We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple fun, throwback version” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Haven Resort

Save Saved
You added Cove Haven Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cove Haven Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50%!!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lakeville
1 review
“Simple fun, throwback version”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

First time at Cove Haven with my boyfriend to get away from the grind of NYC. It is close enough to city to get there for a weekend, but far from city life to feel like we were getting away. You have to go in looking to have fun, not looking to pick everything apart, and you will enjoy it. It has an old school vibe for sure. I think nostalgic vibe, which I happen to like. We had a great time, and I have to say my bf is not the simplest person. The nature of the resort being a couples resort made us focus on enjoying each other and having fun as a pair. We played tennis, ice skated, basketball every day, shuffleboard, arcade and mini golf. There were a bunch of other activities also legitimately included, not with random fees. There were fun events scheduled if you wanted, like bingo, comedian, and the XXX game that we also went too. The night bands were cute, very loungey feel, nightclub was large and old school swanky, not really a dance party because there weren't large crowds; we enjoyed chilling and listening to music. Beds weren't the best ironically, but the hot tubs were. The main perk at the resort is that all other couples and staff are very friendly, and made us come out of our city funk immediately. We made fast friends and had a great time that we stayed an extra night. Shout out to Mark the bartender, Noel the bartender and Alicia at the front desk for hospitality and generally being great company.

Room Tip: Harbour Tower was nice for two nights, but then got upgraded to Garden of Eden Apple and that was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks, Diana i! I'll be sure to pass along to Mark, Noel & Alicia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    366
    145
    97
    145
See reviews for
2
921
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I honestly do not understand the bad reviews at all! Ok, the location is not so good only because it is in the middle of nowhere and everything is twenty minutes away BUT there is really no need to leave the resort, everything is there. We stayed in the champagne room and it was beautiful! I highly recommend it! The room was so clean which was surprising after reading the reviews. The food was delicious and so were the drinks! Entertainment was fun and there were plenty of activities. Some tips: bring some snacks and water to your room just in case you get hungry or thirsty later on. Get the bubbles for the champagne glass! They are so worth it! Oh and tip your servers because they always do an excellent job! DEFINITELY coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Our Team is going to love your review! Thank you for the recommendation! See you next time, Emilyfel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are a couple in our early 50’s here for our first year anniversary. We were looking for a quick little get away not to far from home. We had some concerns about Cove Haven based on some of the negative reviews. Quite frankly we were not even sure we should go as there were a large number of negative reviews. So this is how we feel about Cove Haven. It seemed most of the negative reviews were centered on how clean the place was. This was a major concern for us. We know that Cove Haven is older and was not going to be a 5 star resort, and we were ok with that but we have zero tolerance for a place that is not clean. The day before we left I sent an e-mail to the resort voicing my concerns. I received a response in less then 1 hour. I was impressed by that. I was assured the room would be clean and that a copy of my e-mail would be passed on to the director of house keeping. We arrived and were promptly and quickly checked in. We were in formed that because we booked through groupon there would be an additional $21 hotel sur charge per night. We did question the charge and were told it is written right on our groupon confirmation. We presented the conformation to the girl at the desk and it made no mention of the additional charge. She told us if we had booked direct we would not have to pay the charge and there was nothing she could about it. This made me feel this was going to be a problem vacation but we agreed to pay the charge as it was just not worth the trouble. We stayed for 3 nights so it cost us an additional $63 for the trip. We arrived to our room. Room 271. The room was larger then we thought it would be. First thing we did was turn on all the lights so we can look around the place. The room is old as is the rest of the resort. The carpets and furniture are showing major signs of usage. This was ok as we already to expect this. The whole resort is in need of updating and in general needs to be better maintained. You can see this all through the resort as even the red bricks that line the walkways are turning to dust from age. Getting back to our room… The rest of the room was clean so we had no problems with that. We looked at the bed. The bed spread was old and stained with what looked like body fluids. We were no very happy about that. We removed the bed spread and found the pillows and sheets to be in good condition clean and fresh. We did not make a big deal over the bed spread and just threw it off the bed on to the floor. The rest of the room was fine. Bathroom was clean as was the shower, sauna and pool area. All in all we had no issue with the room other then the bed spread. The food is very good. Our server Joyce took care of us the whole time we were there. She made sure we had everything we needed as well as any thing wanted and we enjoyed having her care for us. On the subject of food, they will give you anything in there power to make you happy and as much of it as you can eat. Food was fresh always cooked to order and portions were very large. There is not a lot of outdoor things to do at this time of year as it is too warm for snow stuff and the lake is still covered with ice but there is still enough to keep you busy when not playing in your room. Over all this was a very nice vacation get away for us. We are making plans to return in the early fall. The people that work there seem happy to go out of there way to make you happy. This really is the perfect place to reconnect with your loved one and spend some quality one on one time. Over all I would recommend Cove Haven for a nice quick close to home romantic get away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Happy one year anniversary, newlyweds!! So happy you had a romantic getaway. I will be sure to share your review with Joyce and our Housekeeping Team. We hope that you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

