We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We recently spent two nights here for a dance competition. The hotel lobby was beautiful with complimentary hot chocolate and comfortable seating and a piano playing. Rooms were very clean and beds were quite comfortable. The girls went in the pool on the morning we left and very much enjoyed. We were able to get free parking with AAA, something I'm not sure everyone is aware of. The only complaint would be the elevators. For a large event like a dance competition, there were times when the elevators were quite crowded and there were multiple times we had to walk (we were on the 8th floor and the event was on the 3rd floor so it wasn't too bad, we also walked to the pool on the 5th floor one time as well). You have to use your card key to press a floor above 4. But you can only press one floor with one card so when you have multiple people getting on the elevator each person has to use their card key for their floor it can be hectic. Often times there was not enough time to get them to work and we (and others in our group) found ourselves riding up and down trying to get to our floor. There were plenty of restaurants and cafes in walking distance and we did have the buffet for breakfast on Saturday (a little pricey for my taste). I would definitely return to this hotel in the future as overall I was pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    179
    49
    12
    8
See reviews for
138
111
24
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night to attend a gymnastics event at the convention center. If you stand in the beautiful lobby of the hotel, you are literally steps away from several convention center rooms. It's that close. No need to go outside at all. We are gold elite Marriott rewards members so we were given free parking and breakfast at check-in (thank you, Hal). We asked for and were given a later checkout time that really helped. Our room was nicely furnished, not very big though. We had a great view of the city from the 16th floor. As one reviewer previously noted, they were able to hear conversation through the vent in the bathroom. Our experience was conversation through the HVAC vent near the windows. Luckily, it didn't last very late, and we were able to sleep. This review should be 5 stars, but we did have an issue with the hotel restaurant - the Penn square grille. We arrived at 5:45 p.m. with 4 adults and 2 children. There were approx. 5 tables of diners, and the restaurant is large. The hostess asked if we had reservations. Hellooo-reservations? Well, of course we didn't have reservations. We had only arrived a few hours before, and this was the only restaurant in the hotel. The hostess quickly turned us away, even though the restaurant was mostly empty. She made no attempt to try to arrange something. Her only suggestion was to sit in the bar adjacent to the restaurant, which we did, but it was very, very noisy and crowded. We had to squeeze into a small booth with a small table. The food is okay, nothing special. Needless to say, we were disappointed, especially when we saw her seat smaller groups of people with no reservations. We probably should've spoken to the hotel manager, but we didn't. I guess it's because we received other perks that were very appreciated. If you have to attend an event at the convention center, this is the absolute best location. The buffet breakfast on Sunday is very good with a chef preparing fresh omelets and waffles. The pool is nice as well as the hot tub. The spa is very small with only 2 treatment rooms. We will definitely stay here again if needed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed on 19th floor and had access to Concierge lounge. It's not the best Marriott I've stayed at but nice. Concierge lounge could have better snacks but staff was very nice. Unstaffed in Lounge for breakfast but staff was friendly. Room was small but great views. Great location within walking distance to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Room & check-in experience good.

Stayed on concierge level. Breakfast experience in concierge lounge not great. Coffee kept running out, attendant was rude and filled up bacon ontaine with his bare hands (not washed). Told the front desk on checkout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were treated like royalty at this hotel and are already planning on another weekend stay. The spa was top-notch, we are hooked on hot stone massages!! The champagne and the unexpected addition of chocolate covered strawberries were the best! The concierge lounge was a nice place to hang out, we had a great conversation with the attendant. The pool & jacuzzi were well maintained, clean, stocked full of towels and was just a nice place to be. I've never been disappointed in Marriott properties, and this one is top notch! Special thanks to Hal (front desk), Colin (bellman), and the lovely attendant at the concierge!

Room Tip: The higher floors offer a great view of the surrounding city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here the weekend of February 16-18.The check in was fast and friendly. We had never stayed here before so was given free parking and breakfast. We ordered room service. I would recommend the chicken dinner and Caesar salad.The breakfast was freshly made at the buffetand tasty .This hotel was in a nice area ,clean and very effecient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel to attend nearby college function. Warmly greeted upon arrival by Bell Staff, answered various questions on parking and directions. Check-in was smooth with immediate room assignment and free "Whoopie Pies" offered at desk. Complimentary hot chocolate available in lobby on check-in day. Room was immaculate, in particular the bathroom. Hallways and common areas were clean. Used 'Self-Park' in garage around the corner. Easy access to hotel from 2nd floor of garage. Check-out was easy using TV service in room.

- Parking
If not included in rate, you must pre-pay using kiosks located in garage before
going to exit gate. Use same ticket for stay once validated @ front desk.

- Breakfast
Hotel only offerred Buffet Breakfast on Sunday of stay. Waitstaff stated kitchen
could only keep up with serving buffet and not individual meals. This was not
posted and only told to us when we were seated. Other morning full menu and
buffet was available.

- Lounge/Bar
Paid $40.00 USD for four (4) glasses of domestic wine.

- Hotel Location and Traffic Patterns
Hotel sits on Penn Square and streets leading to it are one way. Extra time is
needed to go around blocks to return to location. Driveway in front of hotel can
accommodate 6 - 8 vehicles. Use caution when entering/exiting driveway due to
pedestrian traffic.

Overall we had a great experience with only minor issues that you may want to remember when staying at this property.

Room Tip: High rooms have good views of downtown and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.