We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but staff needs upgrading..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Granite Run Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points!
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel but staff needs upgrading..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed in a two-bedroomed apartment of which they seem to have only six and are in high demand. The rooms are great, comfortable and clean. One of the bathroom walls needed a little work, but nice toiletries etc. Cleaning staff didn't clean very well and didn't replenish the coffee facilities provided, nor the toiletries. No newspaper on the first day either -- when I asked at the front desk the girl shrugged her shoulders at me. The pool is indoors with a open french doors to the outside and is very nice.

Breakfast is great and the sun-downer light meal (with free wine and beer) was a welcome surprise with good food being served.

We were there for four nights and on the last day requested a late checkout (by one hour) and they couldn't give us an answer -- "emm, umm, we're really full, we are expecting a lot of people, emm, ummm, eh...". Then bang on the checkout time they called staying we really needed to leave immediately and were very rude about it. The staff could use some training, but otherwise a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    87
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
146
47
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

So we visited PA this month and decided to stay at Homewood suites in Lancaster, PA. I chose this hotel for several reasons. The first is that pets are not allowed and we have a lot of pet allergies. Also the rooms are like mini apartments. My husband is a snorer and he needs to be separated from the rest of us to get some sleep. Our room consisted of a bedroom with two queen beds, separated by a door to the living area that had a pull out couch. We also had a kitchen with full refridgerator, microwave, dishwasher and cooking range. We received a free newpaper outside our room each day.
The next great thing was that our room price included a full breakfast each day. The breakfast was great. Daily it had cereal, fruit, yogurt, donuts, bagels , waffles etc., as well as changing hot menu items like potatoes, eggs etc. Not only that, but Monday to Thurs. nights included dinner as well. Dinner had one main item on the menu, but there were sides and a salad bar, so always got enough to eat. My husband was happy to see that there was an option of beer (or wine) with dinner as well included. There were complimentary beverages in the hotel all day long.
The hotel had internet access and a business center. One night we had trouble getting the access code. My older daughter was taking an online class and this was another reason we chose this hotel. But, we went down to the business center and asked another person staying at the hotel for the code. Apparantly the code changes at the beg. of each week.
We found the hotel to be very clean and the kids enjoyed the pool, basketball court and I enjoyed working out in the small exercise room.
The hotel is right off the highway and there was a few restaurants in the area. I noticed a chilis at the end of the street we were on. The hotel in Lancaster is located close to beautiful amish country. While we stayed at this hotel, we visited hershey park which was about 30 min. away. We also drove about an hour and a half to Gettysburg.
We would stay here again without a doubt. It suited our family perfectly. The price was a little higher than a traditional room in the area, but it was like a little apartment. You could go grocery shopping and not need to eat out. There were all kinds of pots/pans and utensils in the room. Also we stayed Mon-Fri and had 2 meals covered at the hotel. It was like an all inclusive stay. I believe we payed about 130. a night with AAA.
The hotel had a nice welcoming area as well with a fireplace and couches to relax on.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Spent two nights at this Homewood Suites. It is quite nice, with up-to-date decor and very livable suites. The desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was much better than the usual complimentary fare. Comfortable beds, great pillows, nice Neutrogena toiletries. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I spent a few days at the Homewood Suites with my parents and we didn't have any problems. Lots of families with kids so the hotel was often noisy...I'd recommend a room on the top floor because we heard kids yelling and running back and forth in the room above ours until after midnight on Saturday. Breakfast on Sunday morning was also a mess with no organization to the kitchen and kids running around underfoot (but this responsibility falls under the parents, not the hotel).

The room was clean and large compared to many similar hotels. We had a one bedroom suite with a large king bed in the bedroom, and a pull out sofa bed in the living area. The sofa bed wasn't made up but it was easy to pull out and put sheets on...the bed was SUPER uncomfortable however...the mattress is very thin and the metal support stuck into my back all night. I woke up in a lot of pain from sleeping in an awkward position in order to avoid the metal. Aside from that, the kitchen was great...having a fridge, microwave, and oven at our disposal was perfect so we didn't have to eat out every night.

All in all, it's definitely above average though nothing extravagant. It's only about a 10 minute drive from a lot of the Amish part of the county and also very close to downtown. I would definitely stay here again but again...would probably go for a room on a higher floor...and would try to get breakfast a little earlier before the obnoxious families and noisy kids begin to swarm.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Great location for Amish County sites, outlet stores and major highway networks Harrisburg Int Airport... including. Room was huge, very well equiped and very clean. Guest laundry was very useful for long term/international travellers.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I'm usually a Homewood Suites fan -- if there's one in the city I'm visiting, that's usually where you'll find me. This one was a surprising disappointment. The combination of low ceilings and thin walls meant you heard every neighborly sneeze. Two people I encountered at the front desk were ill-prepared to deal with customers. (One apologized for not being able to resolve an earlier problem, saying she'd been overwhelmed by the "crowd of people" -- I'd watched the desk while eating breakfast -- there'd been only one person who visited the desk before me!) The breakfast (which is usually enjoyable) was also nothing to write home about: lots of cheese dishes (which to me is not a good sign) and bacon that was translucent and tasteless. The location is also pretty far from most of the sites. For the price, you can probably find something that wouldn't leave you sitting in traffic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I would recommend this hotel, and I would definitely stay there again. The only thing I didn't like was the evening reception food selection, but there are plenty of restaurants around. The breakfast was good, the rooms were nice, and employees were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster

Address: 200 Granite Run Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Homewood Suites Lancaster
Lancaster Homewood Suites
Lancaster Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.