We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Lancaster Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Lincoln Highway E, US Route 30, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Wilkes-Barre PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Quick Lancaster Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel on a travel site where I was unable to choose my exact hotel. The hotel is ranked at 3 stars which it should not be. This hotel is 2.5 stars at best.
The hotel is located on the end of Route 30 that starts the busy Lincoln Highway. It's a very busy area and traffic tends to back up on this section of highway. It is located between a value motel, coffe shop, 24 hr gas station and storage units. It is conveniently located if you are heading to the outlets, but has no Lancaster charm or beauty. I prefer to stay further East on Route 30 where you can see the beautiful open fields and farms. Our room had a view of the garbage area of the 24 hr gas station which is always very busy.
The breakfast was good and the room was a nice size. However, the hotel smells of bleach. The sheets on one of our beds had stains in them that I hope was just bleach stains. They did not change the sheets during our stay even after my daughter spilled juice in her bed.
This hotel does not have a swimming pool. You can pay $12 a person to go over to the budget motel next door to use the indoor waterpark. The waterpark is nice once you walk through the smelly motel. I do not recommend using the budget motel's regular pool that you can use for free.
Staying here did not feel like we were staying in beautiful Lancaster.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I would like to apoligize if you found the location of the hotel not to your expectation however as noted we are located near shopping areas and Dutch Wonderland and traffic can be heavy at times. The smells again apology, but the cleaning supplies are at times abundent but usually just during the day when deep cleaning the public areas. I would hope you do come and visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    186
    86
    24
    17
See reviews for
277
147
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pros - room was clean, whirlpool tub was nice, staff was friendly, breakfast was so-so (nothing spectacular), location was close to most attractions (outlets, dutch wonderland, etc)

Cons - understaffed (no one answered the customer service phone so if I needed assistance or had a question then I had to walk to the front desk and wait about 15 mins for some one to come - this was true for check-in), pool at budget inn was disgusting and run down (it's a disservice to refer customers there), equipment in the fitness room was broken and didn't work properly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope your visit could be improved in the future. I would like to explain that there is proper coverage, however we do need to catrer to many guest as they stay at our hotel requiring us to step away at times. If your wait was that long, rest assure that is not commen. Also with the fitness equipement, I do have parts on order for that treadmill, it does get a lot of use and at times repairs are required, i do apoligize for that. I can assure if you were to return you would enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Good: $109 a night for two queen beds, flat screen tv, refrigerator, microwave and free breakfast... virtually unheard of without a group rate, definitely a bargain.
Streamlined spotless and well appointed lobby with a warm helpful staff.

The Bad: Scary dilapidated former Howard Johnson's that shares the parking lot is cropped from the online picture. Largest stain I have ever seen on a rug when opening the door to our room. Hotel serves a large number of families with small children attending area attractions so permanent stains, marks, and smudges, are abundant. Expect kids in the whirlpool at night, to view tired business travelers yawning at 6AM because the kids next door cried all night, and you'll need to request your own kids wear shoes while in the room. The breakfast is stale and pale.... but what can you complain about for the price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I would like to apoligize for your somewhat un-pleasant trip with us. I would like to state that during the summer months Lancaster is a tourist destination bringing families to see the Dutch Experience and Dutch Wonderland. We would have graciously moved your room upon request if the childern next to yopu were too loud. I agree the price is right and would like to add that we are a busy hotel and on a rotation clean room carpets on a weekly basis (if we did not get to your room in time im sorry) and the entire hotel carpets are do a set schedule. I would hope you would give us another chance and we will make every effort to place you in a quiet area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great hotel. Clean, modern and comfortable rooms. Average hot breakfast buffet, crowded but that is because it was the weekend...opted to walk take short walk to Friendlys the second morning. Has a hot tub and fitness room (didnt get to use, but looked nice). 1 mile to Dutchwonderland, lots of restaurants and shopping very close. Friendly staff too. If they had a pook it would have been perfect :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
In response to your paper thin walls, I feel that they are agaquet. Please understand during the summer months we do have a lot of childern and families staying with us and the children do get excited. In the future id you would return we can assure we do have quiet areas in wich we can accomendate that request. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel was clean. The breakfast wasnt that great, just basic. The one complaint that we had is that the walls and door are really thin. We heard hall noise clearly all night and our neighbors next to us. Would not stay again because of this. Had to turn the air on high to try to drain out the noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
gain as I had explaines to another guest we are a hotel located near Dutch Wonderland and we do cater to a lot of families during the summer. For that I am sorry. If you were to returs we do have rooms on upper levels which are a bit less noisy. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

this past weekend my wife and I spent the night in lancaster,pa. the motel wingate was a very nice motel centrally located to all of the attractions in the area. the room was well kept and the breakfast was a nice touch. the only downfall of the motel is they dont have a swimming pool on the property, but they have a hot tub and excerise equipment. The staff were very friendly and the service was good. checking in and out was a simple task. price for a room is very reasonable and the beds were comfortable. if you are in the area this is one place you should consider staying at

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you on your feedback regarding the hotel and the staff. Yes we are close to all attractions and cater to both business travelers and families. Please come back and stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nice clean hotel. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the temperature was perfect. Many of the hotels in the area look old and run down, however this hotel is new and clean. The breakfast was decent and overall a good deal for the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. Would recommend and definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I thank you foro your nice review. We do cater to guest for Sight and Sound as well as other theaters within the area. We do have a full hot breakfast everyday and rotate the menu for those guests that are staying for more then one night. This is a great value and runs daily from 6am to 9 am and weekends till 10am. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country

Address: 2110 Lincoln Highway E, US Route 30, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Lancaster / Pa Dutch Country Hotel Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.