We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, family friendly, lots of choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
815 E Baltimore Pike, Kennett Square, PA 19348-1863
610-444-9886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable, family friendly, lots of choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went here with a group of thirteen from toddlers to teen to seniors. We all found what we wanted and we liked what we ordered. The staff was accommodating. We originally felt the table we were at was too confined. No problem. They provided a wonderful alternative. They noticed we had gift bags and things and gave us extra room too. The waiter had no problem with separate checks. This isn't gourmet food but it's good and there are a lot of choices including the rich and the healthy and even some weightwatchers on the menu complete with points values. The restaurant is convenient if you are going to or coming from Longwood Gardens as we were.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg,PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An Attractive Restaurant with Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved this restaurant. The host who seated us was personable and efficient. Our server was much better than many I have encountered in more upscale restaurant, He anticipated our needs and provided refills and advice on choices. The food was great. The shrimp and chicken dish was served literally sizzling and proved to be quite a hit. Broccoli as a vegetable choice on the children's menu shows an awareness of the need to go beyond fries. The 7 year old in our party loved the broccoli. I commented that the manager had selected an amazing staff -- from kitchen to the host/hostess station..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

On route to Longwood Gardens from Maryland we used our Iphone to locate Applebee's. The rating for the one in Bel Air Md. was poor so we decided to research the one in Kennett Square. It go rave reviews.

The parking lot was packed but when we went in we were warmly greeted and sat at a two-top right away. From start to finish the staff was helpful, friendly and efficient. We always get the same things- chicken tender basket (for my son) and Oriental chicken salad for me. Both were the best meals we have had at any Applebee's. We've eaten at Applebee's in Md., Pa, New Hampshire and Colorado and this one was the best we've encountered for service and food quality. Our desserts were good too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just ok, the Fajita was a huge disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have eaten here before and enjoyed the steak fajita's. However, the steak serving, is smaller, and especially the salsa, onions/peppers etc is much smaller than before. The tortillas stuck together and one was totally unusable. We had to ask for the sour cream.
I had the jalapeno burger which was tasty but literally smothered in jalapeno's to the point that they were the focus, not the burger. I ended up scraping at least 3/4 cup off the burger. I substituted onion rings for the fries for an additional .99, they were excellent.

We don't mind paying, and prefer paying for a quality meal. Rather than drop the value/size, we'd rather pay a bit more for a nice meal. It will be quite awhile before we return. We got here aroung 5:00 on a Friday and were seated promptly. The bar was pretty busy even at 5:00 and packed by the time we left, also there was a wait line when we left.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.