We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different to see with each visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Creek Wildlife Management Area

Middle Creek Wildlife Management Area
100 Museum Rd, Kleinfeltersville, PA 17578
(717) 733-1512
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many species of waterfowl call this lake / reserve home.
denver, pa.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Something different to see with each visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I live close by and frequent Middle Creek often. Last time there, saw an Eagle sitting on branch of dead tree. Saw 8 deer, 2 of which were babies , still had there spots. There were 2 pheasants with 6 babies along side of tour road. A nice pleasant way to spend the day if your a nature lover. There are walking trails, an observatory with lots of info, videos, a lg. room to observe the lake with all the birds, bird feeders with humming birds. There are picnic tables and restrooms inside of building. Depends what time of year you visit, from Tundra geese to Eagles with their babies. You can fish in the lake and it is open to canoes and kayaks certain time of the year. Best time to visit is during the week, week-ends can be crowded but never seen it overly crowded. No need to travel great distances, this is in your back yard .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hiking Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice hiking trails and incredible views when the snow geese are in town. Also the visitors center is convenient with educational material and clean restrooms.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great bird watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The swans and snow geese are awesome in the winter. The warbler migration is pretty good as well. Pack a lunch and enjoy the day hikes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great time and easy to connect with nature!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Middle Creek over Memorial Day weekend and had a great experience. There is a small visitors center that houses a lot of taxidermy as well as animal hides and pelts for the kids to experience. There is also a great room with interactive learning activities/ifnromation.

We chose to hike a short trail due to a member of our party recently having foot surgery. The trail was paved and ended with a pavilion that had several picnic tables as well as the pay as you go binoculars so that you could look for wildlife on the small island in the middle of the lake. The views were amazing and we really enjoyed our hike.

We then moved over to a location on the other side of the lake and enjoyed our lunch. Afterwards, the kids went down to skip rocks on the lake. Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely be returning in the near future.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A favorite of my husband since childhood, Middle Creek is quickly becoming a favorite place of our entire family. We like to hike the trails behind the visitor's center, which gives a much different feel than near the water. Nice place to bring a picnic lunch, and never seems very crowded.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Creek Wildlife Management Area also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Middle Creek Wildlife Management Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Creek Wildlife Management Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.