We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the steamboat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Steamboat Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fulton Steamboat Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“loved the steamboat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

adorable, immaculate motel in a great location! newly renovated and very accomodating staff pool nice and clean but small hot tub nice coffee in the am and cookies and lemonade in the afternoon nice touch nice grounds w/ playground, pond w/ ducks and koi would definatly stay again if in the area nice restaurant bar in motel w/ good breakfast

  • Liked — newly renovated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    220
    56
    22
    10
See reviews for
637
489
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Overall a very nice place to stay. When we pulled up my husband was a bit put off by the hokkie "steamboat" theme but that was why I booked this hotel. The soundtrack playing outside with the sound of owls, crickets and an occasional steamboat melody was perfect in my opinion. When we entered the lobby the theme continued with the decor. My husband commented this hotel would be a perfect venue for a murder mystery weekend. It had that old victorian look and feel. When we entered our room my husband and I were both pleasently surprised by the furnishings, cleanliness, size . Our usual choice for hotels are chains (Marriot, Holiday Inn, Hyatt). We enjoy the room service, in room movies and pools. But the Lancaster area didn't seem to have any with all the above ammenities. The rooms at the Steamboat looked like they could have been in a Hyatt but lacked the ammenities. With the restaurant downstairs an evening and morning room service would have been ideal. The room also had great plasma TVs but limited cable channels.

The duck and koi pond was a great distraction for my 3 year old daughter. We ate in the restaurant and did not experience the slow service but it wasn't that crowded. We had seafood and steak and it was decent.

I would stay at the Steamboat in the future and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — theme
  • Disliked — not many amenities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed 2 nights at the Fulton Steamboat. Check in was fast & friendly. The room was a comfortable size with bunk beds, 2 sinks, flat screen tv, fridge & microwave. Everything was very clean & the room was attractively decorated.

The indoor pool & hot tub were great although very small. The playground and duck pond outside were also nice for the kids. We really liked the Steamboat & will definitely stay again. Do not hesitate in staying here. However, avoid the restaurant. The food was fine but the service was incredibly slow.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location & price
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We did enjoy our stay very much- a great location for the activities we
planned. Our room was excellent and the service courteous. Our two-year old loved feeding the ducks and fish and the playground; we enjoyed watching her have fun. Staying two nights didn't give us a chance to enjoy the pool and game room so next time we will stay longer. Thank you for a very nice stay we hope to visit you again.

Signed,

Vacationers from Williamstown, NJ

  • Liked — Ammenities
  • Disliked — noise from unattended children in hallways at times
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Very welcoming staff. Beautiful room and spotlessly clean. The cookies and lemonade served in the afternoon are great. The grounds of the hotel are lovely too.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We visited Lancaster with our 3 young children and stayed at the Steamboat. This hotel was extremely clean! Great rooms with very comfortable beds, the hotel and rooms were decorated very nice. All in all a great motel. My only complaint was the size of the pool (indoor, no outdoor pool), and the lack of a common area, there was really nowhere to sit as the lobby was in the hallway. There was a bar across from the front desk that looked very nice but remained empty the entire time we were there, perhaps that should be the lobby.

The restaurant had good food but the service was lacking (perhaps a bad day). We waited nearly 10 minutes just to be seated.

Must mention the cookies and lemon aid every afternoon, a nice extra.

Located in a great location, the hotel was a great choice, we would return.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — small pool, no sitting/common/lobby area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

This was our second stay at the Fulton Steamboat Inn, and, both times, I have been pleased with the rooms and service. This past time, I was particularly impressed with employees there. The front desk area was well-staffed, and provided us with cookies and lemonade. The manager personally greeted each guest. When I asked him if it would be difficult to get a breakfast reservation, he instructed me to find him if I had any problems and he would make sure we were seated. He even offered to personally deliever breakfast to our room, despite the fact that the hotel does not offer room service!

Once we were settled into the room, an employee spotted my 4-year-old son in the hallway and came by with a coloring book and crayons for him. My son also enjoyed the indoor pool, the playground outside, and the duck and koi ponds.

All in all, it's a nice place to stay. The rooms are clean and well-stocked, and the location is very convenient. It's a very short drive to Dutch Wonderland or stratsburg railroad. I have already recommended this hotel to others looking for a place to stay in Lancaster, and plan to return to it next year.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#15 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Steamboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.