We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile to See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Ford Plantation

Rock Ford Plantation
881 Rockford Road, Lancaster, PA 17602
717.392.7223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 29 Attractions in Lancaster
Type: Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Worthwhile to See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were impressed that we received a personal tour of this plantation. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us all about this Edward Hand who defected from the British army to join the Patriots. He was practicing medicine and became also Adjutant General. His older brother in Ireland had inherited their parents' estate. In the new country, Edward was able to build his dream house. When I entered that home the colors and the light made me think it was just build recently.

Edward was happy here, but died 8 years later, probably from an intestinal bug. His wife died not much later. His son John B. committed suicide shortly after that for some reason. Since then the house was considered haunted.

I was impressed how this house was build. The stairs crosses the view of one of their large windows. The reason for this window to be placed there was to give ample light in both the main hallway and the upper hallway. Ingenious! It's unbelievable how much light comes into this house from the outside.

It was a worthwhile tour!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review of Rock Ford Plantation. Your enthusiasm for what you learned as a result of your tour experience shines through! Thank you also for sharing the lovely photos which you took during your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Rock Ford and hope you will return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped by briefly at Rockford while on the way to another location. We walked the grounds around the house and took a few pictures. We did not have the time to go inside. That being said, if the inside is as nice as the outside, this place is surely worth a visit. We plan on making time for a return visit next year and taking the tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk around the grounds and sincerely hope you will return one day to take a tour of the inside of the mansion as well to learn more about the General Edward Hand and his family and the beautiful 18th Century artifacts contained inside Rock Ford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden 1770 Era Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

For visitors interested in 1770’s era homes this is for you. Excellent docent. Period furniture. Well preserved 1770’s home of Edward Hand (Adjutant General to George Washington). http://www.rockfordplantation.org/ for more information.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review of Rock Ford Plantation. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit again in the future or consider coming to some of the special events that we hold throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Plantation Home of General Hand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This historic circa late 1700's plantation home is located just south of Lancaster City, PA. There are tours given by guides dressed in period costume. It is also a wedding venue for casual weddings in the "barn". Come visit a piece of our American culture at Rock Ford!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you recommend our site to your friends and family. We appreciate your positive feedback about our historic house museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a birthday party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I suprised my husband for his 40th birthday. Great location. The only downside is the people who rent it. Sticklers for the time that you rent it for. You'd BETTER be cleaned up and out by the time you said you would!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are delighted that you enjoyed hosting your husband's 40th birthday party last summer at our historic 18th Century site.

All information regarding our rental facilities is detailed in the Rental Contract which is signed by all parties prior to an event. Due to the number of educational programs that are scheduled at the museum throughout the course of the year, Rock Ford Plantation greatly appreciates when renters adhere to those specifications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Ford Plantation also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Rock Ford Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Ford Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.