We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Check-in staff outstanding. Tonya went out of her way to accomodate our room choice. We had an exceptionally quiet room. Discovered that HIE is expanding their breakfast menu to include ham & green pepper omelettes, pancake machines and slices of ham. Breakfast area clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    81
    38
    36
    12
See reviews for
100
77
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My fiance and I travel to Lancaster frequently as we love all the shops, activities and just the general feel of the area. We reserved a one night stay this past weekend. We usually just go on day trips but we were coming out for a fundraising Halloween party. The party was rescheduled so we were unable to go because of the freak snow storm in October! But we still stayed overnight and enjoyed our mini vacation. We signed up for the hotel's rewards program, Premier Rewards, and were welcomed with a snack and water bottle. The front desk staff and housekeeping were very welcoming and friendly. It was snowing heavy throughout the whole day so that night we decided to stay local and we dined at the Olive Garden right in the Outlet area. The room was equipped with a refridgerator, microwave and coffee maker. I made coffee and it came out exceptionally well. The room was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable. The morning breakfast was delicious! Cinnamon buns warm and the icing was decadent. Eggs, bacon, bagels, cereal, juices and coffee and my fiance loved the high end pancake maker. Even though we couldn't attend our Halloween party we dressed up in our costumes in the hotel room to take pictures, we were suppose to be George and Martha Washington. We enjoyed our stay so much I would absolutely return to this hotel again! Kudos to the staff for making our stay enjoyable in the snow storm in October 2011!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday for a week with family and had the best stay. The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was great. Breakfast staff was great in keeping everything stocked. Only thing was that it was so crowded due to the fact that there were buses staying at the hotel all week long. On some days I just took the food back to the room. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful with directions. I will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stay here every visit to Lancaster because of the location. The hotel itself is very nice, but the breakfast staff almost ruins the whole visit. The same lady is there every time we visit. She is slow, unconcerned about guests and exceptionally rude. She actually talks on her cell phone while she's working. Every single time we have been there, she runs out of food. Her nasty response when asked is that there were more people than expected. I've worked in the hotel industry enough to know that the hotel knows days in advance exactly how many people are in the hotel. They just don't plan well, waiting until something has run out to cook more. Every time I return (2-3 times a year) I expect to find that this woman has been fired, but she's still there. Except for the breakfast experience, it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The ground floor walk out to the pool rooms are the best during summer anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityGuru, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express. We are sincerely sorry that you encountered a bad expierence with breakfast, and because you took the time to provide us with your concerns we will move foward with addressing the problems, and taking action were needed.

On another note, despite what you expierenced with breakfast we are pleased to hear that the rest of your stay was great. In the future we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your family back in Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The HIExp is located centrally and provides a great base of operations for seeing the Lancaster area, attending theater, shopping in the malls (It's located adjacent to the Rockvale Outlet center, you can walk to the stores), eating at one of the wondeful nearby restaurants, shopping at Amish outlets and farm markets, and visiting attractions from trains to hot air balloons.

The rooms were neat and clean and the free breakfast was more than one could eat.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor, near the lobby , maybe an entrance away, and near, but not next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is very central to activities in and around Lancaster PA. However we were disappointed with the service provided. We had booked months before and requested adjoining and interconnecting rooms (if available) as we wre travelling with family of 4 adults and 4 children. The receptionist was very unfriendly and unhelpful (quite arrogant) and made no attempt to find adjoining rooms even though there were some available. He made some comment about Company policy not to pre-allocate rooms. The rooms provided were some 100 metres apart, and one of the rooms was not habitable. There had been a smoker there previously, the smoke detector had been tampered with and the window (ground floor) was unlocked. The room next door was then provided.
We were also disappointed that the pool was closed. (The availability of a pool was part of our booking criterior)

Room Tip: Cannot make a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is located right next to several outlets and is only a few minutes from Dutch Wonderland. They have continental breakfast included. The staff had difficulty keeping up with the demand and the food was not always stocked and they ran out of coffee.
The outdoor pool was dirty and in need of maintenance.
The room was very nice - spacious and clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are on the pool side. Lower floor rooms on pool side can walk out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets

Address: 24 South Willowdale Drive, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closet Holiday Inn Express to the Greenfield Corp. CenterWe are the only hotel in the county where you can score amazing bargains and treat your taste buds without ever starting the car. The hotel is situated amidst one of the largest shopping outlets in the country. Take a walk, or ride the complimentary shuttle through Rockvale Outlets 100 factory direct stores and six restaurants. Tanger Outlets is just one mile away and Kitchen Kettle s country shops, quaint antique stores and numerous farmers markets are nearby. To get a real taste of Lancaster County, save room to sample the legendary PA Dutch cuisine. Whoopee pies, chicken pot pie, chow chow and shoofly pies are only the beginning. Holiday Inn Express Lancaster is surrounded by all of the best PA Dutch restaurants including Good N Plenty, Hershey Farm, Miller s Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Farms and Bird In Hand Restaurant. The hotel is just minutes away from a wide array of attractions including Sight & Sound Theatres, American Music Theatre featuring top named acts, Strasburg Railroad and Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park. Hershey Park and Chocolate World, Kreider s Farm and the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire weekends Aug. through Oct. are a 30 minute drive. We offer a convenient location, comfortable accommodations and just the right mix of services, all at very affordable rates. Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Lancaster s smartest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets Hotel Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.