We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant vacation resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Split Rock Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Split Rock Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Moseywood Road, PO Box 567, Lake Harmony, PA 18624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Levittown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant vacation resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Willowbrook Villa (1br). The unit was nicely appointed, in a secluded and neat environment. Very close to all the activities. I love the proximity of water activity of the lake. Waterpark is good but the thing that sets it up better from the rest is the presence of a movie theater and up to date bowling alley w/c is in constant party mode. The staff are generally nice. The only disappointment is, we tried to do segway glide (trial) but the spots are limited and they can close it anytime without prior notice if you call the ext. very close to
Camelback w/c is another good destination.

Room Tip: Choose Willowbrook villas, it won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of Split Rock Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accomodations in Willowbrook. They are indeed very nicely appointed & offer great views of the golf course. We pride ourselves on guest service and the customer experience with our many enjoyable activities. Look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    267
    183
    138
    147
See reviews for
500
138
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Place was great to travel during the winter. Jsut be aware when it snows out there it can become dangerous (especially if you don't have four wheel drive). Overall very nice, people in the town was very nice also (has that small town feel, which I love). Kids loved the snow tubing here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I travel a great deal and visit many hotels and in most cases I can give a yae or nae to a hotel that I am reviewing. This is not the case with the Split Rock Resort. It is good for some people can be problematic for others.
The resort is very large and spread out over a number of buildings that are not in walking distance from each other. The building we stayed in called the Galleria was huge and in order to get our bedroom, from the lobby one had to take an elevator up floor up then walk for several corridors to another elevator and take that up two or three flights. We got good exercise but some of the members of our family were elderly and could not walk such large distances. Checking in was also a problem. They do not have formal bell hops helping people with their luggage.
One positive about the hotel is that there are a lot of activities. In the building we stayed at, there was an attached water park, bowling alley and movie theatre. This was great for kids but there is an additional hefty fee to partake in any of these activities. There also nuisance fees that that they throw at you. When entering the hotel, you have to pass through a toll booth which we initially thought was for security. Not so. They charge a dollar every time you enter the hotel grounds by car and if you need to shop in town for anything, you have to pay every time you pass through the toll booth. This felt offensive and the hotel could have added on a couple of extra dollars to the resort fee and not hit you up with this type of nuisance fees.
The rooms in the building we stayed at were old and there a musty smell as well. The furnishing were very dated. For example the television in the room was small and old looking reminiscent of something from the 1980’s. Most hotels I stay at give you certain toiletries such as shampoo soap, conditioner and body lotion. The only thing this hotel provided was a bar of soap and shampoo. Not a major problem but something that underscored the frugality in the way this hotel is run.
As for help, if you needed something fixed they eventually got to it but not immediately. We had a microwave that did not work. They never fixed it. Another member of our family report that the toilet in his room did not work and they told him to use a hall bathroom.
The people at the front desk appeared to be overworked and tired. They answered any questions and handled checkins and checkouts but were not overly enthusiastic about guests in general.
Would I return to this hotel? Maybe but would not make it a priority in my places I wish to visit.

Room Tip: If you are elderly or have a handicap, make sure to have a room that does not entail too much walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experiences from your recent stay with us. Split Rock Resort is always striving to make our guests happier and more comfortable when they visit and comments like yours do assist us with areas of needed improvement and when training our staff. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been taking the same vacation to the beach for years - same house...same routine...so I said that we were stepping out of our comfort zone and doing something different! Marianne on the phone in reservations was WONDERFUL. I explained our family situation (special needs daughter ... snoring husband.....etc) and we came up with the best time of week, best place to stay in the resort and the best price. She was so patient and wonderful. We ended up staying in the Galleria in a family suite and it was the coolest thing ever! Having a full mini kitchen....eating area...living room with two couches.... two bedrooms ....so much privacy. I am reading the other reviews and again... keep in mind... each person is soo different so take away important details - don't worry about little things and personal opinions. We are a very grateful and simple family so we were personally blown away by the experience - however, another family that could be used to five star hotels and fancy might not be as impressed.

Pros: The room was great for our family needs. Fully loaded with dishes...mugs...coffee pot..blender - even a dishwasher! We declined on housekeeping because we were spread out all over the place but we did get new towels. (But please remember to still tip per night for housekeeping). Cons: The air conditioning unit went out twice but as soon as we called within ten minutes Steve or Mohammed were there to help us and explain what happened and fixed it. The beds.... wayyy to hard for us - and the pillows WAY toooo soft for us. Our backs are still hurting - but we have massages coming up this weekend at home.

