We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay at a Hotel with some Wear and Tear” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Long Island New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Stay at a Hotel with some Wear and Tear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for three nights while visiting the area, and overall, our stay was pleasant. Check-in was fine, front desk staff seemed nice enough, and were always friendly upon entering the hotel.
Rooms are a bit smaller than what my family was accustomed too, but it still fit us and suited our purposes just fine. We very much liked our pool view and direct access from our room. The beds are decent enough as well.
The Breakfast is excellent with a wide and varied selection, the room just gets really crowded. However, there is additional seating in the conference room and lobby.
The location is also good, right off the highway in the Rockvale outlets. (Though I liked the Tanger ones up the road more). And the hotel is no more than a few minutes away from any of the major attractions. It's also fairly quiet from outside traffic, considering its location where it is.

I was going to take off a star because the TV was terrible in our room--we didn't get 90% of the channels. However, upon my return home I learned that apparently Direct TV (which the hotel uses) has blacked out a bunch of channels, so I guess the hotel can't be blamed for that. But if this black-out continues for a while, for more guest satisfaction, they may want to consider a better provider.
The only real issue is that the hotel isn't very new--and it shows. The walls are pretty thin, and some of the furniture and carpets show this wear and tear. Because it isn't an exceptionally cheap rate (we paid an average of about $160/night), it would be a little nicer if the hotel could make some minor cosmetic adjustments. Otherwise though, good stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    76
    36
    30
    10
See reviews for
93
70
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Three adults and four children in one room with two double beds, rollaway and a couch with plenty of space to move.... A last minute overnight get away with my sisters and their kids. The pool was clean and well maintained. The rooms were clean and spacious. The best part was the cold and hot breakfast spread in the morning for free! A GREAT value and location. We will be back, no doubt!! Perfect for outlet shopping. It is literally in the same parking lot. No driving necessary. There is also a fenced playground area in the same plaza.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel was excellent. Clean and beautiful. We asked for a rollaway bed and it came in about 5 minutes. We had children in the room and it was fine for them too. The breakfast was delicious. It was a full breakfast. Something for everyone. Real close to Dutch Wonderland where we were going. Also right next to the outlets. The pool was nice also and the kids loved it after a hot day at Dutch Wonderland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Room was dirty and smelled of mildew from bathroom and/or AC unit.

Bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Linens were threadbare. Pillows old and lumpy. Didn't sleep a wink. Even tried sleeping on the sofa but that was hard as a rock too.

Lobby and check in reception were fine. Location is good.

Too many other more comfortable hotels in the area to stay at this place again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Our housekeeping staff prides themselves on providing our guests with outstanding accomodations, I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. We take each review seriously so that we know where to improve our accomodations for you, our valued guest.

As your concerns are serve in nature to our overall value, I would love if you would contact us at dwalko@hiexpresslancaster.com so we can further discuss your concern so they do not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Booked reservations. Traveled 500 miles, arrived noon. "No rooms ready,we were full last night."...then, Kirsten informed us.. NO ONE will be checked in before 4PM. Several housekeeping staff "relaxing" in/around lobby area.? Couldn't one get a room cleaned? Kirsten, did not offer to get one room ready if we would wait. Kept repeating "check in is at 4." So, we decided to cancel. Desk clerk Kirsten, then inform us we would still have to pay for the room. What?, Pay, because of unprofessional hotel management or because they were unable or unwilling to clean a room? Come on, it's your business to have rooms ready, isn't it? You can tell me everyone staying decided to check out at exacty 12:00. Really? I want my money back. I am sure some one got my room...already paid for... and Holiday Inn sold one room twice! What a scam! We left, and will tell all we meet of the terrible way we were treated. 30 years of national and international travel and this is the rudest, most unprofessional desk clerk I have encountered. She wouldn't represent my company. Hey, if you want quality rooms, great service, cheaper prices, friendly atmosphere...book the Hampton Inn,even the Comfort Inn was more comfortable and less expensive. Everything about them beats Holiday Inn Express we've stayed at...hands down. Especially the beds.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We appreciate feedback from our guests, good or bad. We take all reviews seriously and use them for training at the hotel.
I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your early check in. Our check-in time for the hotel is at 4:00PM, we do try our best to accommodate early check-ins whenever possible. However, this is not always possible when the hotel was sold out the night prior and check-out is only at 11:00.
When you came to check in at 12:00, our staff was on their designated lunch break. As stated above we strive to accommodate all guest requests based on the time allotted and the period of notification we receive from our guests.
If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact the hotel directly at 717-293-9500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had a wonderful trip. The accomodations as always spectacular! Lily always has the breakfast area set up so beautifully and she keeps us happy and full!!! Thanks Lilly

Room Tip: POOL SIDE is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My friend is the expert on Holiday Inn Expresses; I recently joined him at the Rockvale Outlet location. The first thing one notices is that there's no visible signage from Route 30, meaning it's quite easy to miss the location. Even if you turn into the right mall area, you might have to circle around. It's easy to miss the turn; hopefully this could be resolved in the future?

My friend arrived before I did. He claims there was a putrid odor in the room. It was some hybrid of animal and refuse or something. The staff worked to resolve the olfactory problem, though when I arrived there was still a heavy musty odor that stuck around the entire time we stayed.

A couple of notes about bathrooms:
1. The public men's room didn't seem to lock as one thought it would. This lead to, shall we say, an embarrassing situation.
2. In the room bathroom (which could use some renovation), the bathroom door STUCK (think: the top warped/expanded or something), trapping one inside, particularly after a shower. What?!?!? Absolutely not cool. (We notified the staff of this at the end of our stay; I'm guessing it was resolved.)

I found the Wi-Fi to be slightly below average in terms of speed, though not painfully sluggish.

The manager mildly reduced the room rate due to our inconveniences, though the staff refused to give my friend points (which he says other locations usually grant given sub-par Holiday Inn experiences). My friend deemed this location rather sub-par with respect to most HIEs.

The saving grace for this location was the breakfast, which was superb. Do note, however, that if it's bus tour season the breakfast area is liable to be either rather empty or really crowded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Address: 24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closet Holiday Inn Express to the Greenfield Corp. CenterWe are the only hotel in the county where you can score amazing bargains and treat your taste buds without ever starting the car. The hotel is situated amidst one of the largest shopping outlets in the country. Take a walk, or ride the complimentary shuttle through Rockvale Outlets 100 factory direct stores and six restaurants. Tanger Outlets is just one mile away and Kitchen Kettle s country shops, quaint antique stores and numerous farmers markets are nearby. To get a real taste of Lancaster County, save room to sample the legendary PA Dutch cuisine. Whoopee pies, chicken pot pie, chow chow and shoofly pies are only the beginning. Holiday Inn Express Lancaster is surrounded by all of the best PA Dutch restaurants including Good N Plenty, Hershey Farm, Miller s Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Farms and Bird In Hand Restaurant. The hotel is just minutes away from a wide array of attractions including Sight & Sound Theatres, American Music Theatre featuring top named acts, Strasburg Railroad and Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park. Hershey Park and Chocolate World, Kreider s Farm and the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire weekends Aug. through Oct. are a 30 minute drive. We offer a convenient location, comfortable accommodations and just the right mix of services, all at very affordable rates. Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster s smartest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets Hotel Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.