First time at Cove Haven. My boyfriend wanted to surprise me for my birthday and take me on a romantic weekend getaway. I was so excited because I heard nothing but good things about Cove Haven but when we got to the resort we were both highly disappointed. Our suite, (Cleopatra) smelled like mildew, the couch had white stains on the pillows, underneath the pillows were water stains and a left over cheeto that someone must have dropped. Not to mention instead of replacing the couch someone made the executive decision to patch it up with blue tape (tacky) on the side. Torn wall paper in the bathroom, broken sauna door and soap scum in the hot tub. Talk about a mood killer! The shower looked like it could use a good scrub. Overall, we are never going back and I advise anyone to do the same. Groupon has better deals. Just a little tip(s) make sure your bring your own alcohol ($25 for a six pack and not even the good beer) and beware of the deer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
As I mentioned to you boyfriend in the review below, we are deeply sorry about this and would like the opportunity to check out the suite and make this up to you. Please consider emailing me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I'm from Chicago and have stayed at the sybaris. The owners of this dump need to see how it should be run. The sybaris is modern, clean and has real pools in the room, not oversize bathtubs. This place is disgusting, I felt icky the whole time. I couldn't relax.
Sybaris charges less and is so nice. How can you charge so much for 1970s porn motif and nasty food?
The last thing you feel like is loving your partner when you don't want your skin to touch any surface of this place. Never again.
If you have any taste or class, you will hate this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We are very sorry you feel this way, Leila318. Should any reader of this review have concerns over the issues raised, please don't hesitate to contact me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and i stayed recently for our anniversary. We had such a great time and plan to go back again. The food was good, I think we both gained a few pounds. From check-in until the time we left the staff was super friendly.

The only problem we had was with the Heat. It was quite cold out and not doing a good job of heating the room. They sent Bill up, and he was able to fix it promptly. The heater was great after that. I think next time we will come in warmer months, they had a lot of snow.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you in the warmer months, Dan O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at Cove Haven this past weekend for my boyfriend's 23rd birthday. I was a bit skeptical after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly suprised! I will start off saying it is not a luxury resort if that's what you're looking for. It is very tacky and playful, but it's supposed to be! We were also one of the youngest couples there. We stayed in the Juliette suite.. It was a huge room with a little living room, fireplace, comfy round bed and heart shaped tub. It was super cute! You get a four course dinner with dessert and breakfast buffet included.. Great food and A LOT for your money. Only thing is you have to request to sit alone but the staff was always happy to accommodate us. You have to pay for drinks but they were delicious. We did not do any activities at night but really enjoyed alone time in our romantic room! After we checked out we went all around the resort.. Used the arcade, mini golf, ice skating, tennis, basketball and archery all free! Only wish we came in the summer to enjoy more of the outdoor activities! Had such a fun time at Cove Haven and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don S, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Happy birthday! We love to celebrate. Hope to see you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Haven Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is a romantic Poconos all-suite hotel. Many of our guest rooms feature whirlpools, saunas, fireplaces, and/or round king-size beds. Tennis, racquetball, and watersports are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, T4B, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.