We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Haven Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cove Haven Resort to your Saves list
Cove Haven Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50%!!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Penna
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“still love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went for my wife's birthday and had an awesome time. The place could use some paint but the people are what makes this place great. We are now in the forever lovers club and will be back again in October. Thanks to Mark our bartender, its so nice to be served by people who really like their job, it always shows. Thanks again

Room Tip: There are always specials being promoted, call to find out how to get a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Happy birthday, Mrs. schooner427! Happy to her you had an awesome time. I'll be sure to share your comments with Mark. Welcome to to the Forever Lovers Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    394
    156
    110
    153
See reviews for
2
1,000
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I returned from a great two day stay at Cove Haven in Lakeville. Going in, we already knew about, and expected the place to be dated and in the need of updating in the 70's decor, so that was fine and expected, we kind of had a laugh about our dated room when we got to it.
Let me start by saying, we had a wonderful time, and the staff couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. Our room was also kept VERY clean, even if dated looking. We had the Eden Apple Suite, and loved the private pool area, which probably was the most updated looking room in the suite with nice tumbled marble tiling, and beautiful attached sauna. The bedroom had a nice fireplace, and the bed was comfortable, even with dated 70's decor. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. The livingroom had the famous heart shaped tub. Carpeting was clean, even if dated looking. It was however time to replace the old disgusting couch with cigarette burn in it as well as the 2 chairs (I wouldn't have sat in any of them without placing sheet or something over them. But other than that, the room was spotless.
Oddly, the living room did not have any windows, even though was an outside wall, which we did find a little un-nerving...but I guess that falls into the "need of updating" thing we all know before we go there. It would be easy to poke a nice window in the "living room" wall and put room darkening drapes on them for those that like that effect. Outside the round buildings that house the Eden Apple suites have all the aesthetics of an air raid bunker with no landscaping, and nothing to make the exterior look attractive, along with aged AstroTurf on the concrete path around the building. Plant some deer resistant shrubs! (I know there are lots of deer there eating the landscaping, but they don't eat some varieties like Alberta Spruce, and other varieties, etc!!). It would so add to the aesthetics of these bunker type buildings to have a little landscaping and some upgrades to the exterior of the buildings. When it rains, the gutters just spew off the side of the roof in gutters that don't even go down to the ground.
Dinner was good both nights, nothing spectacular but definitely good and tasty. Sort of like "cruise ship fare", but average or better. The buffet is only offered when they have a large occupancy, which they didn't while we were there. Drinks are expensive, more than even an average bar, so bringing your own drinks to your room, and just having one or so at dinner would be advisable if cost is a factor). Also, the first night we didn't realize you would have to ask for a table for two otherwise they sit you at tables that hold 4 couples. Personally, for a couples resort, it was surprising, as we were there to spend time with each other, not meet other "new" friends, so feel they should tell you about that before seating. For the next night, we did ask for a private table with no problem at all, and both times for breakfast, so that was fine afterwards. While we had a good time even the first dinner with the "group", it was nicer the second night when we had our own table. I am sure that some people live for that sort of "socialization" (some seemed to enjoy it), but again, it is a "couple's resort", so it should be a choice you are given without having to "research" and ask for it as we did afterwards. Wait service was excellent each time.
First impressions mean a lot, and again, while the staff was top notch, the grounds do have all the ambiance of a college campus, and one in terrible need of landscaping and building updating at that. Especially the exterior of the premium room buildings, such as the tower suites and Eden Apple suites which look like bunkers. I only say this because they do charge like it is an up to date, upgraded class resort, which it is not. These kind of prices should not be giving you 1970's decor with updating from the 80's. They kind of get around that by the absolutely well trained staff, and very cleanliness of the rooms. But they should either lower the pricing, or update/upgrade to be able to charge the prices they do with a straight face. I am sure they would be a lot busier too if they spent some money investing on bringing the decor out of the 1980's. I know we would come back a lot sooner if the place was updated, or prices lower to overcome the fact that it is 1970's decor with 1980's updating. Again, the excellent staff and cleanliness of the rooms only go so far.
Only other negative was just before our stay I got a call from someone from CoveHaven offering package add ons, and was sort of talked into a package for $35 which included two very small bottles of champagne, bubble bath, a duralog for the fireplace, and a generic photo album. It wasn't worth the $35, as the album was generic (didn't even have CoveHaven on it), the bubble bath was being sold for $3.50 in the gift shop, the log could have been gotten also fairly cheap there, and the champagne wasn't worth the $20+ overpay on this "package", but it was my own fault for ordering it. Do yourself a favor bring your own champagne, and buy the bubble bath for $3.50 in the gift shop....haha.
So in summary, we absolutely loved our stay, we had a GREAT time, the room was clean, food was great, staff was super curtious, professional, and excellent. You WILL have a great time, no question about it so long as you know the fact that it's dated and in need of aesthetics and upgrading.
Just update the rooms to get out of the 80's! And do some landscaping and exterior improvements to make the bunker like exteriors of the premium rooms look more inviting! Even a little would do so much. And the place would be top notch....

