We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Factory Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cork Factory Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cork Factory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 New Holland Avenue, Suite 3000, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel is clean and nice however you can hear the room above you, not sure why. The breakfast was a little disappointing the first morning of our 5 day stay. The restaurant floor was sticky. The buffet was missing plates and food was empty. I had to ask a server for plates and after 5 -10 minutes they arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    116
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
73
114
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all , we would like to point out that The Cork Factory is a very beautiful hotel , well situated near all the main attractions ( Amish farmlands, Hershey park, ....). The rooms are nicely decorated and the breakfast is ok . We were however really impressed by Pam at the reception! We forgot our passports in our safe ...when only realized when we arrived in New York. Pam suggested to take them with her to Connecticut (our next stop) during her free time so we did not need to do extra traveling and all worked out fine in the end. We were really very happy she did this for us. Thanks Pam.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Cork Factory Hotel (and conference center) is located less than five minutes from downtown Lancaster. As the name suggests, the hotel once was a cork factory. The conversion was magnificently done, preserving many of the structures original features while adding modern amenities. The hotel boasts a bar and restaurant as well as a "baker's table" for coffees, teas and goodies. Local pubs and breweries are walkable. Rooms are large and the fourth floor was very quiet. Rooms on the second floor may be subject to occasional noise as guests use that entrance to the hotel's ballroom.Staff is quite helpful and rates are very reasonable. Parking is onsite and free. The only negative -- and it is not major in view of the number of floors and conveniently located stairwells -- is that there is a single large elevator.

Room Tip: Room 410 was spacious, quiet, and near the elevator and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A friend and I were on a shopping expedition in the Lancaster area and decided to try a different type hotel. We found the Cork Factory and her sister actually stayed there over the w/e and we arrived on Monday. It seems like weekday and weekend experiences differ dramatically.
During our stay it was very quiet and the room was well appointed, attractive and very comfortable. We had 2 double beds and a lovely new bathroom. We were pleased with the accommodations. We arrived about 8:30-9pm and at check in asked about the bar and the fellow showed us a lovely bar down the hall. We told him we would go drop our bags off and come down for a night cap. Looking forward to relaxing with a night cap in the lovely bar area never became a reality! We got back downstairs (about 10 minutes after check in) to find the bar closed!!!! I asked at the desk what happened? He said oh if it seems slow they just close it. I reminded him we said we were returning in 10 minutes for a night cap. He just sort of shrugged. This did not make us happy. THAT IS POOR MANAGEMENT. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. Some danishes, muffins, dry cereal. Personally I wouldn't waste my time at breakfast here. I will however stay here again during the week without any expectations of the bar being open designated hours or rushing to get to breakfast.
My friend's sister had a different experience as they attended a wedding so they were subject to a lot of noise in the building along with a lot of people. They left earlier than scheduled due to the noise and crowds. So....since they are a catering facility and you are looking for a quiet getaway just check to see how many weddings they have on a w/e you plan to go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great hotel, and being that it is a former cork factory, it has a lot of character. Everything about the hotel is really nice, although the sound proofing between rooms could be improved. This hotel also is located about 15 minutes from the Amish Country and about ten minutes from Penn Square.

Room Tip: Very nice complimentary continental breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am glad to say that we had a great four night stay at the end of July at this hotel. I have read some of the negative reviews and we did not experience any of the bad things that some people have stated.

We had a 1st floor room, which was extremely quiet. It was a large room, with 2 queen beds and plenty of room for 4 people (2 adults and 2 teenage kids). The bathroom could have been bigger, but the room was extremely clean and had everything that we needed.

The continental breakfast was exactly that, a basic breakfast, but was very nice. The breads and pastries were not just Costco type like you see in other hotels, but nice pastries. Nothign to rave about, but in my opinion, nothing to complain about either.

We found most of the front desk staff to be very nice, and helpful. There was one front desk person (female) that was not as pleasant, but the other workers more than offset her with their congentiality.

Our only issue was parking... it was very busy while we were staying and sometimes parking was an issue. Other than that, we had an excellent stay.

While we were there, the rock band, the Script was staying there as well. Usually successful touring bands like to stay in convenient hotels, that are quiet, roomy, and where they can have some privacy. We felt that this hotel did exactly that.

Room Tip: We stayed on this first floor and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpelveld, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The idea of a hotel in a factory worked out very well. The location, building, rooms and decorations are very nice. The room was good, only the AC was a bit too noisy. But, when we arrived at the breakfast around 9 (breakfast till 10), most of the food was gone and there were almost no refills. Somebody asked for a knife, but instead of a knife she got an attitude from the waitress. When we checked out I mentioned that the breakfast was not acceptable (I only ate cakes) and that the attitude of the staff at the breakfast was unacceptable, they didn't seem to care about this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cork Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cork Factory Hotel

Address: 480 New Holland Avenue, Suite 3000, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cork Factory Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cork Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Factory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.