We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Checkers Bistro

Checkers Bistro
398 Harrisburg Avenue, Champion Center - Suite 700, Lancaster, PA 17603
+1 717-509-1069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Checkers Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 511 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Checkers Bistro has an eclectic menu, with American, French and Asian infuenced dishes. We are passionate about Food, Wine, Craft Beers and Liquor. We purchase as many ingredients locally that are in season. Are goal is to deliver a fine dining experiance in a friendly and consistent setting. We welcome your feedback through TripAdvisor and will respond to your comments.Live, Love, Eat at Checkers Bistro.
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We found this restaurant through tripadvisor and we were very pleased with our lunch. Meaningful crab in crab cakes and a great fish sandwich. The formality caught us off guard, but this only means we were pleasantly surprised. Good wait staff. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    40
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Something went wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Food was excellent when we finally got it after an hour and a half. Service terrible. Seriously think they lost our order but nobody ever explained or apologized.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“What can I say? WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

When we arrived I didn't know what to expect. The outside was deceiving. Once you walk in you are pleasantly surprised at the décor. Beautiful. The server was so attentive and very informative. She really knew her stuff!! She was such a great help in deciding what we would like. The food was so exceptional!! I am not sure about this, but I would think that the owner is also the chef. This person really has a gift! The sauces that were dished along with the food was sooo good! They do not just plate food, they create a piece of art! Thank you for this experience. It may be out of the way for you but it is well worth the trip!!!! I would like to go back to Lancaster just to go back to Checkers!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“If only they could go back to the old location...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I loved Checkers! But then they moved... We went last year for my birthday and it was such a lovely special evening. For that evening I could give them five stars. This year we went for my birthday, which was my first time in the new location. Unfortunately there will no longer be birthday dinners at Checkers. The food was still good, but for the price is should be. The new atmosphere is so disappointing. And the service was even more disappointing. They lost everything I loved about this place in the move and more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Food, service, ambiance all outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Haven't been to Checkers since it relocated. The restaurant is beautifully designed with a cool, modern ambiance. Service excellent start to finish. Food is outstanding. Tuna frites with a perfectly prepared large piece of ahi tuna, the wasabi aioli and tomato, red onion,
cilantro pickle garnish were a perfect combination with the tuna. Housemade frites tossed with yuzu soy vinaigrette were addicting. Coffee cured petite filet was delicious. Small plate of salt-crusted calamari was a generous serving, fine salt and rice flour crusted, served with hot and sour sauce that was a novel dipping sauce and a nice break from the typically served tomato sauce. Overall an outstanding meal and one of the best in Lancaster. Will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checkers Bistro also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Checkers Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Checkers Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.