We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing awful. Nothing exciting.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kyoto
120 Onix Drive, Kennett Square, PA
16103470988
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nothing awful. Nothing exciting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've tried Kyoto a few times, and I'm always a little disappointed. The place is usually mostly empty, yet the service isn't very attentive. And the food is either "just OK" or a miss. Last time, I tried the Chicken Katsu for something different (to me). It was a thin, dry, tough piece of breaded chicken with very little sauce to rescue it. And based on the prices, you would expect better execution.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We will not return !!!we retired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We retired folks wanted the "freeup to $14 dinner: food was tough so hope you don't wear dentures! The bill was $38. And the deduction was 14% not $14. .the service was sketchy and not very pleasant. Don't bother. Go to Lily's in Kennett instead!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Salty Sushi!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We ate at Kyoto at the end of March. The sushi rolls were very salty. It wasn't the soy sauce. I've heard that many restaurants salt the sea food for preservation purposes. Maybe that's it?? The service was lacking enthusiasm. The place wasn't busy at all when we went. They were out of a couple of items that were on the menu. I've had much better sushi in the backwoods of Kentucky. We won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, average sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The restaurant decor is just what you would expect from a place names Kyoto. The service is good and the sushi is good. Some of the rolls should be updated or removed from the menu, others like the shimp tempura were great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London , PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This little spot is a little difficult to find if you aren't a local, but it has very good sushi. The ambience is average and the service can be rough around the edges, but the food makes up for it. It one of our impromptu go-to's when we haven't made plans and want a sure thing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
Kennett Square, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.