We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine Upstairs on the Deck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Restaurant

Half Moon Restaurant
108 West State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348
610-444-7232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dine Upstairs on the Deck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Downstairs is a little too noisy, but when you walk upstairs to the open air deck its like another world! Great drink menu and food choices range from simple to ecclectic! Would definitely take someone from out of town here for a snack, a drink or an entire meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    67
    24
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Make sure to sit upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

In the summer the upstairs is always a great place to eat. They open the windows which are like garage doors and it is very nice. Challenege yourself to try something different. They have all sorts of different meats. I have had several birthdays here!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Alligator Gumbo is super awesome! One of favorite things to eat in southeastern PA. Good burgers too. They also have and excellent homemade veggie burger that my vegetarian girlfriend loves. Pretty good choice of beer on tap.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overrated and Dissappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family decided to drive a few miles for dinner while we were at Longwood Gardens.
We waited 45 minutes for an appetizer and hamburgers with burnt waffle fries. The place wasn't that crowded so I don't know why it took so long. My wife loves her burger well done but when it came it was rare. The waitress wanted to make another one but we were afraid of the wait. The bar was very noisy and seemed like a corner bar. We didn't understand what the hostess was saying about up stairs and downstairs. I saw nothing special about the food or the ambiance. There were so many restaurants on this strip and I picked the wrong one. The waitress was very good and apologetic but the cook was way to slow. I have never waited for food this long at a bar. The manager didn't even have the courtesy to come over and apologize. Steer clear of this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

After shopping, my friend and I traveled to the little town of Kennett Square. Now when I think of Kennett Square, I think of mushrooms and that's it. Who knew there were amazing restaurants there???!! Half Moon Restaurant is a gem! We had the most amazing mushroom appetizer followed by open faced crab cake sandwich. Both were delicious. Loved sitting upstairs in a garden porch setting. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Restaurant also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to Half Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.