We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Value but Midlake Unit showing its Age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villages On Big Boulder Lake

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Harmony
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villages On Big Boulder Lake
Save
You added Villages On Big Boulder Lake to your Saves list
Big Boulder Drive, Lake Harmony, PA 18624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent Value but Midlake Unit showing its Age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in the Midlake Village (building E) for a short Summer getaway with three kids aged 8-11. Overall, we were happy with the experience.

The Good: The Lake Mountain Club was a great spot for the kids. Between the trampoline float in the lake, pools, various boats, and the usual resort games (volleyball, ping-pong, etc.), the kids had plenty to do on nice days. The staff at the lake were all extremely helpful, with special mention to Butch who was handling the boats on the days we were there. The lake itself is a great asset, with decent fishing (we caught largemouth bass, perch, and a bunch of other panfish). It's very clean and supports a lot of wildlife (we saw a Bald Eagle perched on a tree near the dam). The rest of the grounds are nice, with lots of small trails around the lake.

Could be Better: Our particular unit (number 195 in Midlake) was showing its age. The furniture, decor, and especially the kitchen were all vintage. In fact, I'm reasonably sure the appliances were all from the original build out circa 1985. While this was definitely designed to be an outdoor vacation, the lack of any Wi-Fi and a 19" Tube TV complete with integral VCR gives a sense of the in-room amenities, at least in our unit. Also, a word on Boulder View Tavern adjacent to the lake facilities. It's a great location with a really nice building and a tempting menu. Unfortunately, the food was only fair, with most of the food we tried clearly reheated or packaged restaurant-supply (french fries, salsa, mozzerella sticks, etc.). It wasn't disastrously bad, but it certainly didn't live up to the prices or the atmosphere.

Considering the prices (around $200/night for 5 people) and the location (easily accessible from NJ and PA), the Villages at Big Boulder Lake are a good option for a low-cost vacation.

Footnote: I stayed in the Blue Heron section with my parents as a teenager when the facility first opened in the early 1980s. Those units are a little bit more expensive to rent, but they have a better location (closer to activities) and the buildings themselves are a bit higher end.

Room Tip: Worth spending the extra to get into Blue Heron if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After spending the day at Knoebels amusement park, we came back and decided we didn't feel like cooking. There are not alot of choices for take-out in Lake Harmony, but we decided to order from Boulder View Tavern, which was right down the street from where we are staying. We read the reviews online first and decided to try it out. I ordered the Asian Veggie Spring Rolls and the Penne Chicken Cesar Salad. Both were delicious. The spring rolls were crispy on the outside and the dipping sauce was thick and spicy. The salad was generous and fresh, wih alot of tender chicken and the cesar dressing was just right - not too mayonais-y. My husband ordered the house ribs and the meat did truly fall off the bone. He was very satisfied - and he's a rib man! The kids helped us finish off everything - the portion sizes were nice too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfied
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The townhouses and overall facilities are very high end. Our family had a very nice time, nice walks, private lakes, hiking, biking and the rest. We would recommend this facility for a nice weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Ask about the Specials!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Townhouse with all the facilities except jaccuzzi( You have hot tub). It fits for teenagers, family, friends, kids... you have near by swimming pool, tennis court, basket ball, sand volleyball, private lake area with beach, you can rent the boats, kayaks, etc... Closer to Rafting, hiking, Biking area, near by you also have hickory run state park for picinic area. Camelback water park is also near by... During winter season Ski area is near by... Best place to stay for all the seasons...Service is excellent in the townhouse...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan NY
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

My family and I stayed in the Blue Heron townhome section. We wanted a townhouse so we could accomodate two familes. What a great weekend.

A short walk down the hill and we were at the beautiful Big Boulder Lake and lake club. There is a pool, tennis courts and boats for rental. Pick from kayaks, sail boats, canoes, row boats, etc. This lake is awesome and allows NO motor boats. It also has an adorable sand "beach" , which my kids loved. They provide lounge chairs for your use.

The town of Lake Harmony is so cute. Mountiain's Edge restaurant, right next door, from the lake club has awesome views of Big Boulder Lake and good food. There is a cute country store and Nick's Lakehouse restaurant as well as Piggy's for a great country breakfast.

We will definately be back and go in the winter as I understand there is a that shuttle picks you up to take you up the hill to Big Boulder ski mountain. There is snow boarding, tubing and skiing. They also own Jack Frost mountain and your lift ticket is good for use at either mountain!!

If you are looking for a quick escape from NY ( 1 1/2) or Philly ( 1 hour), look no further. This is a great vacation get away!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villages On Big Boulder Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villages On Big Boulder Lake

Address: Big Boulder Drive, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Villages On Big Boulder Lake Hotel Lake Harmony

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villages On Big Boulder Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.