We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You might find another hotel if possible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Forge Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Forge Casino to your Saves list
Valley Forge Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1210 First Ave., King of Prussia, PA 19406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in King of Prussia
Austin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“You might find another hotel if possible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We too were at the International Trumpet Guild Conference 2014, and we stayed on the Casino Tower side so we did not have the Sleep Number Beds. We had requested a King Suite, and received a fairly nice room with a sitting room at the front, a hallway with a frig, microwave and a sink, and a King bedroom area. The windows were all in the bedroom area, so the sitting area in the front was slightly dark. Despite the frig and the microwave, be aware that there is no table and chairs in the room if you want to eat a meal. The coffee table and sofa will have to do. Also, some of the rooms in this hotel have NO WINDOWS - be sure to inquire about this before booking.

I don't know if this hotel was just overwhelmed with the amount of guests during this conference or if this is normal, cleaning of these rooms was evidently a problem. One day our room didn't get cleaned at all. On another day, I had to ask for it to be cleaned around 4 pm. When we came back, all that was done was a change of towels and our bed was made up with the same linens. We kept losing the tv signal on both televisions at different times. Wifi was free but unreliable. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the room did not smell like smoke.

Food was really expensive, both in the Casino Food Court and the nicer restaurants on the Raddison side. In the food court, a hot dog was $10.50 and burgers and fries were $12. The $15 breakfast buffet at Nosh on the Raddison side was good but way too expensive for what was being offered. We were completely blindsided by the cost of food for this trip.

We received a fair price for this room but might have been a better value at another hotel where breakfast would be free and the rooms would be cleaned more consistently.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows so be sure to inquire about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. There is no reason for your room not cleaned properly every day during your stay. This is definitely an operational issue and it has been brought to the attention of our housekeeping management. We were in the process of upgrading to a high definition TV signal during your stay and did experience some unanticipated service interruptions created by the installation. I do apologize for the inconvenience. We do have an ala carte breakfast menu in Nosh that you should have been given the option of using. It has numerous items other than the buffet and at different price points. We appreciate the input and will utilize your comments to determine what can be done to improve overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    60
    41
    49
See reviews for
30
77
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the International Trumpet Guild Conference 2014. The conference was great, the hotel not so much! For $159 a night, we should not have to call downstairs multiple times for simple items like washcloths for two people and toilet paper. The room was clean, but barely and very shabby. There were Sleep Number Beds in the room and it took forever to figure out how to get the number to a comfortable level. Breakfast was $15 for the buffet, but the food was good and they had a chef making omelettes to order. There was only one restaurant for breakfast if you ate at the hotel. There was a sports bar for lunch and dinner or much more expensive choices. Even the sports bar was pretty pricey, averaging around $15 for a meal for one person. Also, my friend is a vegetarian and she had very few choices. The staff in the restaurants were nice and efficient, even if they were running around taking care of everyone. Staff elsewhere acted like we were a bother. God forbid that you should want a washcloth or toilet paper! This is not a hotel I would choose to stay at. I was only there due to our conference.

Room Tip: NONE. Do NOT stay here, especially if you don't like a casino type atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Valley Forge Casino. It was concerning to hear your comments as we typically get very good comments on our staff and guest service. Certainly your experience is not indicative of the service we expect our staff to provide. We have numerous successful events at the casino and all are advertised timely and punctual. I am thinking that the staff members you interacted with were not as well versed as they should have been. We have four sets of restrooms in convenient locations throughout the casino and entry area. Possibly the signage was not as pronounced as needed. I apologize for your inconvenience and please be assured your comments have been reviewed with the proper individuals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is your typical casino hotel. It was a little run down but fairly clean. The room was large and actually quiet.The bathtub had someone else s hair in it! Also it was full of cigarette burns. We had guest come to go to the casino with us and they had to join the casino before they could get in. That seemed a little weird. No breakfast included in the room price but no big deal. All in all it was ok. Not sure I would seek it out again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Valley Forge Casino Resort. We are in the planning process for a room renovation in the Casino Tower which will have a dramatic effect on the appearance of the rooms and eliminate the issues you described. However there is no reason that you should not have had a perfectly clean room. We certainly understand the issue with having evidence from a previous guest in your room. We work diligently to prevent this and I apologize that we did not in this instance. Your comments have been relayed to housekeeping management for their information. We are required by our gaming license to charge a fee for entry to the casino but access is available if $10 is spent anywhere in the facility or by purchasing a $10 gift card that can be used in any area of the resort. Room guests of the hotel receive access with their room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Rude staff who could care less about their customers. They are uninformed or misinformed, but they don't seem to care. I actually had one woman shrug me off to flirt with a customer (in front of his lady friend) rather than help me find someone who could help me since she could not. Disorganized events- wrong start time, no announcements or information shared, poorly planned- no places to sit, no available restroom, no plates for a food based event!. Overall poor quality. Avoid if possible!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Valley Forge Casino. It was concerning to hear your comments as we typically get very good comments on our staff and guest service. Certainly your experience is not indicative of the service we expect our staff to provide. We have numerous successful events at the casino and all are advertised timely and punctual. I am thinking that the staff members you interacted with were not as well versed as they should have been. We have four sets of restrooms in convenient locations throughout the casino and entry area. Possibly the signage was not as pronounced as needed. I apologize for your inconvenience and please be assured your comments have been reviewed with the proper individuals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was at the hotel for a convention. the hotel is very old, worn and honestly very dirty. I was disgusted having to stay at such a property. If the staff was welcoming, it may have made a difference. The tubs were huge and very dirty with grout issues. There was a piece of dental floss on the waste recepticle by the elevator that was there for my entire stay. I would NEVER stay there again. I was near an ice machine and at the end of the hall, yet I heard noise all night long.

