We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lancaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Lancaster to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Lancaster
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Greenfield Rd., Lancaster, PA 17601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“basic, with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Strikes out as a hotel with exceptional service. Pillows are not as comfortable as at Hilton and window air-conditioning is noisy. Overall, very good quality for budget hotel.

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    105
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
174
106
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New york city
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stay here every year on Memorial weekend with our son, now age 9. This hotel has been consistently excellent. It is very clean, conveniently located to Lancaster attractions but in a quiet location. The breakfast is very good, and it has a very nice outdoor pool. We have never had a bad stay here, and this year is no exception. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I have stayed here before and we always come back. The reasons are simple. Clean room,free hot breakfast and outdoor pool for the kids. The only thing with this stay is that the breakfast was stocked like it usually is....given it was mother's day and most likely a little short staff, I will forgive them ;) Nice people too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My family of 4 had a wonderful week long stay at the Hampton Inn. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Upon our arrival the staff handed us brochures and recommended local sites and restaurants and helped the kids get a cup of cocoa.
The rooms were clean. The breakfast had a wide variety and changed a little bit every morning. Hotel was as quiet as you can expect in a building with so many people. Excellent location for Lancaster attractions. Only minutes away.
My only "complaint" is that the room with 2 queen beds was a bit small for the 4 of us. Would recommend a suite for families especially during a longer stay.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My husband, infant son and I stayed here for two nights while my husband was attending a work commitment in town. It is a nice Hampton Inn overall - clean, good service, usual Hampton Inn amenities - though we had a few minor issues. Unfortunately, on our first night, 200+ Mary Kay consultants arrived around 11:30pm. As expected - and, understandably - there was some noise when they checked and moved in. However, the noise in the room next door to us quickly elevated to that of extremely loud. Both my son and I were woken numerous times despite having our traveling sound machine on the loud setting. It was so loud, at first I thought someone was breaking into our room and then perhaps there were some domestic violence issues going on (screaming, throwing things). When I called down to the front desk about an hour later, I was told about the group checking in. I said I completely understood noise checking and moving in, however this was above and beyond. The front desk clerk's response was a bit odd (made comments like, "well it's not wedding guests or children" - ?? I never implied it was - and "but it's 200 MARY KAY consultants" - what?? I don't care if it's Madonna, that level of screaming is just inappropriate). He didn't apologize but did say he would have the hotel security personnel come check it out. I'm not sure if that happened because the screaming continued until 2am at which point my husband got dressed, knocked on their door and asked them to quiet down (which they did, at least enough that we were able to sleep). I tell these details not to talk bad about the ladies next door who were just clearly having a fun time and didn't realize they were bothering others, but to share one, a disappointment in the hotel staff for not more directly addressing the problem (we heard others at breakfast the next morning express similar experience) and two, to let you know the walls are fire doors are thin so expect a good degree of noise to seep through. (I should mention we were on the top floor and towards the end of the hall.) Our second night was much better, though we still heard noise from other rooms.

The other "complaint" I would give is of the breakfast. Of course it is nice they serve a hot breakfast at all, but on the two mornings we were there, it was very poor. The hot offerings were tater tots and some sort of bagel with cheese and bacon that was very frozen food-like. Other foods were fairly unhealthy - sugar cereals, etc. They did have hard boiled eggs (which went quickly) and fruit. Of course, we don't expect everything to be healthy and fresh at a free breakfast, but we have had much, much better at Quality Inns, Residence Inns and even other Hampton Inns. For a nice hotel otherwise, they could do to improve their breakfast quality and selections to make it great overall.

Positives were as I said, nice overall, courteous staff, very clean and truly great coffee that was available all day in the lobby.

I would like to say we would stay here again, but to be honest, the breakfast was a big deal for us. We would probably try a similar level hotel that might have better breakfast quality and offerings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster_Hampton_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Lancaster during your recent stay in the Lancaster area. We certainly know that you have many choices when you come to Lancaster and we are honored that you chose our hotel.

We also appreciate the feedback our guests give us. It is a valuable tool we use to train our co workers. We certainly hope that all of our guests have a wonderful stay at our property each and every time but when those expectations fall short we want to hear from our guests so we can improve the next time they stay with us.

The service you were shown by our overnight staff was not at the level we normally offer at the Hampton Inn Lancaster. This incident gives us a great opportunity to do better and offer the kind of support our guests deserve when they report noise issues during their stay. With a large group checking in late at night we strive to place them all in the same area so we keep the disturbance to a minimum however the size of this particular group required us to place some of them near guests not associated with the group. In the future our staff will be more present in these circumstances to help keep the noise levels down that late in the evening.

We also appreciate the feedback we received regarding our breakfast. We do offer a hot item each morning and try our best to offer a large variety of items each day. Our hot item is normally rotated throughout the week so there are not back to back days that offer the same hot item. At times we run low on hot items for our breakfast and do replace them with breakfast items we may have used the day before. We know variety is very important to our guests and we do apologize for not being able to accommodate that each day. We will continue to fine tune our breakfast so each guest will have an enjoyable experience every morning they are with us.

Once again we appreciate any and all feedback we receive from our guest and we hope to see you soon at the Hampton Inn Lancaster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Nice, trendy, remodeled, comfortable, and roomy.

No complaints!

The Employees even gave me a gift when I arrived!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This place has been around for awhile but must have been recently remodeled as everything seemed new. The whole place seemed spotless and it must be well insulated, because when we were in our room, you could hear absolutley nothing outside the door. We were on the 4th floor. Breakfast was typical Hampton which is good. The desk staff seemed a cut above the usual as they were very nicely dressed in suits. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lancaster

Address: 545 Greenfield Rd., Lancaster, PA 17601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#4 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.