We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April too cool for patio Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 at Longwood Gardens

1906 at Longwood Gardens
1001 Longwood Road, Kennett Square, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1906 at Longwood Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 1
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“April too cool for patio Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lunch was great except that we were seated on the patio in April, still pretty cool outside, low 60's. The lunch was very good and selection this time of year was OK. The rolls are "to kill for", and were eaten quickly warm. Will do again, make reservations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    69
    20
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a treat!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Decided to treat ourselves to a "grown-up" lunch instead of the cafeteria...so pleased we did. Very elegant without being stuffy. Great server and wonderful food. My wife and daughter had the angus steak hamburgers while I went with the Crab Cakes (most expensive thing on the menu). They loved the burgers and the fries were better than the burger. Meanwhile I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. The crab cakes were solid crabmeat, delicately seasoned served with a wonderful cole slaw. Amazing!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Philadelphia-Quality Restaurant in the Suburbs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The 1906 at Longwood Gardens restaurant is one the main reasons I fell in love with and bought a membership to the gardens. The chef blends great locally sourced ingredients into artistic, melt-in-your-mouth plates. The service is attentive and the ambiance the right blend of formal and comfortable. It’s one of my new favorite restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Brunch We've Had In Years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited Delaware to celebrate Easter early with our daughter. She recently visited Longwood Gardens for the first time and immediately joined as a member. She urged us to check out the website and consider attending the Sunday brunch in the dining room. We booked reservations sight unseen.

We were amazed by the total dining experience. We were greeted at the door by the friendly manager. We immediately were escorted by a host to a beautifully appointed table by a window with a garden view. The buser came over and greeted us as he poured glasses of cold water. As this happened, Carol, our server, arrived with "potted" warm brioche, and to make suggestions for the meal, We ordered the restaurants signature drinks (kir royals) and settled down for an absolutely wonderful dining experience.

The chef sent out samples of a special tea and scones to start our experience.

We ordered a three course prix fix ($28.00) brunch. Each course was more spectacular than the last. We had salads that were fresh, vibrant, and perfectly balanced with a wonderful dressing. Our main courses were either savory wild mushroom crepes or an enormous stuffed brioche French toast confection. We had to sample from each others plates (something we never do!) For the final course we had lemon blueberry canoli. We will never have canoli this good again. This version topped anything we ever sampled in Italy. A sugar shell was filled with fresh blueberries and a meyer lemon, white chocolate marscapone filling. A fresh blueberry compote added a finishing touch. We have talking about this dessert for the last two days....

The friendly service remained impeccable throughout the entire meal. The manager even stopped by to inquire about our dining experience. This is a class act all around

We cannot wait to return.

It is a good idea to make reservations ahead of going. This can be done on Open Table. The members of Longwood know that this is a fantastic place to eat. The dining room was filled the entire time we were there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fine dining in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

French onion soup and quiche were some of the best i have had. the bread is served in mini ramikins and very fresh.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1906 at Longwood Gardens also viewed

 

Been to 1906 at Longwood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 at Longwood Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.