We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Bed and Breakfast on the Delaware!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roebling Inn on the Delaware

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roebling Inn on the Delaware to your Saves list
Roebling Inn on the Delaware
155 Scenic Drive, Lackawaxen, PA 18435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 off 4-night stay
Ranked #1 of 2 Lackawaxen B&B and Inns
Oradell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Bed and Breakfast on the Delaware!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a very lovely stay at the Roebling Inn.The moment we entered the inn we were impressed with the ambiance here.Cozy,beautifully decorated and immaculate. The innkeepers were right there to welcome us and made us feel right at home.Our room,facing the river was a nice size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom very clean with all of the amenities we could want.In the downstairs sitting room the fieplace was on and there were books and games to enjoy. The front porch overlooks the river and there on a tree out front were 2 eagles! What a treat. We brought our canoe and the owner was very helpful in getting us to our put in points each day.We were able to take out the canoe right in front of the property-an added bonus for all of you paddlers out there!

Breakfasts were the best. Warm home baked treats,juices,fresh fruit,yogurt,breads and a hot entree! The cookie jar is always full for snacks as well.

My husband and I highly recommend the Roebling Inn. We are sure to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
105
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

And I love home.

The first impression you get of this place is "wow - this is right on the Delaware and what a beautiful home!".

Our next impression was meeting DJ who gave us a tour of the home and our room and told us at least twice to not hesitate to call on them if we had any questions. We could tell right off the bat that they wanted to be helpful but would respect our privacy.

We really enjoyed the private bathroom in our 2 double bed room. Had this been a hotel room it would be small but ... it's not a hotel room. The reading room/boardgame room, with fireplace, is where I think my wife would have preferred to spend 50% of our 4 day stay.

They have two porches with one overlooking the Delaware.

Right on the Delaware - you cross a small road (which anywhere else in this country looks like a driveway, not a road) to take a few steps down to the Delaware where there are seats and a stone firepit ring which we enjoyed our first night.

I slept wonderfully.

The breakfast room was plenty large with enough tables so you can enjoy a private breakfast but still talk to others since they're only a few feet away.

We were there for 4 mornings and had 4 different breakfasts, all of which were delicious. Where they really blew me away was the fact that they prepared 4 gluten free (GF) breakfasts just for me. But the GF food was so good I doubt regular eaters would know it was GF. Each day I told them ... "you really don't have to do this". They just ignored me. ;-)

We can't wait to go back. This place is marvelous and the owners understand what it is to make their customers feel at home.

Oh - (smile) one more praiseworthy note - the game room had a Deluxe Scrabble board where the tiles don't move. LOL.

And no BS - this place lives up to and surpasses the expectations you'll have after seeing the pictures.

Victor

Room Tip: some rooms have a river view and they have a separate multi-room cottage. We stayed in the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Panhandle, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a long day of travelling, including bad weather and road construction, we arrived late to a very warm welcome from Don, who quickly got us settled in for a great night's rest. The bed was comfortable, the room very clean with everything we could want, and overall the inn was quiet and restful. In the morning, we enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast and were able to take in the peaceful view along the river, before setting off again. While our stay at the Roebling Inn was short, Don and JoAnn were both friendly and helpful, the Inn was beautiful, and created such a great impression, that we agreed we are going to have to plan a longer visit next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrestville, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first trip to this area for Pennsylavina, how beautiful it is. The Roebling Inn is stiuated on the Delaware River just off the Roebling bridge, in the little town of Lackawaxen.

Don and JoAnn are great host and showed us around their wonderful B&B. Our room over looked the river and the bridge. Don and JoAnn were very helpful with tips on were to eat and places to visit in the area. There is much to do and see right around the inn. The "Roebling Bridge" is a short walk and an easy crossing to the New York side of the river. The Inn is clean and has a warm feeling. We spent a few hours on their front porch, and just watched the Delaware roll by.

We will visit again, hopefully next year.

Bruce

Room Tip: The two rooms in the front of the Inn have a great view of the Delaware River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Reobling Inn for the weekend and then decided to extend our vacation there as we found the place to be an extremely beautiful, calm and relaxing. The hospitality of DJ and Joann made our stay very pleasant. Always helpful, they advised us on various activities in the area. The breakfast was rich and tasty and the chocolate chips cookies, which were available with the tea throughout the day, were addictive.
If you are looking for a calm, relaxing and pleasant place to spend you vacation you should go to the Roebling Inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

beautiful house by the river, very clean, comfortable. excellent breakfast! Don and JoAnn made us feel like we were at home. our room was large, bright, spotless. the surroundings are gorgeous!
we definitely recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights/ five days at the Roebling inn on the Delaware and no where else have I experienced such accommodating and caring host. Once we arrived we were giving information on all the possible things we could do around the area. If we needed directions, DJ and JoAnn were always more than willing to print off directions and give us advice on what places are worth the time to visit. The rooms felt just like being at home. It was very clean and extremely comfortable to stay in. The breakfast buffet was one of the best parts about staying at the Roebling. The items available on the buffet were more than enough and had a wide variety. The hot breakfast item was delicious every morning, it was more than filling. All of the things they do for you make you feel at home. Even just taking a day to relax at the inn was enjoyable with the hammock outside, the comfortable rocking chairs on the porch, and even being able to relax on the riverside. We could not have chose a better place to stay to escape reality for a few day. We would recommend it to anyone and hope we can stay here again soon! Thank You JoAnn and DJ such an enjoyable stay at your inn.
Jon and Cheyenne from Elizabethtown, PA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roebling Inn on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roebling Inn on the Delaware

Address: 155 Scenic Drive, Lackawaxen, PA 18435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lackawaxen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lackawaxen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, stately B&B is located 2 hours west of NYC. Riverfront setting amid beautiful scenery. Near restaurants, kayaking, rafting, fishing, skiing, hiking. Bald eagles are frequently on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Roebling Inn on the Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roebling Inn on the Delaware, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.