We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Red Roof Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2307 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The stay at Red Roof Inn of Lancaster was excellent! We were checked in quickly and promptly and the room was very clean and in order. The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyGHMhotels, General Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear trapperdes,

Thank you soo much for a positive review. We strive really hard to provide the best product and service in this competitive market. We have slowly been taking market share and its thanks to such reviews that motivate our staff to work harder and better to best serve you and other guests.
I'm glad you felt we were impeccable in our cleanliness and service.

We are easily located walking distance to tons of restaurants, dutch wonderland, shopping, etc... We are the center of Lancaster. We are extremely glad you picked us as your choice of hotel.
Thank you again.
Yours in Travel,

Dave Gandhi, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    155
    75
    39
    64
See reviews for
174
161
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halfmoon NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Just got home from Lancaster. We are members and had stayed in other red roofs so didn't think to read reviews. The one thing I did notice was how clean the room was. The issue (and this may not be important to others): the room wasn't comfortable. When I am out and about all day and return to my room after dinner, I do not wish to sit or lay on the bed for 3 hours until bedtime. We had one "desk" chair, more like a dining room chair, not at all conducive to watching TV or reading. I did stop by the desk to ask for a second chair and was assured they didn't have any (but he would look- really? he didn't even take my room number), that they were renovating and were going to be getting couches. There were two lamps that there were no outlets for and there was no night stand on my side of the bed. (I used the desk chair to hold my glasses, bottled water, etc.) Again, this may seem petty, but when I pay as much as I did for Friday and Saturday nights I do not think comfort is an unreasonable request. When I return to Lancaster, and I will, I will not stay at this location.
The a/c was quite loud which was not an issue for us, but when people walked by, talking, we were able to hear them.
The cleaning crew were quite lovely and accomodating. The desk crew...not so much. When we left today (and why do I have to ask them to remove the safe charge from my bill when according to the literature in the room, it is complimentary?), the gentleman did not even ask about our stay! Guess it didn't matter!

Room Tip: Ask if thereare seats other than the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyGHMhotels, General Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Katdev,

We, the Lancaster Red Roof Inn Team, is glad to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness at the hotel. I noticed a combination of feelings in your review. We're saddened to read that you won't be back. We apologize if we have done anything to hurt our relationship. We strive very hard to make sure all guests are satisfied and provide them with comfortable/ clean room with invigorating breakfast. We would like to make an attempt once more. We only hear of problems when they are mentioned to us and try to fix it as soon as we hear them.
Thank You again for the review and feedback. We will work harder.
Yours in Travel,
Dave Gandhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ephraim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay and convenient to many restaurants and all the shopping areas. Beautiful lobby, wonderful front desk staff and a great breakfast in the morning. My only problem was they did not provide towels for the pool. You should also sign up to become a Red Roof Member because you get a lot of special deals by email!

Room Tip: Sign up to get special deals by email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyGHMhotels, General Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hi tab1754,

Thank you for a positive review and for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.We are always very delighted to know that our guests enjoy our facility as much as we enjoy working here. We create a fun loving atmosphere here at the Red Roof Inn of Lancaster.

Yours in Travel,
Dave Gandhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peckville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Booked a room and as soon as we walked in I felt uncomfortable.Going to our room, carpeting in hall was dirty. Our room was dingy and needed a painting. The bathroom tub mat was disgusting, and the carpeting needed a good vacuuming. What scared me the most was the bedding didn't look fresh. You know sheets look when you sleep on them, how they get all wrinkled......thats how they looked to me. They were so worn you could have seen through them. My husband and I both agreed to check out as fast as we could....never again. I would like to comment on the the man named John. He was very pleasant and understanding. He would be an asset to any hotel who is seeking a competent and congenial employee who is highly skilled in working with the public.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

it was the worst hotel ever stayed at, very dirty. people are un friendly. it does not meet the standered that they write about. will never stay again..please beware. ed gildersleeve

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJoyFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Hi Sir or Madam, Can you please give me more information in to the problems that occurred at the Red Roof Inn of Lancaster, I would like to investigate the situation and find out if there was something else that my staff and our Inn could have done to have made your stay even better. Please feel free to respond to this message or feel free to contact my at johnjoy@myghm.com I will need your name so that I can pull up your records of your stay. Thank You for your review and we apologize that your stay with us was not to the standard that we try to uphold.

John Joy
Guest Relations Manager
Red Roof Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Has bedbugs - told management, did nothing. Also, for the first time I left shoes behind and the hotel did not even acknowledge it. I hope my shoes make someone very happy as they were brand new leather. Bathroom was filthy, toilet stopped up, water slow in sink, styrofoam cups for coffee. If they had responded, I would stay again - not now.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJoyFOM, General Manager at Lancaster Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
After reviewing this Guest Complaint I personally started a full investigation in to the situation at hand. As a precaution we brought in a specialty team that investigated this guest and other rooms to make sure this claim was true. As a result the cleaning team expressed that there were no sign of bed bugs in this room or any other rooms that they had checked. They treated all of the matters to prevent them also as another precaution.

When guest sign in to the hotel you sign a registration card stating that we are not liable for lost or stolen items which the guest signs. If a guest calls and states that they lost an item and we research and find the item we ship it to the guest at the guest expense.

John Joy
Guest Service Manager
Red Roof Inn - Lancaster Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Pictures looked good but the room and bathroom was very very dirty. I am returning the end of May and will not even think about staying here. The inside needs to be redone to match the outside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Red Roof Inn

Address: 2307 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is a gem in the heart of Lancaster County’s Dutch Country. The hotel is made up of 95 spacious and elegantly appointed rooms. The recently updated property also features handicap accessible rooms, deluxe rooms and Jacuzzi suites. Location, location, location is the best way to describe the setting of this property. Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is ideally situated amongst the greatest Lancaster County theatres, attractions, eateries and shopping centers. All of this is fun and folly is literally footsteps or few moments drive away. With all of these things at your fingertips it is amazing to find the peace and serenity available on the property. A newly built deck overlooking an adjacent working farm is a pleasure on warm nights. A seasonal pool, ample on-site parking, season outdoor bar and many other wonderful amenities make this hotel, "The Right Hotel in the Right Location for the Right Price!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lancaster Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Red Roof Hotel Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.