Galleria: Pros: LOVED the activities in the Pit lounge..... they were so creative and having 20-30 people you have never met before all rooting for each other was really fun - felt like when we were on a cruise and everyone was having so much fun. Check in was a problem since we weren't told it wasn't until 4 but she was nice enough to find another room that was ready. The Galleria had alot to offer and kept us busy and happy. Everyone that worked there was very nice and very helpful. CON: Check in area was a bit slow - only two people working all the time and for the number of people checking in and out and asking questions - i felt they could have had one person taking questions and phone calls and atleast three people doing check in and check out.

LAKE: wow! it was just as i had hoped and if I didn't have the kids with me - I would have been sitting on a lounge chair from the minute I got there to the time they kicked me out of the resort. The music at night or the sounds of the kids in the day was just so relaxing. The lake was fun because you weren't stepping on gross lake bottom . I had really wanted to do a boat trip or something but it was too expensive for us personally. CON: none lol... actually - it would be nice if the hotel offered you a discount price for the boat rides or something (the boat rides place is separate from the resort) then I could have enjoyed it. But $100 for a family of four to ride around was a bit too much for us.

FOOD: the pizzaria was fine but it was too warm in the sitting area and to be honest - the pizza wasn't so good. the restaurant food was good but small selection. the ice cream parlor was ok - floor was soooo sticky and the people that worked in there weren't nice like the rest of the resort. I felt like I had walked into a regular ice cream parlor with people that werent' trained like the rest of the people. They also didn't have any fat free, sugar free or frozen yogurt so I wasn't even able to treat myself to something guilty. But the kids liked their choices. The belago wasn't open when we were there so that really stunk. Didn't get to the other place (benchwarmers) because it had a really small selection and my daughter couldn't eat there. But it was basic pub food which is always good for the average person.

bottom line - go for it and give it a shot! spend time on the phone with reservations and tell them what you are looking for - they will point you in the right direction! I really felt like I was on a cruise the whole time (but with alot less food to choose from). You make your vacation what you want - as simple as you want or do every single activity from sun up to sun down!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the comments about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and your feedback was very informative. I have shared your review and comments with all of our management team. We look forward to hosting you again and please let us know if we can do anything for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I would like to give this place a 3-1/2 since it falls just short of a 4. As a resort it has everything that you could ask for. It has both indoor and outdoor pools, a lake, a waterpark, bowling, movie theater, etc. The rooms and suites are large but the décor is dated and threadbare. Views in the Galleria and Slope Side suites are non-existent. The main restaurant is dark with no atmosphere and a small menu. The food is edible but not anything special.
The weirdest thing about this resort is the fact that to get to it you have to enter a private road that costs $1.00 each time you enter. The resort does not provide a pass.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We thank you for being a guest with us at Split Rock Resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed some of our many amenities and activities that we have to offer. If there is ever anything that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let one of our staff members know as we are always willing to help. We are also very pleased to announce that with the recent addition of our new Chef, we are rolling out a delectable new Smokehouse Grill menu. We hope that you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to exceed your every expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed sitting at the outdoor bar on a beautiful summer day. The bar service was slow and we were not made aware of any food service. The drinks were ok, but not great. Overall, the service and quality could be much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our Resort boasts a beautiful landscape and the view of the Lagoon area is no exception. I apologize for the issues you had and any inconvenience it may have caused you while visiting The Sandbar. The management staff has been notified regarding your concerns for prompt address. We take pride in our Resort and our service and hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just got back from a family reunion at Split Rock. We stayed in the Galleria Slope Side. What a crazy building...to get from our room to the lobby....we had to walk down a long corridor; take an elevator down from the 5th floor to the Lobby level; walk down another long corridor; and then yet another long corridor and then walk down 2 lights of stairs! GEE WIZZ....are you guys kidding? Prices are high and the building is less than average. Its old, and in need of a good renovation. But the worst part is that each time you enter the grounds, you are charged one dollar. So, if you leave the grounds for all your meals, thats $3 just in rentry fees! Ridiculous! There is a charge for everything and they are not cheap. For ex...one game of bowling is $7! The waterpark chages a fortune and of course....bring your own towels! Would NOT go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback. I understand your concerns and can assure you that we are continually working to improve our Resort for all of our guests. We regret that you did not fully enjoy your experience with us and might we suggest that you consider staying with us in one of our newer Willowbrook Suites overlooking the Golf Course. Split Rock Resort does offer many activities and amenities for the whole family to enjoy and we hope that you will grant us the opportunity to regain your trust and show you everything that we truly have to offer here at Split Rock Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Split Rock Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Rock Resort & Golf Club

Address: 100 Moseywood Road, PO Box 567, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Split Rock Resort & Golf Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Split Rock Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club Hotel Lake Harmony
Split Rock Resort And Golf Club
Hotel At Split Rock
Split Rock Hotel
Resort At Split Rock
The Resort At Split Rock
Split Rock Pa
Split Rock Resort Pa
Split Rock Lake Harmony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.