We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Red Roof Inn

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2307 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Nicholson, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The desk staff was rude and disinterested in helping us. More interested in unbuttoning her shirt to show off her chest than actually doing any work. The room was so dusty i was able to write "clean me" in several different places, (the headboard, the tv stand, the chair) and to my surprise (insert sarcasm here) it was not cleaned during our stay. The rooms are so not sound proofed we were able to hear the conversations from the next room as well as the one across the hall. The air conditioner takes care of the need for privacy..it is soo loud that you are then able to speak in total privacy but forget sleeping with it rattling and groaning. Broken plastic was on the floor in front of the window and remained there for both nights we stayed there. Check out time we we told of some charges we incurred because we paid cash for the room rather than charging it.. not for calls or movies, just a problem with people paying cash. Would have been nice to have been told this when we had reserved weeks in advance. Stairwells and hallways near elevators were filthy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    139
    65
    33
    50
See reviews for
147
144
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This was my 1st and last time going to this hotel. The sheets were only folded by the maid, as I had a hole in the same spot in my sheet for the 4 night stay. There was plastic spoons etc left from previous guests on the floor. I could not enter my room with the card key, had to have manager come in and help and he couldn't. Said he would issue a credit never did............The outdoor pool was closed.............vending machine was broken, and the one working was in the inside where the pool is.....which was closed! Had to buy drinks from staff behind unprofessional staff, that was busy ordering takeout while ignoring us...........................Come home to find that I was charged almost $200 more upon checkout. Need I say more????????????????? If it's only going to look good while driving, then keep going.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

They were spray painting the roof and exterior walls during our stay. Cars wrapped in plastic, others not. Front wall had a giant tarp covering some kind of damage. Common areas smelly and dirty. Room as adequate, but the AC was loud.

Arrived to find one person at the desk and a small line. Girl did not seem to care that her slowness was annoying. Otherwise staff was nice and responsive.

Continental breakfast was good and standard fare. Location is great, but place seemed to be a mess. Not up to speed, no apologies for renovation work in progress.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Well, we usually stay at the higher end hotels, but due to our travel plans changing at the last minute, we found ourselves needing a room in the middle of the night on our way to Philly. After checking with several hotels in the area and finding them either booked (it was a Friday night) or wanting more than $100 dollars to sleep for about 6 hours, we came to the Red Roof Inn. Audra @ the front desk was more than friendly and when I walked into the lobby @ 3:00 AM, she was defintely a sight for sore eyes. Check-in was quick, price was right on ($49/night) and we were in our room in less than 5 minutes. Room was clean, beds were made nicely and we were well on our way to sleeping. The only complaint (and it's minor) was that there was no separate conditioner (the shampoo said Conditioning Shampoo, but you really do need a separate conditioner) and some of our towels were small and not very absorbent. If we had been staying longer, the mini-fridge and Keurig coffeemaker would have come in really handy.

Overall, for the price you're paying, it's a great deal! Super friendly staff, very clean rooms and easy access to nearby attractions and eateries, I don't think you could beat it. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belkins, Internet Revenue Contractor at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for your comments and bringing your concerns to our attention. We take all comments and concerns to our staff for review and consider them as building tools for our guest to enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I was very pleased to find this hotel. The hotel had just been renovated and they did a good job. I had read a few controversial reviews, but took a chance when I saw the pix posted. It was exactly as the pix showed. Beautiful, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Very close to food and tourist stops.
If there was any downside, it would be a few dirty spots on the hallway carpet, but there were a lot of families there at the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

First off, let me say that my "love-in" with Red Roof Inn was brought about by my stay at the property in Hamburg New York last year. That property was clean and cheery.

This summer, my family and I travelled to New Jersey and Pennsylvannia and we stayed at Red Roof Inns in Secaucus, Edison and finally this one in Lancaster. We were there from August 15 for 4 nights.

When I had made the reservation, I had contacted the general manager to give him the opportunity to assure me that the hotel was clean and safe. He did.

