We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sovana Bistro

Sovana Bistro
696 Unionville Rd, Ste 8, Kennett Square, PA 19348-1763
610-444-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sovana Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, American, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rts. 82 & 926
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great place!!!! We had lunch here and it was absolutely delicious. We were in this area for the weekend and this was our favorite meal of the trip. I had the Cubano Sandwich and my wife had the Turkey Club. Both dishes were excellent. In addition, we had a side dish of those famous Kennett Square mushrooms and they did not disappoint. Oue server was personable, knowledgeable, and very attentive, and the ambience of the restaurant was very inviting. All in all a great place to eat and we would highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    70
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Summer restaurant tour 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rustic, quiet & quentessential!!! Loved the decor!!! Fine dining, yet, subdued. Amazing menu, Complimentary treat from the chef to begin, followed by homemade breads with our appetizers. Nice size portions, that can be shared by two. From the appearance of the plates to the final taste, first class all the way. We will definitely visit, again!!! Touche to the staff, first class, as well!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Sovana years ago when it was more of a pizza and sub place. Upon our recent visit we learned it had grown up! The menu was full of great options. There were so many dishes I wanted to try I couldn't decide which one. I went for a special of the night that was a mushroom, spinach, goat cheese ravioli. It was good. My wife had the fish special of the night with risotto. She said it was heavenly. Nice selection of wines, or you can bring in your own. Our salads were equally delicious and inventive. Our waiter was charming and very helpful, yet unobtrusive. Very impressed by our evening at Sovano. Only suggestion, get more comfortable chairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Enjoyed a dinner with an old friend at Sovana Bistro. Farm to Table fresh. Complimentary app served which made us feel special. Salad was fresh and the rigatoni was yummy. Dessert was a deconstructed brownie sundae..absolutely amazing!! I would recommend it in a heartbeat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Farm to table, fine dining, neighborhood pub....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Somehow Sovana manages to be all three. There is a full bar with interesting sommelier selected wines and a great bear selection, but if you prefer, the corkage fee is only $8 to bring your own. The food is fabulous and seasonal, although there are a few standards that stay on the menu all the time. There is a menu preview of what is upcoming (ingredient-wise) as well as what is seasonal now. Sit in the comfortable dining room, the casual bar (or at the bar and watch a ball game) or in good weather, outside on the patio. All three have friendly, impeccable service and the same menu. The apple salad on the staples menu is my favorite. I'm hard pressed to try other salads, but get lots of variety trying the seasonal soups, pastas, appetizers and entrees.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sovana Bistro also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to Sovana Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovana Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.