We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service quality is declining” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant
305 W State St, Ste 3, Kennett Square, PA 19348
610 925 0122
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service quality is declining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even with an abundance of empty tables, our party was continuously waiting for service. Drink refills, food delivery and even silverware arrived sporadically in what seemed to be a trend consistent at surrounding tables as well. Food was average to good but with so many other quality Mexican options in the Kennett Square area, I'll likely choose another venue in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Philly Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have been so disappointed with the mexican offerings in the main line west of philly that we went by this place a number of times without bothering to stop in. Our Loss!! This is the most authentic mexican food in the area. Any time we have been there a large percentage of the customers have been Latin so you know it is authentic. Beware, it does have real spice. They will tone it down if you ask. They have dishes that we have only seen out west and each that we have tried is excellent. Service is very good as are the free chips and salsas. It is a BYOB so get a cooler of margaritas and head on down to Kennett Square for a spicy tasty meal that will have you coming back time after time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“downhill skiing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is going downhill quick. The are losing customers and trying to keep cost in line by cutting corners. It was good 6 months ago but I dont see myself going back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate dinner here and were pleasantly surprised about the warm and welcoming atmosphere of El Ranchero. The restaurant had a nice crowd, and the food was excellent. The only reason it wasn't rated a five is that the service is somewhat slow in getting drink refills and taking orders. The flour tortillas are clearly homemade and fabulous! The fried ice cream dessert is huge and incredible. We will definitely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a real Mexican restaurant, complete with plenty of Mexicans so it must be authentic. The food was good and the service quick. Not expensive. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.