We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Sauce and Food"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trio's Italian Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trio's Italian Family Restaurant
State Route 590, 1315 Hamlin Hwy adjacent to the hideout, Lake Ariel, PA 18436
570-698-9900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 21 Restaurants in Lake Ariel
Restaurant details
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“"Great Sauce and Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is our new favorite place. We were looking at property in the Hideout and went here for dinner and a much needed drink after seeing 15 homes in one day. I ordered the linguini with shrimp sauce. It was incredible the sauce is great and the shrimp were large shrimp cut into 3 peices each they were so fresh they burst in your mouth as you eath them. The house salad dressing was to die for and the free garlic knots on your table were full of garlic. We tried the pizza, chicken parm, philly cheese steak, and many other dishes since we have been up in the area none dissappoint. The spinach withn garlic and oil is also a favorite. I reccomend this place. The waitresses are all nice our favorite is Joanne. We are very happy that we found this place. For the reviewer who had steak well you should go with Italian in an Italian place steak in a steak place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, NC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Pizza. Eggplant Parm!!!! Free Poker?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I visit the Pocono area at least twice per year, and always eat Trio's at least once per trip. Most of the time, we get take out, so it has been a while since I sat inside and ate. As the other recent reviews state, the food is great. It it the best ever? "No", but as Pizza places go, this one ranks with the best of them.

I think they still hold free poker tournaments 1-2 times per week (not sure which days). I am not sure if you win anything anymore (they used to give gift certificates), but it is good fun if you are looking for something to do (eat dinner, and then stay for a game of Texas Hold em).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atomsphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were a group of three mothers and our teenage - pre teen daughters. We had a wonderful time at this restaurant. The atmosphere was casual - we felt comfortable enough to laugh and relax with each other. The food was good Italian food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food - skip the dessert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We usually manage to get to Trio's 2 - 3 times over the summer season at Lake Wallenpaupack. (However, Trio's is open year round.) Service is usually efficient and pleasant. Our favorites dinners include Eggplant Rollotini and Spaghetti and Meatballs. The Calamari appetizer is a good choice also. The salad is not much to mention except that the house dressing is flavorful and excellent. Usually we are too full to order dessert, but on our last visit we ordered the fried cheesecake for dessert. It was quite bland.
There is a full service bar attached and a take out pizza/sandwich adjacent. The pizza is VERY good too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Friendly place with good service and fairly good Italian-American Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is a good inexpensive place to have pizza, pasta and the other usual Italian-American fare. Many steps removed from gourmet (i.e., Batali's Babbo it is not), but it is a good place to have a generous portion of good standard stuff. Would we return? Of course, as it is what it is -- a reliable place to grab a decent meal served quickly and efficiently by a friendly staff supervised by competent hands-on owners.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio's Italian Family Restaurant also viewed

Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Trio's Italian Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trio's Italian Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.