We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Napa in Lancaster, PA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Hill Wine Tasting Store

Thorn Hill Wine Tasting Store
1945 Fruitville Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601
717-299-3688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Activities in Lancaster
Type: Wineries, Specialty Shops, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A taste of Napa in Lancaster, PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Last year this very same week we had an awesome trip with friends wine tasting through Napa and Sonoma, CA. They visit there often so have their favorite wineries and we loved the experience. What a pleasant surprise to find Thorn Hill tasting room while on a day trip to Lancaster. AND not Pennsylvania wines, but California wines, which have the ultimate weather conditions for growing the grapes and making superb wine. As In California, the wines you taste are not available in state stores, same here at Thorn Hill. Some restaurants will carry these wines, hence you can only buy them at the tasting room or join the club. PA Is a state Calif wineries cannot ship to, we did not join Thorn's club but did purchase bottles to bring home, may have to reconsider joining. Because they are in PA they can ship to PA. Every wine we tasted was excellent! From the Sauvignon Blanc priced @ $19.95 which was smooth and fruity, certainly to be enjoyed with a meal or on a hot summer day to the Pino noir and Cabernet Sauvignon, my favorite, priced @ $40 & $50, crisp, fruity delicious from aroma to first sip to final enjoy. My hubs and friends tasted the port and agreed it was one of the best. We were fortunate to have Jack Thorn there for our visit, he was full of information & history of their wines and quite enjoyable. Would love to make it back for a Fri nite party. Wish them the best.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“California wine tastings in Lancaster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a treat! On any given day, in addition to tasting Amy and John Thorn's wine offerings, you might be delighted to join in on mic nights, Wild Women of Wine get togethers, specialty chefs composing delectable Modernist Cuisine foods to pair with Thorn Hill wines...and this is just in the last 4 weeks...a busy tasting room with friendly, knowledgable and engaging staff. Come for Amish buggies and leave with a case of Thorn Hill!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great little tasting room where you wouldn't expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The place is stuck in a strip mall next to a Subway. The interior is attractive and elegant, though, and the folks there are welcoming and friendly. The wines come from California, which I suppose means that the prices get bumped up a little compared to their PA counterparts...but the wine is very good.

We have joined the wine club, and we have already enjoyed a few enjoyable evening events there. They are over killing their social media and e-mail activities, though, and the owner (Jack) does appear to enjoy hearing himself talk. It's a minor thing, though, because overall we do enjoy the place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Who Knew ? California Wine in Lancaster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We love to taste wine and I saw this on the Pennsylvania website as a place to stop. I assumed it was wine from PA but it wasnt. Nicely arranged tasting room with lots of space and the wine was delicious. We bought two bottles and the Cabernet was so worth it. We will be back in December.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wine anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited here and purchased a couple of bottles of wine. Thorn Hill is relatively new to Lancaster. The wine we purchased was very good. The prices are higher then at other places but again the wine is good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Hill Wine Tasting Store also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Gap, Lancaster County
Manheim, Lancaster County
 

Been to Thorn Hill Wine Tasting Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Hill Wine Tasting Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.