We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for cute and cozy Turtleshell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvania Country Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lackawaxen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvania Country Lodging
Save
You added Sylvania Country Lodging to your Saves list
112 Mast Hope Avenue, Lackawaxen, PA 18435   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntingtown, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for cute and cozy Turtleshell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere truly special for our anniversary, and it was by happy accident that I stumbled on Sylvania Country Lodging. I decided this would be the perfect place to get away in the Poconos. We didn't want any cheesy tourist trap resorts. Just someplace private, quiet, and cozy.

Turtleshell was everything we could have hoped for and more. Comfortable bed. All the comforts of home (with the addition of a fireplace!), and a hammock in the screened-in porch - perfect for relaxing and listening to the water rushing over the rocks in nearby Mast Hope Brook.

The owners - Jane and John McKay - truly make this place a labor of love. Attention to detail really shows. I can't say enough good things about our stay in Turtleshell. We only left it this morning and we're already talking about coming back. It was such a tranquil and beautiful spot - a little piece of Paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After deciding less than 2 weeks before our anniversary to go away, we were happy to learn the Turtleshell cabin was available! We rented it for a 3 night weekend and loved it! Everything was as written or pictured on the website. The ownwers,John & Jane were very helpful with suggestions of where to go, things to do, dining and such. The cabin kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to prepare a meal inside or outside on the grill. Wood is supplied for the indoor,beautiful Pennsylvania Bluestone fireplace. Also for the fire ring outside. Plenty of outdoor seating, including lounges to lay back and view the night sky. Trails are also marked on the property, including an easy one down to the lake where you can swim, eat a picnic lunch or just sit in one of the comfy chairs provided, and watch the river flow by.
Our mini vacation at STF was a perfect getaway for our anniversary. We ae already talking about a return visit.

Room Tip: Having only stayed in the Turtleshell cabin, I can't speak about the others. My guess is every c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have stayed at most of the different cabins, as a couple and with family and friends. The McKays are perfect hosts and the location of the cabins and to the Mast Hope Stream and river is optimmal. STF has become a second home. It has already built many lasting and beautiful memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed the weekend at the Bluestone cottage; we are still amazed at how beautiful the place is. If you are looking for a quiet getaway this is the place for you. The cottage was extremely clean and well kept, the grounds are awesome everything you need is available to you, it’s your own private retreat away from it all. We have no regrets booking with Sylvania Tree Farm we plan to return again next time we will stay even longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

COTTAGE - My fiance and I stayed at the Brookside cottage for a weekend and were absolutely blown away. The cottage is immaculate! The layout is open and spacey with huge windows that overlook the brook. The fireplace can be viewed from both the kitchen/livingroom side and the bedroom/bathroom side. Ample wood is supplied. There is heat in case you do not want to light a fire. There is a jacuzzi bathtub, a screeened in deck and an outside deck. I would def recommend a couple stay here. The brook itself was awesome. It's powerful enought that you can hear it with the doors closed and it's best in the morning w/ a cup of coffee. Each cabin has it's own personal fire pit which we sat around for hours. You do have to bring your own food and drinks, there is no restaurant on site. A BBQ is provided.

HIKING - the trails are not easy by any means but are not challenging to the point you want to quit. The ONLY recommendation I may have is for the trail markers to be updated. It's easy in the spring when the foliage defines the trail, but in Nov when the leaves are down it was very difficult to navigate w/out markers.

PRIVACY - We went in November so the leaves were already off the trees enabling us to see some of the other cabins. The cabins were still far enough away that it didn't matter so don't worry. If you went during spring, summer or fall you would not be able to see them at all.

OWNERS - Jane is remarkable. Our fireplace was set up ready to go upon arrival. The cottage stocked w/ ample pots, pans, silverware, etc. She came by the cabin when we first arrived to show us how everything worked and to explain the trails. She left saying have a great big fire in the fire pit and we didn't see her until we checked out. That's not to say she was not there. She came around the second day and provided more wood for our fire pit so when we came back from our hike it was there, however, it shows she really tries to be non intrusive as an owner and just let you enjoy her property.

OVERALL - I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to get away for a weekend. I can tell it's def a well kept secret. We will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koluce
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The property is beautiful. Set in the Pocono's with complete seclusion. No noises or city lights to bother you. We stayed in the Hermitage House which feels secluded from the rest of the houses. The hot tub inside the screened in porch was not working, so another one was brought in and set on the back porch for use. This was not a problem for us as it was fall and there were no insects out. The house is stocked of all your basics; pots and pans, silverware and serving dishes, pretty much all you would need to prepare a meal. Firewood was supplied and when we ran low, more was provided and at no charge. The closest stores for supplies are about a 20 min drive away, so I would suggest stopping on the way in. The house was very clean and we were not disappointed. A variety of trails on the property were fun to hike. The owners, John and Jane, were very nice and helpful! We would recommend this trip to family and friends! If you ave any questions, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend at the warren cottage. This home was beautiful. We would stay at any of the McKay homes. They are beautiful and they set us up with everything needed. It was our friends birthday and the owner Jane left her sunflowers! Home was so comfortable, clean and then we spent time by the river. This water was outstanding. They have a secluded spot for you to go with chairs and easy access to the river. What a wonderful weekend we had and cannot wait to go back again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sylvania Country Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvania Country Lodging

Address: 112 Mast Hope Avenue, Lackawaxen, PA 18435
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lackawaxen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lackawaxen
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvania Country Lodging is a 1200 acre private estate on the upper Delaware River, rich in history, legends and natural beauty. The extensive acreage of Sylvania and its unspoiled condition offers exceptional opportunities to explore nature and enjoy the peace and solitude of the woods. Enjoy time with family and friends by doing some fishing, relaxing in a hammock or sitting around a campfire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvania Country Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.