We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Save
You added Fulton Steamboat Inn to your Saves list
Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Mantua, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here! The hotel itself looks just like a steamboat and the whole theme is carried throughout. Beautifully decorated rooms, clean bed, lots of thick towels, great grounds outside,central location. Nice staff, nice resturant inside. We did the huckelberry breakfast ..way too much food( I guess that's a good thing!!) and delicious! The hotel is a bit pricey but we think its worth it. Wish we had time to enjoy the beautiful indoor pool but we didn't...Would definitely stay here again! would definitely recommend it! L& L NJ

Room Tip: Stay on 3 rd floor,, no children allowed,, very quiet ,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences Aboard Lancaster County’s Most Unique Full Service Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations with us, and look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

Our outdoor areas are beautiful this time of year; we are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy them.
Don’t forget to join out Captain’s Club, which offers great discounts to those who travel with us frequently!

Best Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    222
    56
    22
    10
See reviews for
638
490
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I first stayed here in 2011 and returned in 2012. The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated and the service is great. This is a great hotel for families. At check in, kids get some wooden coins to exchange at the gift shop for bags of corn to feed the ducks at the pond. The grounds have a playground, gazebo and a nice pond. This is Lancaster, the heart of Amish country, so there are farms in the area. There is a bit of a smell of freshly fertilized fields, but it's not repulsive. I find it a refreshing change from smelling garbage, urine, cigarette smoke and all those lovely odors in NYC. I love how you can see the blue sky on a sunny day and clean air without all the pollution from cars, etc..There is an indoor pool, a tavern and a restaurant. I personally like the family style breakfast at the restaurant.

I found that the king size room was bigger than the double queens room(my point of view). The king room had the bed in a separate area and a small living area with a full pull out bed. The double queen just had the 2 beds. It felt a bit cramped. I will definitely be back. The rates are a bit high, especially during warm months. They do offer AAA discount rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We paid $179 + tax to stay here on a Friday and for that kind of money, I really expected more. Upon arrival, we did not receive the room we requested. In addition, the king sized bed was hard and uncomfortable with cheap, thin sheets. The pillows were flat, uncomfortable and obviously old. I woke up with such a terrible backache. The grounds had a horrible stench. I don't know if it was the fertilizer or what, but it smelled really bad. We had their "famous" Philly steak sandwiches for lunch at their restaurant that were actually not very good (rubbery meat). All in all, the place is very centralized and appeared clean for the most part, but definitely not worth the price we paid...not for what we got.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

We thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us. Our team is committed to providing our passengers with the highest level of guest services, hospitality, and comfort, and I apologize that we uncharacteristically fell short on this occasion.

We recognize mattresses are truly an amenity of preference, and are surprised to hear of your discomfort with our Serta Perfect Sleepers as we typically receive rave reviews from our guests. In the future, please do not hesitate to dial -0- from your in room telephone to contact a Front Desk Representative who will be willing to assist you, and improve upon your comfort level.

Our setting amidst Lancaster County Farmland most commonly is recognized for its serene environment, and convenient location near Lancaster’s most popular attractions. However, our neighboring Amish Farm certainly has a pungent way of reminding us just how close we really are! We do appreciate your constructive comments, and I am confident our management team will utilize your feedback for the betterment of the property. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fulton during future travels to Lancaster County, and thank you once more for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed there while visiting Lancaster County. My daughter who is 7 years old had a fantastic time. They have fishes and ducks and my daughter loved feeding them. The playground is also fantastic and she really wanted to stay there longer than we had planned for. Our special thanks to Scott. He was very nice to her and helpful to us also. When we forgot our cell in the lobby and were playing in the playground, he took the effort to come out and give our cell. If we go there again, we will definitely stay there again !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here April 19th and could not have asked for anything to be any better. We were welcomed and checked in quickly and were on our way. We had one of the 3rd floor (top) Sun Deck King Rooms which is exclusively for adults only. The room was appointed in the very best of furnishings which resembled what a person might have found back in the day of the riverboats. The room was in the best of shape and clean. The bed felt great and we had a great nights sleep for we honestly never heard a thing. We both talked how that we had never heard anyone or anything while we were in our room. The in-room refrigerator came in handy. The outside area was nicely trimmed with a children's play area and fire pit. The Bartender (sorry, didn't catch his name) makes for great conversation and drinks. We didn't use the restaurant on this trip but it looked inviting. The pool area has an adult only period from 10:00-12:00am.

We will most definitely stay here again when back in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences Aboard Lancaster County’s Most Unique Full Service Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations with us, and look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

Our SunDeck Rooms offer our Adult Passengers very unique and relaxing accommodations. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourselves, and look forward to your return. If there is anything I can do to help you plan your next visit, please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We arrived at steamboat inn the night before thanksgiving and immediately loved the novel nature of this hotel and it's great location amongst genuine Amish settings. This little two night stay formed part of a four week trip to the US with this part being a road trip between New York and Washington. Just loved every aspect of this hotel. Staff were very friendly upon our arrival and check in. Asked for a ground floor room which was fine. Rooms were perfectly adequate for a family of four. Had breakfast in the restaurant on thanksgiving - again great staff and enormous servings for breakfast! Looked out the window to see numerous beautiful buggies driving along the road. Loved it! This location is perfect for all the nearby quaint little villages and to numerous antique/bric a brac outlets and to Amish attractions and roadside stalls and covered bridges.
I was fascinated by the modern life meets Amish life - ie massive shopping outlet centres on the main road less than 500metres away and then just off the main road seeing countless buggies. This fulfilled my desire for this aspect of the trip perfectly and the steamboat inn was a big part of that.
Also the garden/pond setting was very pleasant and the kids loved the playground.
We loved the Black Friday sales too and we were easily able to walk to one of the outlet malls from steamboat inn - a big novelty for this Aussie family experiencing thanksgiving for the first time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We checked in on a Thursday night and found the room to be well appointed but a little small for us. My wife and I are tall but not heavy and found that starting with the bathroom every room was narrow. The bathroom sink and the adjacent sink in the little room next to the bathroom were low to the ground and we had to bend a bit to get close. The tub was very narrow and the water so soft that you never felt the soap was rinsed off. The tub got very slick and I fell out backwards bouncing off of the toilet breaking the seat and bruising my ribs pretty well. We found out when we reported this accident that some bathrooms were being converted to non-skid tubs but not ours and we had to use a towel in the tub until 2 days later we found that they had mats but the Mgr never told us or offered one. On our second day the room had not been cleaned or changed out even though we left the room on all days by 11:00 a.m. The Mgr never showed any interest in my problem with the fall other than supposedly checking to see the damage caused by my fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

We thank you for sharing your most recent unfortunate experiences with us at the Fulton Steamboat Inn. Our team is dedicated to providing the highest level of guest services, hospitality, and comfort; and we apologize that we uncharacteristically fell short on this occasion.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the less than satisfactory maid service during your stay. We strive to maintain high standards for all of our guest rooms and I can assure you that we will correct the issue.

We truly appreciate your feedback, as it is through our guest’s comments, and observations that we will continue to improve our accommodations. We will utilize your feedback for the betterment of the property, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fulton Steamboat Inn again soon.

Kind Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#15 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Steamboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.