So, let me start with the positives:

Free wireless Internet in guest rooms. Our connection worked without any problems;

The location, right on Rt 30, and its close proximity to the outlet malls and many restaurants, was great.

On to the less positives:

While the hotel boasts of free breakfast, the quality of the food was not great. Yes, one could make one's own waffles but other than that and some bagels and bread, the biscuits and gravy looked decidedly unappetizing, and to have to look at it four mornings in a row, was just too much. I guess the hotel has not heard of varying their breakfast fare. The fruit - a few uncut oranges and apples - was a disappointment.

The hotel website indicates the property has 95 newly renovated rooms. They may have been newly renovated years ago, but certainly not as of August 2010. Ours was not and peeking through some of the windows of the other rooms confirmed that our room was not better and no worse in terms of refurbishment than the others.

Finally, the negatives:

Our plans had changed and we wanted to check in a day earlier. Having previously established contact with the general manager, I e-mailed him to see if there was availablity. No response. I sent a follow-up e-mail. Still, no response. I finally went to the Red Room Inn website to book the room for the night of August 15.

The room we had was filthy. See accompanying photos. While having a "newly renovated" room would have been nice, it is simply disgusting when one has to look at the dirt and debris on the carpeting in the room. Both the sink and the bathtub were not draining well. We told this to the front desk clerk twice and besides showing disinterest, did nothing to correct it. The sheets were never changed throughout our stay. On the morning that we checked out, we noticed a caked in piece of dirt on the bedsheet and it left us wondering whether the sheet had been changed since the last occupants of the room left. This is simply disgusting and unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We just came back from visiting Dutch Wonderland and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. After reading several reviews I was really worried about staying here until the most recent review posted “Awesome Experience”. The hotel wasn't too bad we didn’t run into any major problems thankfully. The room was ok. It smelled clean but it diffidently needed dusting in a VERY bad way. Linens were clean with NO stains. It seems the prior guest wrote on the amour where the television is in "Clean" so you can just imagine the amount of dust it takes if you can see that. The beds were comfortable and so were the pillows. The bathroom for the most part was clean but did noticed very small mold spots. The bathroom mat ( in the tub) was peeled back a little as well. The hotel has a small pool . We didn’t used it but it looked well maintained. When we first arrived we went to take a look and there was about 6 people in the pool and that was about enough to really enjoy. You really couldn’t swim but just to cool off was fine. Now the prior review mentioned a full breakfast. Unfortunately I found out the next morning that they only have a full breakfast on Sundays and the rest of the week it's just a continental breakfast. Which was nice. It included waffles (tasty), toast, muffins, bagels, cereals, biscuit with grave(my husband liked) coffee and juice. The fruit that was severed was apples which look like they were there for a while and 2 dried up oranges. So for the people that are big breakfast eaters (such as my family) you must go out to eat. This hotel is on a major road which you will find tons and tons of places to eat. We ate at Millers on the same road. Great food and great prices if you’re on a budget. I think if you’re looking for a weekend give away with your family this place will do anything longer you might want to reconsider your options.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Red Roof Inn

Address: 2307 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#13 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster Red Roof Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is a gem in the heart of Lancaster County’s Dutch Country. The hotel is made up of 95 spacious and elegantly appointed rooms. The recently updated property also features handicap accessible rooms, deluxe rooms and Jacuzzi suites. Location, location, location is the best way to describe the setting of this property. Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is ideally situated amongst the greatest Lancaster County theatres, attractions, eateries and shopping centers. All of this is fun and folly is literally footsteps or few moments drive away. With all of these things at your fingertips it is amazing to find the peace and serenity available on the property. A newly built deck overlooking an adjacent working farm is a pleasure on warm nights. A seasonal pool, ample on-site parking, season outdoor bar and many other wonderful amenities make this hotel, "The Right Hotel in the Right Location for the Right Price!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Lancaster Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Red Roof Hotel Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.