We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Secret Garden
Save Saved
You added The Secret Garden to your Saves list
445 West Chestnut Street, Lancaster, PA 17603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Smithville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Last minute trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had an unexpected trip to Lancaster and were delighted to get a room at the Secret Garden. The inn keepers are the best we've had yet. They were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the red and gold room on the third floor. The room was charming and well appointed. The only down side was that your bedroom and private bathroom are separate. The breakfast was superb and seconds were offered but only one of us took them up on it. We had morning glory muffins, garden quiche, potatoes, and a fresh fruit cup. The garden and front porch are inviting and covered with blooms. When we came back from dinner Amos had the chiminea and torches lit for us. True hospitality. My husband loved this B&B. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mgarr, Malta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Marianne and Amos are the most wonderful and genuine people you could ever meet. We stayed in the Tropical room for 4 nights, everything was spotlessly clean, the decor and furnishings gave the room an exotic twist, the bed was extremely comfortable. We looked forward to breakfast every morning, not just Marianne's amazing cooking, but chatting to the other guests. There are complimentary refreshments available at all times - tea, coffee, chilled drinks, sweets and chocolates, also a wide variety of toiletries. We did not have a problem with the curtained toilet area as everything had been done very tastefully. Marianne has a thorough knowledge of the area and Amish community which enabled us to maximise our trip by visiting authentic Amish farms and businesses. We hope that one day we will be able to revisit from the UK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a fabulous 2 night stay in the Tropical Room as part of a 2 week trip. Marianne and Amos were very gracious hosts and the three course breakfast was phenomenal. The location was ideal for walking to downtown Lancaster despite the torrential rain we experienced! One morning we whiled away 3 hours with Marianne who provided a fascinating insight into Amish life. We also found her warm words at grace before breakfast each morning both emotional and inspirational.

Out of the 6 B&Bs that we stayed at during our holiday this was by far our favourite, purely because of how welcome we were made to feel. Thank you Marianne and Amos!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent one night at the Secret Garden. It's located on a beautiful street with historic homes close to downtown Lancaster. Marianne and Amos are excellent hosts and the breakfast was extremely yummy. The other guests were very friendly and interesting to talk with. We stayed in the Tropical Room. The bed is really comfortable and it's a very homey room. My only issue with the room was that the tub is part of the room and the toilet area is very small with only a curtain separating it from the rest of the room. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great place for a couple to get a way. We stayed in the tropical room. The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. our hosts Marianne and Amos were extremely friendly and warm. Marianne served us a beautiful breakfast. I would highly recommend spending a night or two at "the Secret Garden."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would absolutely stay here again and suggest it to anyone looking for a clean, homey and very nice place to stay. The owners were very accomedating and welcoming. The house, circa 1800s, is very warm and inviting. Make sure you have the potato omelet for breakfast.. Trust me you will love it!!
I would suggest the Garden Room, it was great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phildelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I couldn't be more pleased with this bed and breakfast. The home is gorgeous, a beautiful example of Victorian architecture maintained impeccably by our hosts. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Garden Room and it was spacious, clean, and simply divine. The hosts of this home have thought of every last detail to ensure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was amazing! Marianne prepared a potato omelette that will make your mouth water and the most savory bacon I have ever tasted. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Address: 445 West Chestnut Street, Lancaster, PA 17603
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a delightful bed and breakfast situated in the historic district of downtown Lancaster. We are within walking distance to the Central Market District, downtown shops and restaurants and attractions and only a short drive to other Lancaster County major attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.