We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Downtown Lancaster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square to your Saves list
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Downtown Lancaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

In general, the Marriott Hotel chain provides travelers with comfortable lodging at a reasonable price. My wife and I have had only one bad experience at a Marriott and it was not this one. For us, the issue is a full service hotel versus one that is a step down i.e. Marriott Courtyard, etc. Actually, we prefer the latter. However, we made a Priceline bid on a hotel in the Amish area of Pennsylvania and much to our surprise the result was this downtown, full service facility.

Everything about the hotel was modern and comfortable. We opted for self-service parking that added $15.00 to the bill. Valet parking would have added another $18.00 - not worth it! Check-in was fast and pleasant. My Silver Elite status got us free Internet, which otherwise would have added another $12.95. The room was as expected - fairly large and comfortable, including the bathroom and shower facilities. After unpacking what we needed for one night, we went downstairs to the lounge which that night had $2.00 Margaritas. Congrats to the bartender - absolutely delicious! We seldom dine at hotels, preferring to sample local restaurants, so we declined to have dinner at the Marriott.

If you find it necessary to be in downtown Lancaster, PA, the Marriott at Penn Square would be a good place for a short stay. As for Lancaster, itself... Well, that is another story.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    210
    52
    12
    9
See reviews for
150
129
26
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here a few nights to visit Lancaster. it is a very nice hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. The property is in a great location with many restaurants, shops and galleries nearby. We saw an excellent performance of Les Miserables a week ago at the Fulton Theater that is down the street.

The beds were very comfortable and the rooms exceptionally quiet. The pool was very nice and relaxing. The workout room was very clean and filled with great equipment. Overall, we had a wonderful stay here and a fun time in Lancaster.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm currently staying here for a business trip. The hotel is in downtown Lancaster, within walking distance of bars, restaurants, antique stores, galleries. The hotel is 20 floors and towers over most buildings in the immediate area. I am a Marriott Gold level and have a room on the top floor of the building. The view is nice and open of the surrounding towns. The room looks recently updated weith modern colors, wall hangings. The bathroom also has been updated. The room is average size, quiet (request a room on a higer floor as it could be noisy as the street it fronts is the main street through the downtown area). The beds are a little firm for my taste, I prefer the beds at SPG properties. The gym is a little bigger than typical for a hotel this size with nice updated cardio machines, and free weights. I did not use the pool but it looked very clean. The service in the hotel restaraunt is a little slow, although I'm a New Yorker and used to quick service. Overall, very nice property, and would stay here again if I need to come back to the area. Good option for business travelers and leisure traveliers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square two nights. Busy hotel, American Gold Star Mother conference and a couple weddings happening while we were there. Very clean hotel, room was very comfortable. Delicious breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Staff was helpful when we needed directions, etc. Walked downtown, which was closed off, and watched the fireworks on Friday evening. At night you could hear the city traffic but you are, after all, in the downtown area. All in all, a nice stay.

Green Features: Separate container in room to recycle plastic water/soda bottles.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

As far as Marriott properties go, this is a gem tucked into a relatively small town. I have stayed here a number of times, beautiful lobby, nice bar/restaurant, great views from high floors. Have stayed for business and pleasure. A relaxing spot away from the strip malls of Route 30.

Room Tip: High floor facing West or North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Booked this room for a one night stay during Thomas the Tank"" weekend but I was there for my best friends wedding, and as they were staying at the hotel I figured it would be nice to be close with them. I've stayed @ Marriott before and knew exactly what to expect, great service, clean comfortable rooms and spacious bathrooms. However my best friends experience was a little different as they had their room paid for them which was to also include a bottle of champagne and some strawberries etc. for their first night as newlyweds, however there was some error and this did not occur. (disappointing to say the least) However! They did comp breakfast for their family the next morning in light of the mistake made earlier. Also just be careful with the charges on your card and be sure to know your rate before you book and sign in at the front desk! Great location to be in if you're in the area!

Room Tip: Higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family took a weekend trip to Lancaster and picked the Marriott because of the name. The location is great with many restaurants within a few blocks.
The room although very clean and we'll maintained had no air circulation. And the bathroom was very spacious had not AC vents which made it necessary to open the bathroom door to disappate the steam from the shower.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback, we appreciate it. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with an exceptional experience and if you would like to discuss your experience further please feel free to reach out to me directly at (717) 239-1600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.