the only hotel in the county where you can score amazing bargains and treat your taste buds without ever starting the car. The hotel is situated amidst one of the largest shopping outlets in the country. Take a walk, or ride the complimentary shuttle through Rockvale Outlets 100 factory direct stores and six restaurants. Tanger Outlets is just one mile away and Kitchen Kettle s country shops, quaint antique stores and numerous farmers markets are nearby. To get a real taste of Lancaster County, save room to sample the legendary PA Dutch cuisine. Whoopee pies, chicken pot pie, chow chow and shoofly pies are only the beginning. Holiday Inn Express Lancaster is surrounded by all of the best PA Dutch restaurants including Good N Plenty, Hershey Farm, Miller s Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Farms and Bird In Hand Restaurant. The hotel is just minutes away from a wide array of attractions including Sight & Sound Theatres, American Music Theatre featuring top named acts, Strasburg Railroad and Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park. Hershey Park and Chocolate World, Kreider s Farm and the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire weekends Aug. through Oct. are a 30 minute drive. We offer a convenient location, comfortable accommodations and just the right mix of services, all at very affordable rates. Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster s smartest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets Hotel Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.