Room Tip: Just remember the premium rooms have no windows. The same effect could be had with room darkening c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Rojo 1664, we couldn't agree with your more... you can't help but have a good time when you're in the Land of Love! We appreciate your feedback on our Team Members and I will also be sharing your suggestions with our Managers. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I got a Garden of Eden suite and had a great time for our 3 day weekend. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the pool. Initial check in was quick and the service throughout the weekend was good. We ordered dinner in our room one night and the service was quick. I ordered a piece of apple pie with ice cream and the staff was concerned that the ice cream would melt but they put it in an insulated cup and it got there fine.

We played bingo at the bar on Friday and had a good time and went to the Newlywed game on Saturday and it was entertaining.

We spent most of our time in our room, of course, and the room was perfect. If we looked really, really hard, we could find some minor flaws in the room but it took effort to do so. The rooms were neatly cleaned every day, I cannot think of a single complaint to voice about the resort.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool, you'll want to stay in the room all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
This is what we love to hear, attorneygoofingoff (great name too)! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived and received an upgrade to garden of Eden apple suite.. Loved it!! Very clean and lots of room!! We spent most of our trip in the pool in our suite!!the heart shaped bath tub was great also.. No complaints at all.. Everything was accessible by walking but they provided a can to pick you up for dinner if you prefer. The food was plentiful and tasty!! We can't wait to return in the summer!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thanks, Robin15922! See you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice suites, very friendly staff...
We’ve been coming here for nine year now and we like the resort, especially the loving atmosphere starting with the staff and going to visitors...
I’d definitely recommend it for couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks, imetin! Great review. Thank you for the recommendation. Looking forward to 10 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

It's not to most modern decor but my boyfriend and I had such a good time during our stay!!! (We upgraded to the room with the private pool and private champagne glass jacuzzi and sauna) There are so many funny and fun things to do to keep you entertained. The food was pretty good as well. We took a 45 minute drive to the other location, Paradise Streams, one night for dinner and the comedian, and we had a REALLY good time. The staff is OVER THE TOP PLEASANT AND HELPFUL!!! Loved it & will definitely return! ❤️

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Great photos! You only need a cap full of bubble bath - haha. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have stated at this hotel for Long years. Not one, not two, but a lot twice a year during the Nascar Races at Poconos. They cancelled the package with the excuses that there were not enough couples. BS... We are a group that comes from NJ all the way to Maine. I answer to my replied to the Romance Manager at the Resort and still waiting for his answers to my email and as a business woman ideas on how to improve the quality of services. I guess the New Management is reluctant to hear good ideas from old long term guesses. Is their Loss because those 20 couples that used to stay there during the Nascar Season we are being adopted by others Resorts in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Nascargrandma48, I am very sorry, but I did not receive your email. Could you resend? Please include your review and a good phone number and time to reach you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Haven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is a romantic Poconos all-suite hotel. Many of our guest rooms feature whirlpools, saunas, fireplaces, and/or round king-size beds. Tennis, racquetball, and watersports are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.