We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located; clean; but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Red Roof Inn

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2307 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Centrally located; clean; but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked this place on hotel.com for a decent price. Rooms come with a small refrigerator, a coffee pot which makes one cup of coffee at a time (coffee packets) and a microwave; in room coffee tasted terrible. Coffee available in the breakfast was so much better! Breakfast served every day; biscuits & sausage gravy; waffles; pancakes; fresh fruit; coffee (regular & decaf); juices; bread; small muffins; cold cereal and oatmeal. The front desk person informed me that eggs and other items are offered on weekends; our stay was during the week. The only glitch during our stay which repeated itself for 3 of our 4 night stay was: the first night we didn't have bath soap; The bathroom vanity comes with 2 sinks and the attendant left only 2 very small bars of soap (one of which we used in the tub area). The tub sported grab bars which made us feel very secure in the tub. The second night we had no towels and no coffee packets ; we went to the front desk to obtain towels and packets. On the third morning, I s\poke to the front desk attendant about the room attendant. The third night we had an abundance of everything; the fourth night when we returned to our room, the attendant had taken the used towels (which he/she only did if I piled them up next to the tv armoire) but not supplied clean hand towels. I spoke again to the front desk attendant who apologized profusely. I think we would return here even with the missing items problem; but, our stay would be much nicer if we didn't have to always ask at the front desk for missing items we were supposed to have.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    145
    69
    36
    59
See reviews for
164
150
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

nice, clean motel, fridge & microwaves in all rooms, good WiFi service in rooms; excellent location for day trips around Lancaster County; near the American Music Theatre ( great theater for concerts, etc ), restaurants within walking distance & lots of dining options nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA BEACH
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The check in process was fast and efficient. The front desk clerk was very polite and helpful. Overall we found the room to be clean and comfortable. We did have little problem with the cleaning people not having our room cleaned by the time we got back from afternoon shopping. We had to wait to take a shower to get ready to go out for dinner and the evening. We enjoyed the shopping and the sight and Sound which was close by.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the pool and was happy with the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Neat, clean and good value for money. Hot breakfast available if you get up in time! Lots of things available to do close by, from shopping outlets to fun parks. The negative was the AC was very noisy in my room. The swimming pool was great with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATEN ISLAND
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Enjoyed the holiday shopping and visiting Sight and Sound. The room was clean. Enjoyed the refrigerator, microwave and most of all the hospitality. For the money, the breakfast was more than expected. Only smell I encountered was from the horse manure which is outside not in the hotel. The whole Lancaster county smells like that because of the farms.Security was excellent. Going again for Veteran's day Weekend..Mgmt please provide a sitting chair in the rooms, desk chair not comfortable and everyone doesn't like to sit on the beds all the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This room had some nice qualities and som that are not so nice.

The good:
Large flat screen
Nice desk to work
2 sinks
Cozy atmosphere
Fridge & microwave

The bad:
Room had a musty smell. I was told that the ac would fix it. The only problem was that the air was on before I got into the room. The front desk person said he could send someone to pray the room but there was nothing else that could be done since they were full for the next 2 nights.

The tub handles were covered with mold. Of course the the guy who sprayed my room tried to tell me it was paint. You can judge from the pictures yourself. It doesn't look like ain't to me

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupa G, General Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Visionary23,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us. Also, thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn as the Brand of choice and for staying with us. We love working with every guest and enjoyed accommodating you as well. We are definitely saddened to hear that we your stay was short of our service. We have taken your feedback very seriously and made the necessary changes in staff, linens, and overall quality in order to better serve all of our guests including you. Please take the opportunity to revisit us and review our service a second time after giving us another chance to better serve you.

Yours in Travel,
Rupa G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was my first stay at a Red Roof Inn the Inn is an economy level motel the room was clean with coffee make, microwave and fridge a real plus.
large flat screen was a surprise!
the hotel is pet friendly and does offer a simple breakfast in the morning but it is short lived so if you are a late riser past 9am you are out of luck!
but the overwhelming HOTEL SMELL! Could have knocked you over when I opened the door kept door open for awhile since I have alergies, my eyes were effected and it really did give me some respiratory issues overnight we both woke up with puffy eyes.
So my suggestion to mgmt is to address the musty, moldy mist that seemed to take over my room and not quote the canned budget friendly economy button when the respond to review!
The Smelly room was a deal breaker for me otherwise it is on the high end of budget friendly economy hotels :) gave room a terrible due to the odor otherwise it was a above average for the cost. Sleep quality poor due to odor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharamG, General Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear pjl154,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, we work hard to provide the best items to you. We understand your plight. It is the 4th harvest of this year. Since we have a beautiful picture perfect setting (we sit adjacent to a farmland). I'm sure that gives you a general idea of what the odor is. We are excited that you have booked at the best lancaster hotel once again. We will do our best to serve you at our hotel standards.
Best Regards,

Dave Gandhi, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Red Roof Inn

Address: 2307 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#15 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster Red Roof Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is a gem in the heart of Lancaster County’s Dutch Country. The hotel is made up of 95 spacious and elegantly appointed rooms. The recently updated property also features handicap accessible rooms, deluxe rooms and Jacuzzi suites. Location, location, location is the best way to describe the setting of this property. Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is ideally situated amongst the greatest Lancaster County theatres, attractions, eateries and shopping centers. All of this is fun and folly is literally footsteps or few moments drive away. With all of these things at your fingertips it is amazing to find the peace and serenity available on the property. A newly built deck overlooking an adjacent working farm is a pleasure on warm nights. A seasonal pool, ample on-site parking, season outdoor bar and many other wonderful amenities make this hotel, "The Right Hotel in the Right Location for the Right Price!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lancaster Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Red Roof Hotel Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.