Room Tip: To my knowledge, there weren't very many good rooms to choose from. I was on the top floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
It is never pleasant to hear that a guest has experienced cleanliness issues in our guest rooms. This is totally unacceptable and I assure you, not the result that we work very hard to prevent. We are in the planning process for a full renovation of the Tower which will dramatically improve the room décor, but cleanliness is a basic that every guest deserves regardless of the age of the room. My apologies for your inconvenience. We are better than this and there is no excuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Point, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Was here for a business conference check in went fast and very efficient . Got to our room and the door was open. It took us awhile to see if the maid was done .The carpet was not vacuumed. My friend was happy to see a large whirlpool tub in the bathroom until we saw the soap scum ring. You can't miss it because it's a darker color than the tub. I guess the maid did not think its important to scrub the the tub . Hair in the tub also. I am very picky with motel/hotel rooms having owned my own for 20 years. Someone hasn't been checking on the maids work.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to bring the issues with your room to our attention. Any cleanliness issue is unacceptable and we fully understand the importance of a clean bathtub. Scrubbing the tub is not an option and it should be spotless upon arrival. I apologize for the inconvenience and have addressed the issues in detail with housekeeping management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My landlord put me and my elderly mother up in this hotel for a week in mid-April while he had my bathroom remodeled. I think he chose it because it's fairly close to my house and job, and because it's pretty inexpensive as hotels in the area go. Those are really the only two good things that I can say about the entire experience. My first impression was poor--I asked the valet attendant which door would put me closer to the Check-In Desk so that Mom wouldn't have to walk extra steps and he said "Both doors lead to the same place". Then we couldn't even FIND the registration desk--you have to take the elevator up a floor. The gentleman who checked us in was polite, but despite my mother's obvious infirmity never asked if we required a handicapped room. It wasn't until we were glancing through the Hotel Guide in the room that we knew such a thing was even available. Our room was oddly-shaped and not clean at all. In fact, on two of the days during our stay housekeeping didn't even come. The rug was stained and dirty, the air conditioning unit looked older than I am, was loud, and emitted an unpleasant odor. The tub was too slippery, and when my call for a bath mat was ignored, we just took to putting a towel in the bottom of the tub while we showered. The bed linens were cheap and scratchy, and the the box spring covers were dirty and dusty. The television was small and way too far away from the beds. The decor was mismatched and gave the impression that items and carpet were pulled from other hotels and re-used without a thought to the overall final effect. The casino itself was smoky and smelly and the choice of slot machines was not even close to comparable with Chester. The prices in the Food Court were outrageous. There was no handicapped parking lot dedicated to GUESTS, so the lot was always full of people visiting the casino, leaving no where for handicapped guests to park--ridiculous. Lastly, we had to check out at 6:30 Saturday morning, but the automated checkout procedure on the TV was not available, so we lugged all of our stuff down to the first floor and lugged it all out of the elevator, only to find the registration desk deserted. I waited a few minutes and finally called the operator. I got someone at the Radisson next door who told me that I should just leave the room keys on the desk and she would check me out. It was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Valley Forge Casino, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Valley Forge Casino Resort. I apologize for any inconvenience that you were caused by these issues. The front desk is a floor above the casino entrance and well signed from the valet entrance. The valet attendant should have given you specific instructions and noted the signs. It would have made it quite easy to find. There is no excuse for not receiving housekeeping service. It is our standard to clean every room every day unless no service is requested by the guest. We have numerous handicapped parking spots and they are in frequent use by all our guests but we also offer free valet service m24 hours a day which is more convenient than the handicapped parking available. There is no excuse for a room being dirty. We have many resources available to us to properly maintain our guestrooms so carpets, air conditioning and bedding should always be clean and in good operating condition. We also use 300 thread count sheets which if laundered properly should never be scratchy. Your comments have been relayed and discussed with the proper individuals. It is apparent we did not meet your expectations and we need to be cognizant of all observations and make every effort to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Forge Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Forge Casino

Address: 1210 First Ave., King of Prussia, PA 19406
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > King of Prussia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in King of Prussia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Forge Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casino Tower is connected to the Valley Forge Convention Center and the Radisson Valley Forge in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania. Our hotel facility embodies the complete travel experience for every occasion.Our property overlooks the vast green hills of the Valley Forge National Historical Park, which consists of 3,600 acres of lush green land and historical monuments and is just minutes away from King of Prussia Mall, the largest retail mall in America.The Casino Tower boasts an ideal place for world-class conferences and is a destination for families and couples to relax and refresh. You'll find local attractions such as golf courses, spas, art galleries, paintball, wineries and shopping, all located nearby.The Casino Tower is located only 18 miles outside of downtown Philadelphia and convenient to the Philadelphia International Airport.The mission at The Casino Tower is to exceed your expectations.Our hotel's high standards for excellence and attention to detail have established The Casino Tower as a great leisure destination and our distinguished meeting facilities and services as the best in the industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Forge Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Forge Scanticon Hotel King Of Prussia
Hotel Valley Forge Scanticon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Forge Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.