We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lancaster Science Factory

The Lancaster Science Factory
454 New Holland Ave, Lancaster, PA 17602
717-509-6363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 57 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Throop, Pa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great for ages 4 thru 8. Many hands on things for them to do and all on one floor. Free parking also. Easy to get to off RT 30, just take RT23 south.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a few hours with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Exhibits are well thought out and interesting, good science content, geared for grade schoolers. Good for a few hours of fun for kids. Not a ton of exhibits but they are of very good quality. Very educational for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great break on vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We travelled with our 4 children ages 4,5,7 and 9 to Pennsylvania. The kids were getting overwhelmed with historical information and hiking so we decided to spend a couple of hours here. We have a museum membership with reciprocity so our visit was free. The kids had a blast playing with everything. My boys are very interested in science so this was perfect. It's not a big museum at all, but it was nice to let the kids run without worrying about them. If you have a reciprocal membership somewhere else, I'd highly recommend it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was excited to go to the Lancaster Science Factory after reading such positive reviews. However, my kids (grades 3 and 5) and I were so frustrated at the end of our visit we won't return. First, there was nobody there to explain each exhibit. There were cards at each station to read as you did the activity but it's impossible to read the card and observe your experiment at the same time. Second, two of the Light and Vision exhibits had bulbs missing or burnt out so we couldn't do the activities. Third, the Scope on a Rope wasn't working properly. We get better results looking through our EyeClops at home. Fourth, there were so many unsupervised children there we couldn't get to finish some of the experiments without a young child wrecking it by grabbing billiard balls off of the ball tracks, messing with the sand pendulum or wrenching a support off of the truss bridge while we were building it. Finally, the volunteers (who should have been on the floor helping guests) were sitting in the Build-and-Buy Kinex area sorting pieces. This place is great for a class trip or Scout outing where all of the children are in the target age group (grades 3-8) and there is a volunteer or staffer to guide them through the exhibits. Unfortunately, because there will undoubtedly be children younger than the target group there who do not understand what they (or other guests) are doing and there is nobody there to help you when you are on the floor I do not recommend going as a family on a day trip.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very nice science museum for children. My husband and I spent 2 hours discovering and playing with our two 7 year old boys. They loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lancaster Science Factory also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Lancaster Science Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lancaster Science Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.