We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square to your Saves list
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent the Labor Day weekend in Lancaster. As a Platinum member I had a room on Floor 19 one of the Concierge level floors and was given coupons for the breakfast buffet because the lounge is closed on the weekend. Great view of the city and surrounding area. Room was your standard US Marriott room but they all include fridges which is handy. For exploring downtown Lancaster this is a great location you can walk to the Market across the street and many restaurants, shops and galleries within a few blocks. Parking is a bit steep at $18 dollars but if you are there on the weekend you can find street parking around the hotel for free, just be careful of the streets that don't allow overnight parking and don't leave any valuables laying out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    257
    63
    16
    11
See reviews for
178
158
27
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good family hotel, staff were friendly with lots of advice on local restaurants etc. We self parked rather than valet, there's a walkway connecting the garage to the hotel so very accessible. Rooms reasonable size and those on the upper floors have great view.

A few minor things - we did have to change rooms, first room had very noisy ventilation system, I raised this with front desk, after talking to the maintenance guy they moved us to another room, it was slightly smaller but no notice even with the A/C on. We ate in the bar on one occasion, food was reasonable, portion size was large but not very many people so lacked a little atmosphere. As mentioned in earlier reviews in room Wifi was an additional cost however free Wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

I usually stay outside the city center as I come here on business, however as it was weekend I decided to stay downtown at this Marriott Hotel. This is a wonderful hotel, I was greeted with a welcoming smile and got a room at the top floor which has wonderful views over the city and country beyond. The rooms are of generous size and nicely decorated and fitted out. I was given access to the executive lounge which was a further bonus. I like the design of this hotel as the architecture was planned and build behind it's original old facade. Overall a great and wonderful experience with wonderful staff.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Did not arrive at the Hotel until 11pm. Staff was very polite and worked very quickly to get us checked in and to our room. Very clean Hotel with very comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Only 1 block from the Fulton Theatre. Stayed 5 days and enjoyed every day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I arrived at 2:00 am (it's now 2:30 am and I'm writing a negative review instead of resting bc I'm so upset) with 4 young children (including a 3 year old and an 18 month old) after an 8 hour drive to Cincinnati. I pulled up to the hotel to check in and was informed by the front desk employee that they could not valet park my car bc I had an SUV with a Thule storage box on top. He them unsympathetically informs me that it would not fit in the attached hotel garage and that I would have to park it at the king street garage down the street and walk back. I could not believe my ears as my husband was at home and I was traveling solo with the littles, so i only grabbed my keys and left bc my kids were exhausted and I wanted to get them to bed.

After walking while wearing a baby and pushing a stroller plus luggage back to the hotel in the middle of the night, I called the front desk to cancel my second night and the same uncaring and lazy employee answered the front desk and cancelled my second night without even asking the reason. I hung up on him and got right on my phone type this review. We are on our way back home to CT from a round trip road trip to indianapolis which included 7 nights stays in marriott properties in Pittsburg, Indianapolis, Cincinnati and now lancaster. This was the first time that I had this issue and such poor customer service. Other hotels had height restrictions and they would figure out where to park the car. When paying over 30 dollars for valet parking, I expect a certain level of customer service. I will be speaking with the front desk management in the AM, checking
out and taking my business elsewhere. I am a loyal marriott customer and we travel and stay at marriott properties for over 25 nights per year. I have never experienced such cold customer service and hope that our day exploring lancaster county is better than our experience here was. Stay away.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us as well as taking the time to provide us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As expected, this hotel is clean, comfortable, the staff is wonderfully friendly and accommodating, and the location is great if you're going to be at the convention center (which I was). Nice views of downtown, especially if you get a higher floor (triskaidekaphobics, take note: there is NO floor #13). They'll even validate your parking for you for a few extra days, which was really nice for me since I was only staying one night.

So, why only 4 stars? First, the internet access is an extra $13/day in the rooms. Seriously? Even McDonald's has free wifi, and for what one pays to stay at a Marriott, you'd think they'd toss that in gratis. Second, breakfast is extra. They have room service and nice restaurants in the building, and I was fed at my conference, but there isn't even a complimentary bottle of water in the room. Finally, the iron and ironing board were showing signs of age/disrepair...also, it smelled like someone dumped perfume in the iron's water chamber or something. I didn't feel right having either touching my clothes directly; I used a towel in between everything, which wasn't easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We usually stay at less expensive motels, so our experience here was enlightening. Our room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is in the heart of the city, but not noisy. Views are lovely of the historic downtown. The buffet breakfast was a nice amenity the desk clerk added for us (we stayed on a Sunday night so I think there weren't many guests that night. The town is walkable and there are interesting shops, galleries, and restaurants. The tourist office across the street offers an historic walking tour.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 36 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#17 of 36 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.