We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming a Tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Steamboat Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fulton Steamboat Inn to your Saves list
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Becoming a Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We live locally and have been using this hotel as a birthday weekend getaway for my wife's birthday. Stayed this time Feb 8-10. Might have to start thinking about mine as well! As usual, the third floor room was awesome. Very clean, large room with very comfortable bed. The rooms on this floor are adult only and have a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Also a patio. Just a wonderfully quiet and restful place to stay. Entire property is beautiful and full of great extras like fishpond, great landscaping , inviting and enjoyable restaurant. Very cozy. Bill is great entertainment on Fri/Sat. Lots of fun.
Arlene in gift shop is the best. Very friendly and enjoyable to talk with. Great business person. The pool area is nicely done with a great whirlpool. Great food in the tavern as well. When you consider all the activities, shops, restaurants in the area, it is the ultimate location. Will keep coming back again. One little suggestion I would make is to move the microwave/fridge and coffeepot out of the closet into the room somewhere. A little awkward in there and robs closet space. And the lights in the bathroom are dull. But that's very minor compared to the overall superiority of this property. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: For couples third floor a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    220
    56
    22
    10
See reviews for
637
489
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife & I have been coming to the Fulton Steamboat Inn for approx. 25 years. We started staying there when our kids were very young. It attracted us because of it's "Steamboat" appearance, as well as being close to a lot of attractions (mainly Dutch Wonderland). It also offered bunk beds in the rooms, which our kids loved. Over the years, our kids have gotten older, so we moved on to other hotels in the area. However, we recently re-visited this hotel and realized how much we missed it. In fact, it is even nicer than it was before. It appreas that they have remodeled the rooms, and upgraded a lot of the ammenities. It was very clean, and the staff was extremely professional, friendly & helpful. We are soon-to-be grandparents. Not only will my wife & I enjoy coming back to the Steamboat for us, but we are so looking forward to bringing our grandkids back to create new family memories. If you haven't tried the Steamboat Inn, you should give it a try. It is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second visit to the steamboat inn. Exceptional place to stay. Stayed 2 days and nights this time and the adult third floor is beautiful. Dining room is great and the food is wonderful. I recommend the roast beef. My wife and I have stayed at many hotels over the years and this one is in our memory forever!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We wanted a hotel close to the American Music Theatre as we had an evening show there and didn't want to do the hour-plus drive home that same night, so we selected this inn. I wasn't expecting much..........thought that it could be a bit tacky, staying in a hotel that looked like a steamboat, but I was SO wrong!

The inn really did resemble a steamboat..........the halls, the decor, the rooms, etc. We loved the music that was piped into both the restaurant and the halls of the inn......... it added to the ambiance of being "on the ship".

The room was fine (larger than we anticipated), but thought that a bit more thorough cleaning could have been done as we found a Snickers wrapper in the nightstand drawer and several bits of wadded-up paper under the armoire that held the TV and refrigerator. Nothing that made us feel uncomfortable....just thought that a better job could have been done.

The pool was on the small side, but travelers were definitely taking advantage of it. We looked at it several times during our stay and there were always lots of people in it.

The inn had a charming tavern area for drinks or a casual bite.........definitely a plus!

We have rarely had good luck with the food in restaurants that are located within hotels, but we decided to try Huckleberry's for both dinner on Saturday night and breakfast on Sunday morning. Both meals were good. In fact, our dinner there was great!!!!!!!!!! Bob, our server, recommended the Crab Cakes Dijonnaise and the Filet Mignon. Both entrees were excellent!

Our breakfast meals were also good...........I had an omelette and my spouse ordered the Cinnamon-Swirled French Toast. Our only complaint was that it took well over a half hour to receive our meals.........and we were the first couple in the restaurant that morning. Several couples who arrived later than we did received their eggs, pancakes. etc. much earlier than we got ours, so I don't know what the issue was. We were told that omelettes took "a bit longer" to prepare, but over a half hour? I don't think so.

Another concern that I might voice is that the restaurant is small...............how do they handle the larger crowds when the weather is more conducive for traveling?

That being said, we would definitely return there for future visits. The location of the Steamboat Inn is perfect for those visiting Dutch Wonderland, the outlets, and any of the sites in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our third stay at the Inn. As usual, our room was very clean. Cleanliness is a big deal for us. The ambience of this Inn is just right for a couple seeking a tranquil spot by taking a room on the third floor Sun Deck that is reserved for adults. After two days of whirlwind activities and shopping in the Dutch Country area, the Inn was our "home away from home" that refreshed us with an attentive staff and good food in a charming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Third Floor Sun Deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything good that has been said about Fulton is true in spades. Stayed 2 days ago and the fireplace in the luxurious 3rd floor rooms with the snow falling was really romantic. The staff and the bartenders are outstanding, the pool was warm and inviting. Look for the "cookie lady", she just adds that much more charm. Have stayed here 4 times and will be back in April. A winner in every regard!

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor adult area. Fireplace and whirlpool well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

#1 place for wife & I from here on. Very pleased.Wonderful pool area & restaurant was great.Look forward to next visi to Lancaster.The check in was fast & friendly. Thanks again, Dan & Donna!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick 3rd floor-fireplace & wonderful bed & décor !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#15 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Steamboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.